Fighting the War on Error

"You measure a democracy by the freedom it gives its dissidents, not the freedom it gives its assimilated conformists."
- Political & Social Activist Abbie Hoffman (1936-1989)

Sunday, October 26, 2008

TDS on pundits: "Who the F&%! is this guy?"


I'm behind on my Daily Shows, but I saw this a night or two ago, and I got a pretty big kick out of it - a not-so-subtle commentary on just how the 24-hour cable news networks fill up their time. It's to the point now that just about anyone can be a pundit or an expert on something.

And who's that guy? As Stewart tells us, he's Ed Rogers, a lobbyist and former protégé of Lee Atwater, the architect behind President George H.W. Bush's 1988 presidential campaign, one of the dirtiest in modern history. (On his death bed, Atwater expressed remorse for all of the tearing down and smearing he'd done over his political career.) In short, Atwater was Karl Rove before Karl Rove. So, it's a pretty safe bet that Ed Rogers is another intolerant Repube who's more than willing to spread lies, slander and defamation about Obama, all in the name of winning an election.

Labels: , , , ,

Thursday, July 17, 2008

Somewhere HOT, Lee Atwater is laughing...

...because the above billboard is straight out of Atwater's playbook. (Hey, at least he's keeping a seat warm down below for Karl Rove.) This is one of the most shameless things I've seen in recent memory, and considering I'm including the many the low points over the last eight years of largely Republican rule, that's saying something. The above billboard is currently on display in Orange Country, Florida, exhorting people to "Not vote for a Democrat" with a picture of the burning World Trade Center towers in the background. Quite frankly, it's an insult to the American people, because the last time I checked, Our National Embarrassment was president for nearly nine months when the 9-11 attacks took place, so the guy responsible for this must think Americans are pretty stupid. It's also a slap in the face to those who died on 9-11, at the risk of hyperbole.

It's pretty amazing how someone could be so diabolical to believe that a Democrat (Read: It's Bill Clinton's fault) was in the White House when the attacks happened, or at the very least that they were all the Democrats' fault. Whatever. He was on CNN yesterday, pathetically trying to explain himself, and the anchor didn't even correct him when he said 9-11 happened on Bill Clinton's watch. (By the way, someone should slap this guy and tell him that "9-1-1" is a number you dial for an emergency, "9-11" is the date of the tragedies. Then again, you can only hope for so much when you're dealing with an intellectual giant like this.) ...


What an ignorant, asinine hick. People like this aren't even hardly worth the time. The only damn shame is that some people will see this and actually believe it. I'd love to meet this guy so I could spit in his face.

And the "fact" that Bill Clinton had Osama bin Laden in his hands and let him go? Unadulterated bullshit - another right-wing smear spread around the Internet that many people SWEAR is true. 

I love how both parties in the state have called the billboard "inappropriate." Yea, sure. And Hurricane Katrina was a zephyr.

Labels: , ,