Obama's the one... bring on McSame
I was pretty blown away by Obama's speech last night - at the end of a no doubt long political career, this one will go down as one of his finest. I was particularly impressed with Obama's remarks about Hillary Clinton [Click Here for full speech transcript]:
That is particularly true for the candidate who has traveled further on this journey than anyone else. Senator Hillary Clinton has made history in this campaign not just because she's a woman who has done what no woman has done before, but because she's a leader who inspires millions of Americans with her strength, her courage, and her commitment to the causes that brought us here tonight.Wow - pretty deferential and humble words by Obama about Hillary, who has gone to great lengths behind the scenes to paint Obama as "unelectable," "inexperienced," and much, much worse.
We've certainly had our differences over the last sixteen months. But as someone who's shared a stage with her many times, I can tell you that what gets Hillary Clinton up in the morning – even in the face of tough odds – is exactly what sent her and Bill Clinton to sign up for their first campaign in Texas all those years ago; what sent her to work at the Children's Defense Fund and made her fight for health care as first lady; what led her to the United States Senate and fueled her barrier-breaking campaign for the presidency – an unyielding desire to improve the lives of ordinary Americans, no matter how difficult the fight may be. And you can rest assured that when we finally win the battle for universal health care in this country, she will be central to that victory. When we transform our energy policy and lift our children out of poverty, it will be because she worked to help make it happen. Our party and our country are better off because of her, and I am a better candidate for having had the honor to compete with Hillary Rodham Clinton.
I guess I might be raining on the Feel-Good Parade, but what thanks did Obama get for his kind words about Hillary last night? Certainly not what he deserved - Hillary bowing out of the race gracefully. Last night, Hillary wouldn't even Obama his moment - she thanked her supporters and issued a few other vaguenesses (see video below). Her idiotic campaign chair, Terry McAuliffe, even introduced her as, "the next President of the United States." I'd love to know how the weather is on HIS planet.
Anyway, I totally agree with Obama's assessment of Hillary, but I was not pleased that she did not concede the nomination last night. In the absence of more information, I interpret it as thus: she's waiting for Obama to stumble, or for some dirt to be dug up about him this summer. Once our corporate media's Conventional Wisdom says that he's "unelectable," (cue drug addict Limbaugh, GOP shill Drudge and facist Michael Wiener) Hillary is fantasizing about swooping in and taking the nomination. Pretty undignified, in my book, and something that almost certainly won't happen.
In all sincerity, I have a tremendous amount of respect and admiration for Hillary, but she's doing herself, her party and her country a disservice by keeping up with this charade. I very rarely wade into the cesspools that masquerade as comment sections on most blogs, but I found an excellent analogy about Hillary not conceding the nomination, and I just have to share it:
Can you imagine if the New England Patriots pulled this Hillary thing? It would have gone something like this in this year's Super Bowl in February: Yeah, we're down by three, and there's no time left on the clock, but that doesn't mean the game should stop! We had a better season! We won all of our games! Tom Brady is more likable than Eli Manning, and there are more Patriots fans than Giants fans...and...and... we'll take this to the NFL rules commission if we have to! We won! This season, we scored more points than the Giants! Our offense was ranked higher! So what if they beat us when it counted? We will not allow the Patriots fans to become invisible, blah... blah... blah...Say what you want about sports, but that's the best damned analogy I've read yet about Hillary's refusal to face reality.
Here is Clinton's speech from last night, in two parts...
Part I:
Part II:
I don't even know where to begin with her speech. I'm quite certain that Obama will not be pleased when he sees it. Of course, she had a few nice things to say about Obama, but she didn't do what was expected of her, and what would have been the magnanimous thing to do - concede. Instead, she blubbered on about "winning the swing states," and complaining about the votes in Florida and Michigan not being counted (in so many words). I'm for counting all of the votes, too, but seriously, let's move on, senator. The Democratic Party (in my view) made a mistake, Hillary, but if you would have run a better campaign, you wouldn't be crying foul over these two states.
At this point, Obama cannot pick her to run with him - he just can't. I don't believe for one second that all of the Hillary supporters who are making noise about voting for McSame will actually go through with it. I just can't believe it. Hillary and Obama's politics and positions on policy issues are so close in so many ways, I refuse to believe that her supporters would go in the other direction and vote for McCain, merely out of spite.
By the way, from the bizzaro file, here's Terry McAuliffe, Hillary's campaign chairman, on The Daily Show last night...
I don't even know what to make of this - was it a skit? Was McAuliffe on something? Stewart (as Obama) asking McAuliffe, "WTF?" was only topped by McAuliffe saying, "Kiss my ass, Obama!" I think McAuliffe has seriously lost it. Perhaps it's his recent track record of not being able to put any of his backed candidates over the top - the two most notable being John Kerry in '04, when McAuliffe was the DNC Chair, and blowing it against Obama this year with Hillary - the nomination was hers to lose, and she lost it with McAuliffe serving as her campaign chair.
Off to the political scrap heap, Terry.
I found this on a political site last night (I think it was Crooks & Liars, under the comments section on one of the posts), and I loved it - it's about what was going on at Obama's campaign headquarters last night. I don't know if it's true, but I like the idea of it, and the very last sentence in this short little political chestnut is true, even if the rest isn't:
Every time a new endorsement was announced at the Obama headquarters in Chicago, campaign workers interrupted with a booming round of applause, followed by popping Champagne corks later in the evening. The aides are members of Mr. Obama's team — a political start-up — that is responsible for defeating one of the most tried and tested teams in Democratic politics.That's right on - an effective, victorious political campaign really can still be waged by determined, activist citizens in this country, amazingly enough. It isn't easy, but it can be done. Now all we have to worry about is Obama beating a well-funded Republican machine that will resort to just about anything to get elected.
Despite what some people may believe, this fall will be no cake walk for Obama. The right is going to come after him with everything they've got.
In '04, I used to hear this refrain all the time from Repubes: You're not so much for Kerry, you're just against Bush. There was more than a kernel of truth in that. I don't apologize for being so anti-Bush back then (or now), but that's not really a good reason to have backed Kerry, I suppose. (I originally wanted Dean in '04, but I campaigned very, very hard for Kerry in Bucks County, Pennsylvania.) However, I can't wait to push this back in Republicans' faces this year - "It's not that you're so much for McCain, it's that you're against Obama." It's been well documented that McCain is still having a very hard time wooing the Republican base, but now, the base will simply attack Obama anyway.
It's going to be one bumpy ride, but it's a ride I'm looking forward to.
I urge you all to go to Obama's Website and make at least a small contribution, even if it's just $5 or $10. Every little bit will help in his campaign this fall.
One other quick note - and I only got to see a few tidbits of coverage as I was jumping around from all of the coverage I TiVo'd last night (I was at a concert), but I found some clips of ABC's coverage on the 'Net this morning and it was an abomination - a stark example about what I detest about our corporate media.
Right as Obama was giving his acceptance speech, evidently ABC cut into regular programming to bring viewers about five minutes of his speech, before cutting away to Charlie Gibson and George Stephanopoulos talking about his historic speech. Hey guys, shut up and let it happen. Thank God these two aren't sportscasters - imagine them doing commentary for the Super Bowl...
Then again, I shouldn't expect much more from Gibson, who feels the media asked all of the tough questions and raised all of the issues with the Bush administration during the run-up to the war in Iraq. Brilliant! (See Below)
Labels: 2008 Presidential Race, Barack Obama, Hillary Clinton, Terry McAuliffe, The Daily Show







0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home