Fighting the War on Error

"You measure a democracy by the freedom it gives its dissidents, not the freedom it gives its assimilated conformists."
- Political & Social Activist Abbie Hoffman (1936-1989)

Thursday, June 05, 2008

Red Wings take the Cup

A hearty congrats to the Detroit Red Wings and all their fans for their fourth Stanley Cup Championship in 11 years. It was a pretty good series, but the Wings are solid from top to bottom, and Pittsburgh just didn't quite have the look of a team that's ready, yet. But, rest assured, the Pens will be back, and soon. The ending to last night's decisive Game 6 was something to see, if you missed it. The pucker factor was quite high - I can't believe that Marián Hosa didn't score at the final horn. If you want to see the play I'm talking about, the video immediately below has highlights from the game. At about the 3:45 mark, you'll see the game's final seconds. Absolutely thrilling~!


Detroit goalie Chris Osgood must be given a great deal of credit for his performance during these playoffs; he endured a goalie controversy of sorts while turning in a Conn Smythe-worthy performance. The Conn Smythe Trophy (playoff MVP) went to Henrik Zetterberg, who scored the game-winning goal last night (also in the video above).


Of course, you can never have a league championship without a blooper - above is a member of the Red Wings swearing on live TV. At least we can be confident that it won't turn into a Janet Jackson-like scandal (which was absurd in the first place), because, according to Tiger Woods yesterday, no one watches hockey anymore. During a teleconference to promote August's PGA Championship, Woods was asked if he was pulling for Detroit or Pittsburgh in the Stanley Cup Finals.

"I don't really care. Let's talk about the Dodgers," said Woods. "I don't think anybody really watches hockey anymore." What an imbecile.

Two things - 1. The last time I checked, golf doesn't get Super Bowl-like ratings, either. I can count on one hand the number of people I know who will be glued to their sets to watch said PGA Championship this August. 2. He wants to talk baseball? It's worth asking which sport, hockey or baseball, is more respectable these days? I'll let that point stand on its own - what is understood, needn't be discussed.

To its credit, the NHL took the high road in light of Woods' comments - "The National Hockey League has enormous respect for Tiger Woods, for all his accomplishments and for his work with the community," NHL spokesman Frank Brown said. "We think he's a great golfer." Hey may be a great golfer, but sometimes he's a braying jackass.


It's amazing to me how quickly some people get up tribute pieces to the teams they love. I found this one on YouTube this morning, and I just shook my head in amazement. Someone must have stayed up half the night making this one, and it's pretty well done, too.


CBC's playoff hockey montage was pretty good this year, but it's been better in past years. The song isn't a great choice, but the pictures and video were spot on, as usual.

Anyway, this blog is politics first and foremost, but I occasionally comment on sports, specifically hockey and football, the two best spectator sports on the planet, respectively.

One other hat tip to the NHL - notice all of the NHL footage you can find you YouTube? It's because the league struck a deal with the company that owns YouTube (Google) to allow posting of videos, highlights, etc. To my knowledge, none of the other three major sports leagues have done that. I love hockey because it's different in so many ways, and the reason above is simply another one, and a great, fan-friendly one at that.

Congrats, Wings! Just four more months until training camp begins... next year is my beloved Edmonton Oilers' year, I can feel it.

Top picture via espn.com

Labels: , , , , , , , ,

Friday, June 29, 2007

'07 NHL Hall of Fame Class is truly special

Aside from Mario Lemieux in 1997 and Wayne Gretzky in 1999, I cannot remember a more incredible class of players being inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame. This year's class is truly something special. From left, Ron Francis, Al MacInnis, Mark Messier and Scott Stevens.

Each of these guys won at least one Stanley Cup: Francis won two, MacInnis one, Messier six and Stevens three. Four players, 12 Stanley Cups. But, each player brought a whole lot more to the table than that, too. Each man also brought exceptional leadership to their teams.

Ron Francis, originally drafted by the Hartford Whalers, was an exceptionally talented center who played in the NHL a mind-numbing 23 seasons. He was never a super sniper; the most goals he ever scored in a season was 32, but he accumulated points in bunches, leading the league in assists on two occasions. Francis was a player who made the guys he played with exceptionally better, on and off the ice.

Without a doubt, he made Mario Lemieux's Penguins better in the early 1990s, too. Many call Francis the final "missing link" that put the Pens over the top, winning two Stanley Cups in a row in '91 and '92. He also led the Carolina Hurricanes to the Stanley Cup Finals in 2002, where they fell short against the Detroit Red Wings.

I remember Al MacInnis for two things: playing for the hated Calgary Flames (I'm an Oilers fan), and the most wicked slap shot in the league that intelligent players learned to have a healthy respect for, or they would become unhealthy, quick. Just how quick? At the 2003 NHL All-Star Game, Al took a wooden stick (which is mostly becoming a relic of the ancient NHL past) and ripped off a 98.9 MPH shot. In typical Canadian fashion, he said "So much for technology, eh?"

Scott Stevens was proficient at two things - winning Stanley Cups and laying people out. A three-time Stanley Cup Champ and one-time Conn Smythe Trophy (Playoff MVP), Stevens was the heart and soul of a Devils team that seriously competed for or won the Stanley Cup for nearly a decade.

What I remember most about Stevens, though, were the hits. And there were many, most of them clean. My favorite hit of all was when he laid out Eric Lindros, then with the Philadelphia Flyers. Lindros has to be one of the biggest crybabies in NHL history - a tremendous waste of talent. Yes, he's had a productive career, but it could have been so much more. To me, it's all karma. He should never have landed in Philly in the first place, but he refused to report to the Quebec Nordiques and told them so. They drafted him anyway, and eventually traded him to the Philadelphia Flyers. Ironically, who the Flyers sent to Quebec (the team moved to Colorado to become the Avalanche in the mid 1990s) helped the team win the Stanley Cup. Lindros? Still no Cup. Boo Hoo. But, I digress.

Anyway, in lieu of my trying to describe the hit on Lindros, just take a look at it.


BLAM. That one put #88 out of commission for a little while (and the rest of the playoffs that year, if I remember correctly). I'm always cracking up over clueless Flyers fans who jeer Stevens. Meanwhile, this is a city that can't seem to let go of The Broadstreet Bullies era, when the Flyers were just as comfortable fighting and using their sticks as they were playing the game.

Lindros put his head down, and Stevens made him pay. That's hockey. If you want to watch a no contact, boring game, go watch baseball.

Of course, I saved the best for last - Mark Messier, the greatest leader, in my opinion, in the history of team sports.

A quick but by no means exhaustive list of his achievements reads like a script from Hollywood, not a career of an NHL center:

• Six-time Stanley Cup Champ
• Ending the 54-year "curse" for the Rangers in 1994
• The only player to captain two Cup-winning teams
• Second all-time in career points
• Winning the Conn Smythe Trophy in 1984 (right)
• Played in 15 All-Star games
• Played an astounding 25 seasons in the NHL, and he could have played at least a few more, if he had wanted to. He was the last player in the NHL to retire from the 1970s (as well as the last WHA player)

It's very tough (tougher than Mess himself) to pick favorite moments of his career, but after giving it some thought, here's three (and if I think about it longer, I'll change my answers):

3. Winning the Stanley Cup for the sixth time in 1994, ending hockey's greatest curse for the New York Rangers. This was bittersweet for me - it was very tough to see Mess leave the Oilers, but I understood why he didn't want to stay. He needed a bigger and better challenge. He was so huge that playoff year. Unless you were a fan of a Rangers foe in those playoffs, it was pretty tough to not root for him.

To any other hockey fan, and probably even to Mess himself, this might be his crowning achievement. But, imagine being an Oilers fan and seeing both of your captains who have won Stanley Cups for your team both being traded away within four years. Yea, you'd be bitter, too, and you wouldn't be thrilled seeing Mess lift the Cup for the Rangers. Having said that, I was very happy for him being able to do it for the Rangers. It's not a stretch to say "No Messier, no Stanley Cup on Broadway."

2. His first game against Wayne Gretzky after The Great One was traded from the Oilers to the LA Kings. Many people, myself included, were eager to see just how the two best friends would compete against each other. Virtually no one thought he'd go easy on #99, but many were curious to see the former teammates oppose one another. That first shift, Messier drilled him, then backed up and drilled him again. Messier certainly didn't like it, but business was business.

1. Winning the Stanley Cup in 1990 (above), after the Gretzky trade. In many ways, this was the sweetest of all the Cup wins I can remember as a long-time Oilers fan. Everyone said they were finished. EVERYONE. They certainly took the league by surprise during those playoffs. They faced elimination against the Winnipeg Jets, at one point, they were down 3-1 in the series. But, Moose brought them charging back, and they dispatched the Bruins in five games in the Finals. I'll never forget Mess saying into the cameras, "This one's for you, Gretz."

If Wayne Gretzky, my favorite hockey player of all time, is the caliber player that comes around only once in a lifetime, then Messier is the type of player who only comes around once every three or four decades.

The further away the 1980s becomes, the more I appreciate those Edmonton teams. Think about it - the top two scorers in NHL history played on the same team, for eight seasons. The Oilers stupidly traded away Gretzky, and they still managed one more Cup. The greatest hockey team every assembled? In terms of Cup wins in a row, no. But, statistically speaking in just about every offensive category? You bet.

And Mess was the heart and soul of that team, without a shadow of a doubt.

In my humble opinion, Messier is the greatest team leader in the history of professional sports in North America. You give me names, I can knock 'em down.

Anyone in Major League Baseball? Okay, let's get serious.

The NBA? Michael Jordan, Larry Bird and Magic Johnson all deserve mention here, but all of them didn't win as many titles, and they all only did it with one team. Of course, Jordan tops that list, with six titles, but again, one team. I put Messier ahead of him for two reasons: 1. Longevity. Messier played a quarter century in a sport that is about a million times harder and more physically demanding than basketball, and 2. (I'm repeating myself here, I know) Doing it with two teams.

It's pretty tough to recreate or describe the losing atmosphere that was had infested the Ranger locker room before Messier's arrival. My favorite little anecdote about it was told by Messier himself. When he first arrived, no one would discuss the Stanley Cup. "That would be bad luck," they all said. Messier simply said, "Talk about it? I want it! Let's win it!" And he had five rings at that time, which game him just a little cred in the locker room.

The NFL? Forget it. The only players that I'd even consider in this discussion would be Joe Montana and Terry Bradshaw; each won four Super Bowl rings. But, neither had even close to the longevity as Messier, and again, one team. Elway made it to give Super Bowls, but only won twice.

To me, Messier's closest competition of greatest leader: Jordan, Montana, Gretzky, in that order.

We'll probably never again see a leader of Messier's ability win six Stanley Cups (and with two different teams) ever again, especially in the age of free agency.

One other thing about Messier's induction to the Hall of Fame gets me jacked - I have to get back to the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto now. I haven't been there since 1996 (left), and when I was there, if I recall correctly, there were no Oilers in the hall. Now, there will be plenty to see - Grant Fuhr, Jari Kurri, Paul Coffey, Gretzky and Messier. I may just spend two whole days there. Before we move west, I have to get back.

What a Hall of Fame class. We may never see another one like it.

Labels: , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, March 15, 2007

Pens staying put

Okay, one more quick sports story. Since we were in California, I didn't get word of this one until today when I began to catch up from the news.

The Pittsburgh Penguins have finally signed a stadium deal to remain in Pittsburgh for the foreseeable future, and Penguins Owner Mario Lemieux (above, with an artist's rendition of the new arena) no longer plans to sell the team.

I had a smile on my face when I read this - it's good for the NHL, it's good for Pennsylvania and it's good for the city of Pittsburgh.

I'm not all that crazy about my state, or any state, giving loads of concessions to owners looking to get a new deal, but I also usually reserve my opinion on that on a case-by-case basis. For starters, Pennsylvania signed sweetheart deals to get the Philadelphia Eagles and Phillies new stadiums five or six years ago, so why shouldn't Pittsburgh get the same? A precedent was established in those cases.

Plus, the threat to move the team was real, and it would have happened. The Pens play in the oldest arena in the league, Mellon Arena. It's one of the biggest dumps in all of professional sports. I know from experience; I've seen a game there. (A few years ago, when the Oilers came to town to play the Pens - the Oilers won, so it was worth the trip. Although I only have a faint memory of what it's like for my hockey team to win a game.)

Mellon Arena is not fit to field an AHL team, much less an NHL one. The arena's state has cost the Pens money, making it hard for the team to compete against other teams come free agent signing time.

Anyway, the new deal with keep the Pens right where they deserve to play - in Pittsburgh - a great sports town - one of the best in America.

The Pens have one bright future, too - with a new arena on the way (opening in '09); a charismatic, well-loved owner; and budding superstar Sidney Crosby (and a great cast developing around him); Pittsburgh will be planning another Stanley Cup parade before too long.

The new arena will be built just down the street from their current home at "the igloo." Above is a view of what will be torn down to make way for the new arena. Mellon Arena is in the background.

Lemieux went on the ice to personally tell fans that an agreement had been reached before a Pens home game this past Tuesday.

Pens fans had been voicing their displeasure all season, since this was due to be the Pens' last in Pittsburgh is a new arena deal didn't get signed. It was rumored that the team was considering a move to Pittsburgh; KC has a new arena that could have served as a home for a transplanted NHL franchise. But, the league has been there before - the New Jersey Devils are the product of the original Kansas City Scouts; the team moved to Colorado and finally to Jersey in 1982.

The new arena will hold about 18,000, which is only about 900 more than Mellon Arena. I know that cost is a major concern with the cash-strapped Pens as well as getting money from the state, but 18,000 seems a bit light if the Pens want to turn their new playpen into an ATM machine, like all other franchises do when getting a new arena.

Regrettably, Mellon Arena will be wrecked when the new arena is completed (Insert sarcasm and smirk here) and will be turned into a parking lot until the site is developed. No word on whether that land will be more productive to the Pens as a parking lot or an arena.

Anyway, it was great to see the Pens finally get their new barn.

Photos from AP

Labels: , , , , ,

Sunday, January 14, 2007

Winnipeg Penguins? Keep dreamin', Canada

The Pittsburgh Penguins are in financial trouble, and they have been for years. The team desperately needs a new building, and up until recently, retired hockey star Mario Lemieux was trying to sell the team.

But, other than landing superstar Sidney Crosby and Evgeni Malkin, the Pens have had little luck since Lemieux hung up his skates for good in January 2006.

Lemieux and his partners reached a deal to sell the team to Canadian Jim Balsille in October of last year, but the deal recently fell through, and the team was taken off the market.

An owner with deep pockets is what the Pens need, because the franchise, founded in 1967, has already declared bankruptcy once, and a new arena doesn't appear in the offing after a proposed $250 million arena fell through with a casino builder.

I'm hoping the Pens move to Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, to replace the departed Jets, who left in 1996. But, more on that in a minute. (Above, Randy Carlyle, the current head coach of the Anaheim Ducks, as a Winnipeg Jet.)

It just seems like Pittsburgh doesn't want the Pens to stay, but the city seems like it doesn't want the Penguins. The team plays in the worst arena in the league (and the oldest), and it's been clear for years that it's needed a new arena. Yet, every deal falls through. And, with no new arena in site, the team is not going to stay.

My first hope, as an NHL nut, is that the Pens stay right where they are. But, with each passing day, that looks less and less likely.

So, where to next? Las Vegas, Kansas City, Portland, Houston and Winnipeg are the cities most often mentioned as possible destinations.

Vegas deserves no consideration for a pro sports team, period. It's a tourist destination, not a city with a potential loyal fan base. To people who think that a city like Vegas would be suitable, I have this to say - why not just have a team in Disney World? Oh wait, that's already been tried - the Anaheim Ducks used to be owned by Disney, and we all know how that worked out - Disney has divested itself of any interest in the team.

Houston is not a good destination, either. The Dallas Stars have been a success since moving from Minnesota, but is there really a groundswell of support for another hockey team in Texas? Dallas has enjoyed lots of success, and that's good - an example of a successful relocation. But there are drawbacks, too - it has the worst ice in the NHL, especially during the playoffs. Guess what? Houston has much worse humidity, which would make keeping ice playable a nightmare.

Kansas City? That's been tried before - the Kansas City Scouts were in town from 1 974 to 1976, and they promptly left town for Colorado. I don't doubt the passion of Kansas City fans - Chiefs fans are loyal and dedicated. I don't count the Royals, because they don't qualify as a real professional team. So, a KC hockey team might succeed simply because of a lack of competition.

Portland might not be a bad destination, since Oregon has no professional teams from the NHL, NFL or MLB. But, would the support be there? Portland's (and Oregon's) lone pro team, the Blazers, are the laughing stock of the NBA and have been for sale for some time, but no one has stepped forward to buy the team.

That leaves Winnipeg as the last destination, at least on my list. Yes, it's another "been there, done that" city, like Kansas City, but is there a country with a greater percentage of fans who appreciate hockey more than Canada? I think not. Plus, Winnipeg is a special case, too, for a number of reasons.

The best reason to bring another team to Canada is the country's loss of two teams to the lower 48 in the 90s - Winnipeg to Phoenix and Quebec to Colorado. (And very nearly Edmonton and Calgary in the mid-90s.) With only six teams left, Canadians now know the value of hockey franchises.

Best of all for Winnipeg, the city has a new arena. The barn that the old Jets used to play in was torn down long ago and a new, state-of-the-art arena was built. Yes, the MTS Centre is small (cap. 15,003), but perhaps an expansion is possible? I don't know if it is, but it's worth looking into.

I know, I know, it's very odd for an American to hope that an NHL franchise moves north of the border, but it's good for the game. And no one can make the argument to me that the team would be worse off in Winnipeg than it would be in the cities listed above, including Pittsburgh. You think a denizen of Pittsburgh appreciates hockey more than a Winnipegger? Or someone in Las Vegas, Houston or Kansas City? Yea, sure.

Anyway, I know it's a pipe dream, but I would love to see another Canadian team in the NHL.

Labels: , , , , , , ,