Press 1 for intolerance

So, a relative of mine who I love and respect very much just won't let this one go, so, for the moment, neither am I. He's pretty upset at the whole "press 1 for English" debate that is sweeping the nation these days. I respect his opinion, but I disagree for a few reasons.
For starters, how much trouble is it to press 1 for English when you call a phone menu? Not difficult at all. And two, get used to it, people. Latinos are now (or will be very shortly) the largest minority population in America, and it's only going to grow.
I think it would be terrific if America officially became a bilingual society. I've already blogged about how in many parts of Canada, you see English and French. So Canada, for the most part, is bilingual, and (Gasp!) they've even managed to survive as a nation.
Do I think that everyone should learn English who comes to America? You bet. Do I think it would be wonderful for Americans to learn a second language (a first for most Americans, including me, but I'm workin' on it), such as Spanish? I think it would be terrific. Here's a novel concept - it might even make us more competitive in the global marketplace in the 21st century. Wow, imagine that. I hear people (and many times, with good reason) bitch and complain about the offshoring and the loss of jobs all the time. Maybe Americans would be more hireable and we would be a more attractive destination for companies if we were open and accepting of Spanish culture.
In addition, we also happen to have a territory that speaks just a little bit of Spanish. Anyone ever heard of Puerto Rico? At various points in history, the island has even been considered for statehood.
Take a read on this list of Senators who voted NO when voting on whether to make English the official language of the United States:
Kaka (D-HI), Bayh (D-IN), Biden (D-DE), Bingaman (D-NM), Boxer (D-CA), Cantwell (D-WA, Clinton (D-NY), Dayton (D-MN), Dodd (D-CT), Domenici (R-NM), Durbin (D-IL), Feingold (D-WI), Feinstein (D-CA), Harkin (D-IA), Inouye (D-HI), Jeffords (I-VT), Kennedy (D-MA), Kerry (D-MA), Kohl (D-WI), Lautenberg (D-NJ), Leahy (D-VT), Levin (D-MI), Lieberman (D-CT), Menendez (D-NJ), Mikulski (D-MD), Murray (D-WA), Obama (D-IL), Reed (D-RI), Reid (D-NV), Salazar (D-CO), Sarbanes (D-MD), Schumer (D-NY), Stabenow (D-MI), and Wyden (D-OR).
Nice going, Senators. And there's lots of "Ds" up there after names, too, which I'm proud of. I'm amazed that there's one "R" up there as well, but after thinking about it, that's probably merely a political reality - who is Domenici's biggest political constituency in New Mexico? You guessed it - probably Latinos. Wow, there's a novel concept - voting how the people who elected you would like you to vote.
Honestly though, this is just another example of the Republicans and their election year bullshit. We've got much bigger problems now and more important things to take care of than fanning the flames of intolerance.
My advice to people all worked up over this?
Cálmate. No vale la pena.
As for people who think having a bilingual society is a bad idea? Me importa un culo.
Don't know what any of that means? Learn a second language, Americans, like just about every other person in the world who lives in a developed nation. I'm not there yet, but I hope to be at least functionally bilingual by this time next year.
Labels: Bilingual Society, Intolerance, Press "1" For English, Spanish Second Language







0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home