Bill Maher's take on race via Hardball
I'm glad that Bill Maher appeared on Chris Matthews' show Hardball the other night, because it's been almost two weeks since Maher's been on TV - he was off last week from his show, Real Time With Bill Maher. Forget the nakit adulation, though - Maher is spot on about McSame, considering his multiple gaffes this week in Iraq, about Iraq.
My favorite bit from this piece: when Matthews opines that McSame will be a problem for the Democrats "because he's a war hero," Maher fires right back:
We're one terrorist attack away from John McCain I'm sure rising in the polls 10 points because people say, 'Oh yea, he's tougher.' Of course, he's not tougher about the war, he's dumber about the war. [Emphasis Maher's] He's dumb about the war because he thinks that by keeping troops in the heart of the Muslim world, that's going to help the War on Terror. That's exactly what started the War on Terror, that's why Osama bin Laden was so angry with the US, because we had troops in Saudi Arabia. And we pulled them out after 9-11 by the way. Of course, we go right back in and plant them in the Muslim world and build Pizza Huts. That's why young Muslim men want to come here and blow themselves up and kill us. And until we solve that mental problem, we're never going to win the War on Terror. It's not about what happens in Iraq - we need to get out of Iraq, not build bases there.Maher has the balls to say what no politician running for higher office will - the true, root causes of 9-11 and the War on Terror.
It's not the trite witticisms that that the likes of Bush and Rudy 9iu11iani like to use because they are the so-called "experts." (By the way, I'm probably the first to ever call Our National Embarrassment an expert on anything, other than running businesses [and now our government] straight into the ground, but I digress.)
I can almost hear Giuliani now, saying in his Sylvester J. Pussycat voice, "They hate us for our freedoms," which is total bullshit.
Of all the things that bin Laden and Al-Qaeda hate us for, our freedoms are probably pretty far down on the list. But hey, I'm not a Republican, so I don't know foreign affairs, I'm a peacenik pussy, and I must hate America.
I think Bill O'Lielly just channeled himself through me. Ugh.
h/t Crooks & Liars for the video
Labels: Al-Qaeda, Barack Obama, Bill Maher, Chris Matthews, Race Relations, Sylvester Pussycat







0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home