Fighting the War on Error

"You measure a democracy by the freedom it gives its dissidents, not the freedom it gives its assimilated conformists."
- Political & Social Activist Abbie Hoffman (1936-1989)

Sunday, March 25, 2007

Limbaugh's addiction just for ratings

Sources have told CMB that right-wing political commentator Rush Limbaugh's confession of drug addiction to Oxycodone and subsequent rehab were just to get a spike in his increasingly poor ratings. I'm told that Limbaugh probably could have kept his addiction secret, but he felt that if he went public, it would give his sagging ratings a much needed kick in the pants, since his contract is up for renegotiation in less than 18 months.

Seem ridiculous? That's because it is - I just made it up. What I just did - completely fabricating a story, is the same thing that Limbaugh does every day before he takes to the airwaves to spread his lies, hatred and intolerance.



Anyway, this time Rush has truly outdone himself. Keith Olbermann in the clip above probably puts it best - this dirt bag couldn't even give it a day before attacking Democratic Presidential Candidate John Edwards and his wife?

What's more, to even suggest that a presidential candidate from any party would use his wife's cancer for a boost in poll numbers is so idiotic that it should almost qualify as a hate crime. But, we live in a country where even drug- and Twinkie-addicted, impotent slobs like Limbaugh get to spread their hate.

Someday, hopefully soon, people, even radical Repubes, will stop listening to him. That day can't get here quickly enough. First with Michael J. Fox, now with Elizabeth Edwards. Who's next? No word yet on whether he's planning on attacking Ann Coulter for her rumored bipolar disorder as a ploy to just sell books. Wait...

Is it a bad thing for me to wish an STD on Limbaugh? Nothing fatal, like HIV, but something incredibly uncomfortable, like genital warts. Herpes would be the best - he'd have to go on the air with a big red growth. He's a Republican, so he could accessorize with a red blister. I guess a big blue blister would be too much to ask for.

My point here, made in a mildly vulgar way, is that some day, Limbaugh will realize that all of the evil he spreads will come back to haunt him. I guess the same could be said of me for typing what I just typed about him, but hey, somebody's got to say it.

It angers me that he's so successful. And he's only as successful as he is because there are people out there who have bought into his ridiculous, hateful tripe.

For those of you who missed it, here's the Edwards' press conference announcing that Elizabeth Edwards' cancer has returned...

Labels: , , , ,

Tuesday, September 26, 2006

The Hugo dustup - anyone ever heard of "sticks 'n stones"?

I got a big kick out of the whole dustup that resulted from Venezuelan President Hugo Chávez's remarks at the United Nations last week about President Bush. Here is what he said:

"And the devil came here yesterday," said Chávez, referring to President Bush, who delivered a speech from the same podium the previous day. "And it smells of sulfur still today, this table that I am now standing in front of."

Okay, Hugo's a dick. This is not in doubt. But, it's also not in doubt that this is America, and people are free to say what they want to say.

However, the biggest entertainment about the whole incident didn't come from Chávez, it came from the Republican right. What a surprise. How DARE you criticize our president!

Anyway, I found a pretty good piece by Jeff Cohen of Alternet about the whole comedy. He sums it up a whole lot better than I can. Get the whole article Here. An excerpt of what Cohen had to say - pretty poignant prose:

Across the U.S. political and media spectrum, there was wide agreement yesterday: Name-calling and personal attacks are bad for national and global dialogue. Prompting the unity were Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez' comments that President Bush was the devil incarnate, "El Diablo."

Among those exercised (and exorcized) about Chavez' name-calling were some of the loudest name-callers in American media today -- including Rush Limbaugh and other rightwing talk hosts. Limbaugh tried to equate Chavez' remarks with the alleged Bush-bashing that comes from top U.S. Democrats. In case you've forgotten, it was Limbaugh who ridiculed Chelsea Clinton, then 13, as the "White House dog."

It was Limbaugh in 2001 who routinely referred to Democratic leader Tom Daschle, literally, as "El Diablo." Along with "Devil in a Blue Dress" theme music, Limbaugh would carry on at length about how Daschle may well be Satan in soft-spoken disguise.

Well said, Mr. Cohen.

The reference to Limbaugh had me laughing about him, as usual. I think God for people like him - he does quite little to advance the Republican cause. I found this funny parody of him on the 'Net - just had to share...


One last thing - here's what the self-righteous Rush had to say about illicit drug use/addiction in October 1995: "Too many whites are getting away with drug use...the answer is to go out and find the ones who are getting away with it, convict them and send them up the river too."

Well said, windbag. Yea, I'm a name caller, too. It's my right as an American, and it's one of the main tenets this country was founded on. In a free and open society, we have to put up with language we don't like - even if it's from Hugo Chávez.

Labels: , , , ,

Wednesday, June 28, 2006

Why not get a prescription?

How hilarious. Will this bloated dumb ass ever learn? Seems Rush Limbaugh was arrested on his way back from the Dominican Republic with several medications with him, and at least one he did not have a prescription for - Viagra.

What's worse, I'm sure he'll get a pass, because he's, well, Rush Limbaugh. I wonder what would have happened to any common man or woman if they were caught with all of the Oxy that Rush had, and now with another prescription that isn't his? Forget the humor that it's Viagra - it's still a 'script that isn't his. His excuse? "They weren't for me." Um, yea, sure - doesn't just about every person caught with drugs say that? And not only that, but how stupid is this guy? He's got all the money in the world, and he's bringin' drugs back from the Dominican Republic? Why? To save a few bucks? Hey, his financial affairs and decisions are none of my business, but it's everyone's business if this dick gets out of these charges... again.

Perhaps he could send someone else to get his drugs. His housekeeper, perhaps? Wait, he tried that one already.

My favorite part of this whole story is his explanation and half-baked joke on his radio program. "I bought them in the Clinton Library gift shop!" he deadpanned. Dude, the '90s are over, and the Clinton jokes should be, too. Hey, pretty soon it will be 2008, and you'll have another Democratic Presidential Nominee to slander.

Labels: ,

Monday, May 01, 2006

Rush gets... nothing

So yet another celebrity is getting away with drug use/possession/fill in the blank with no jail time and a mere slap on the wrist. What a surprise! Hey, what can you say about Rush that hasn't already said? He's such an easy target (pun totally intended), it's almost not even fun.

To be clear here, I'm not deriding him for being an addict. Hey, we all fall down in life and make mistakes. Having severe pain and getting hooked on painkillers could happen to any of us. It's all of his moralizing and put downs of addicts before he became one that pisses me off. It's almost perfect that he became an addict in the end - like Karma coming back to bite him in the ass. For something like the second time in my life yesterday, I went to his hilarious Website to read his statement and I had a good laugh.


It's kind of fun to look back at some of his drug-related statements when he still claimed to occupy the moral high ground. I remember when Jerry Garcia died. "Just another dead doper," intoned Rush.

For even more fun, let's review one of his comments from one of his books. I heard this on Sirius Satellite yesterday, and this wasn't paraphrased by someone, this clip was played in his voice from one of his audio books. This is Rush, regarding drug addicts and legalizing drugs:

"Consider drug abuse - a lot of people say we should legalize cocaine and heroin. It would take the crime out of it, and hopefully as a result some of the violence associated with it. And besides, people who are inclined to use drugs are going to do so anyway, regardless of its illegality. But the fact that people are going to ignore and break laws is not a valid argument for decriminalization. The state would then be sanctioning, even promoting conduct that is harmful to society. It's easy for people to say that if they shoot up on heroin to say that the only people they are hurting are themselves. But that's not true. If someone becomes an irresponsible human being and a worthless citizen, he is directly or indirectly affecting everyone else who is willing to live up to responsibilities of citizenship. Drug abusers destroy their families. The government-funded health clinics have to take care of them if no one else will. If we legalize these vices we erode the societal support for prohibitions against crimes such as murder. The erosion of the moral fabric of society is a gradual insidious process. It happens bit by bit, almost imperceptibly."

What a dick. So in other words, "Drug abusers are a drain on society, unless you have lots of money like I do and don't have to go to a clinic." I suppose he also tells himself he wasn't a real addict because he never bought the drugs from a dealer and they are prescription drugs. Right. He had his Haitian/Ethiopian/whatever she was housekeeper score his blue M&Ms. Long before he got hooked on Oxy, WE all overdosed on his righteous indignation.

Of all the people who derided Clinton as the next coming of Satan, Rush is the most joyful addition to the growing list of hypocrites who have fallen from their moral high perch. Hey Rush, say hello to Henry Hyde, Newt Gingrich, Jerry Falwell, Pat Robertson and Tom DeLay. You are now in an exclusive fraternity of "men" who are now largely ignored by the masses; yes, you still have your followers, but you never can claim to be representative of the keepers of the moral majority. You're now largely... irrelevant.

And that's a high I can't get enough of.


Labels: , ,