It's slowly slipping away for Bill O'Lielly
The more Bill O'Reilly goes insane, the more I just eat this stuff up. Between the fall of Bush and the rise of Keith Olbermann, O'Lielly loses his preciously tenuous grip on reality little by little every day.
This is actually a pretty good montage of anti-Bushism by some well-known celebrities. However, as Jeanne Wolf says, the celebrities' use of name calling isn't elegant, and I agree. But, it is indicative of the level of frustration in our country right now. I share that frustration.
O'Lielly says this is "hurting our country abroad." Really? How is that?
But, these celebrities do have a point. I can never recall, going back to Reagan, any sort of nasty attacks against a president by celebrities to this level, even when there was strong disagreement at times. Sure, there were always people against Clinton, Bush Sr. and Reagan, but I don't recall anything like this. Why? Because none of the aforementioned presidents came close to getting us into the mess we are in today.
And for Billy to bring up "ad hominem attacks" smacks of hypocrisy, too. (By the way, it's pronounced "ad HOM-EH-NEM" - if you're going to say it, learn how to pronounce it.) Ad hominem attacks are how the right earned its keep during the Clinton years - nothing was too trivial to go after Clinton about. Anyone remember the brouhaha over Clinton supposedly holding up flights at an airport while he got a haircut aboard Air Force One? This was a story that was in the press for days and days. (I remember all of the "Hair Force One" headlines.) Too bad the story was bogus, but it's funny how the falsehood never got as much press as the lie. Ahh, the good 'ole 1990s, when life was simpler, yet much more petty and trivial.
In a very, very small way, I dread having a DemocratIC president, because it will just renew the hatred and defamation that Fox News, Sean Insanity, Billy, Rush and all the rest earn their keep - by defiling and distorting what a DemocratIC president does, at every turn. But, I said I dread a DemocratIC president in a very small way - actually, I relish a good political street fight, and I'm not afraid of these bullies. I like to fight with facts, though. Okay, and a little bluster of my own, but that's what 6+ years of George W. Bush does to a progressive liberal.
Probably my favorite part of this is O'Reilly saying Richard Gere "just killed his movie." Uh oh - I smell another phony Bill-Oh boycott coming up, none of which has ever accomplished anything. From Pepsi to France and now to Richard Gere, no one pays attention to his boycotts, but they are entertaining. Keep up the good work, Bill, and you keep on avoiding french fries and french dressing, if it makes you feel better. You truly are making a difference in the world.
One last thought - I love how Billy gets all up in the face of these liberal celebs who aren't on his show. I'd love to see him go up against Chris Rock. He says that Rock would last "about 35 seconds" on his show. Anyone else agree with that? Either way, I'd love to see it.
To be fair, Billy's appearances on The Colbert Report and The Daily Show went pretty well, but Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert both held their ground, too. I'd love to see O'Reilly go on Bill Maher's show - now that would be good TV.
Seek therapy and medication, Billy, it's only going to get worse for hateful conservative blowhards like you over the next few years.
Labels: Bill O'Lielly, Chris Rock, Jeanne Wolf, Keith Olbermann, Richard Gere







0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home