
Well, the Cowboys are tanking, but the weekend in sports hasn't been a total loss. The New York Yankees were bitch slapped out of the postseason last night at the hands of the Detroit Tigers. I wasn't happy, I was elated.
This morning on SportsCenter, I heard reports that Yankees Owner George Steinbrenner is probably going to fire Manager Joe Torre. Nothing could be finer, in my eyes. Torre was the best hire of the Steinbrenner era, by far, so firing him will delight me.
Torre probably deserves some of the blame for the Yankees' demise, but honestly, it's pitching, in my very amateur baseball opinion. I won't pretend to be a baseball aficionado, much less an expert, but it doesn't take Peter Gammons to know that this pitching staff has been decimated and devestated since their last title. Yep, the Yanks have loads of hitting, but in the playoffs, pitching wins championships.

This sign pretty much says it all - A-Rod is an overpaid choker in the vein of Terrell Owens. One of the best players in the regular season is one of the worst in the postseason. It serves Steinbrenner and the Yankees right - they took A-Rod and his ridiculous contract from the Texas Rangers, and they haven't done a damn thing since, and they have a whole lot less money to get what they really need - pitching.

A-Rod (head down, third from left) is an overpaid choker, but he's got million$ of reasons to keep on smiling. And every time he chokes in the postseason, I've got a big reason to smile - the Yanks getting bounced. All I ever hear about is how the Yankees have won 26 championships, blah blah blah. We know, Yanks fans - you're always reminding us.
As a Red Sox fan, it will always be my duty to remind the Yankees how they choked in '04 (the biggest choke in postseason history), allowing the Sox to make it to the World Series. It's also my duty to remind Yankee fans of the championship drought - going into its sixth year. Woo Hoo!
Lay it on 'em, Pudge! (Above) Ivan "Pudge" Rodriguez sprays jubilent fans with bubbly after the victory on Saturday night.
It'll be a great World Series this year - no Rudolph William Louis Giuliani III in his dickhead Yankee hat, and no "New York, New York" blaring over the loudspeakers.
To me, the World Series has already been won, because the Yankees lost.