Rudy's broken record: Dems still on defense on terrorism
If this Giuliani tripe in the video above sounds familiar, it's because it is - it's from the play book that Bush used in 2004 against John Kerry.
Seriously, why is this man still opening up his mouth? What's more, I'd like to know how enduring 9-11 makes Rudy any sort of an expert on terrorism. His decisions prior to 9-11 were a disaster for New York City, from deciding to put the city's emergency response center at the World Trade Center (after the 1993 WTC bombing) to not addressing the the radio problems of the NYPD and FDNY, which certainly cost both departments lives on the morning of 9-11. He likes to rail on Obama's lack of foreign policy experience, but what experience did he have? Being a mayor of NYC doesn't qualify one to run the country any more (and I'd say maybe even less) than a U.S. Senator. No wonder voters overwhelmingly rejected him.
Pretty funny to hear Rudy talk about what we should have done to the people responsible for the 1993 World Trade Center bombing. Or, should I say, try to talk about it. The men responsible for the '93 attack, Mohammad Salameh, Nidal Ayyad, Mahmud Abouhalima, Ahmad Ajaj and Mohammed Jamal Khalifa were brought to justice. In 1994, Salameh, Ayyad, Abouhalima and Ajaj were all sentenced to life in prison. Mohammed Jamal Khalifa was deported in 1995 and was acquitted in Jordan of all charges.
Just another quick point - isn't our base in Guantanamo Bay considered U.S. territory? Just a thought I had after listening to Giuliani talk about extending rights to people abroad.
Anyway, I digress, but I'd like to know which country Giuliani thinks we should have invaded because of the '93 bombing? What's more, Rudy didn't open his mouth in the 1990s while he was mayor of NYC about the piss-poor job he thought our government was doing, did he? Funny how the Clinton administration wasn't doing a poor job of combating terrorism until he decided to run for the U.S. Senate in 2000 and for president earlier this year.
It's also pretty funny to hear a former U.S. Attorney having contempt for the law enforcement approach to combating terrorism.
And the USS Cole bombing that Giuliani and Republicans like to endlessly cite as an example of Democrats' weakness? It happened on October 12, 2000, and the Navy released its report on January 19, 2001, hours before George W. Bush assumed the presidency. Exactly what was President Clinton supposed to do, hours before he left office?
I guess Giuliani thinks that most Americans are stupid and don't read about this stuff.
Giuliani's mentioning what Hillary said about Obama (multiple times) also falls flat, but get used to that - it's what Republicans are going to try and use against Obama in the general election this fall. I don't think it's going to work. Why mention what Hillary said, Rudy? You can't come up with any criticisms of your own? It's a pathetic attempt to try and be clever, to use a Democrat's words against another Democrat. No wonder this guy didn't win one state during the primaries. Oh well, back to profiting from 9-11, Mr. Mayor.
Please, McCain, pick 9iu1iani - it would be a dream.
Labels: 1993 World Trade Center Bombing, 2008 Presidential Race, Guantanamo Bay, John McCain, Rudy Giuliani, USS Cole Bombing







0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home