MSNBC's Race For the White House debut: ho-hum
Here is a little bit of footage from the debut of MSNBC's Race for the White House. To me, there wasn't anything too special about it - seems to me it's just another political talk show where people shout at each other. But, sometimes I like that - we need some disagreements and heated discussion about many things that ail America today.
I have to say this about Joe Scarborough - I run hot and cold with him. Sometimes he's sensible and offers up commentary I agree with, and at other times you'd think he put on a Bill O'Reilly mask.
The discussion above highlights one of the stark contrasts between the world view of Democrats and Republicans.
According to Scarborough's world, regulations are the enemy - the housing crisis is the result of people who "gambled and lost." That's a dramatic and oversimplified explanation of what really happened. I read Scarborough's comments as this: that people who couldn't afford a mortgage got one anyway when they shouldn't have. But, that begs the question - who made that credit available?
I grow so tired of businesses taking advantage of people with predatory practices, and when the cards come crashing down, the consumer gets blamed.
Rachel Maddow brought up a good point - there is going to be a tremendously expensive bailout for the lending industry, and it has already begun with the government's $30 billion bailout of Bear Sterns, which makes me want to start a bank. Hey, if it is successful and it fails, no worries, matey - the government will come to my rescue.
Unreal.
On another note, I'm not so sure about Race for the White House, but I'll give it a fair shot. I do like David Gregory, so I think if he keeps having on guests with a variety of views, it has a good shot to last.
Labels: Bear Sterns, David Gregory, Deregulation, Joe Scarborough, Mortgage Crisis, MSNBC's Race for the White House, Rachel Maddow, Savings and Loan Bailout







0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home