Fighting the War on Error

"You measure a democracy by the freedom it gives its dissidents, not the freedom it gives its assimilated conformists."
- Political & Social Activist Abbie Hoffman (1936-1989)

Saturday, October 04, 2008

A few sports notes...


Well, fall is officially here, and in Philadelphia it feels like it today. As much as I dislike fall weather, there are a few things that make the cold weather bearable - photography, football and hockey. Normally, I dislike football commercials and I skip right over them, but I saw this one last night and I got a good, ahem, kick out of it. Good stuff.

I can't get too much into preseason hockey, but I saw some highlights from last night's action, and my favorite hockey team, the Edmonton Oilers, got bloodied during a preseason action last night vs. the Calgary Flames. The pic at left was a cheap shot on the Oiler Marc Pouliot (left) by Jim Vandermeer, after Pouliot scored a goal. Now that's classy. Vandermeer had best have his head on swivel when the two teams meet for the first time in the regular season on Oct. 17. Edmonton vs. Calgary is one of the best rivalries in the NHL (and even all of sports, in my humble opinion) - any hockey fan who has an opportunity to catch one of these games - there are seven meetings between the two per season - should definitely take advantage of it.

For my money, the best cash I spend on sports every year (besides NFL Sunday Ticket) is the NHL Center Ice Package, which allows me to see any and all Oiler games I want, for about $169 a season (it may have gone up this season, but hopefully not). Best of all, it can be paid for in installments - you can get it on satellite (DirecTV) or digital cable. To put it in perspective, I had the opportunity to get two lower-level tickets to the Flyers/Oilers game at the beginning of November, and it would have cost me $230. No thanks - we're on a budget - I'll catch it on TV.

GOILERS!

Labels: , , , ,

Thursday, June 05, 2008

Red Wings take the Cup

A hearty congrats to the Detroit Red Wings and all their fans for their fourth Stanley Cup Championship in 11 years. It was a pretty good series, but the Wings are solid from top to bottom, and Pittsburgh just didn't quite have the look of a team that's ready, yet. But, rest assured, the Pens will be back, and soon. The ending to last night's decisive Game 6 was something to see, if you missed it. The pucker factor was quite high - I can't believe that Marián Hosa didn't score at the final horn. If you want to see the play I'm talking about, the video immediately below has highlights from the game. At about the 3:45 mark, you'll see the game's final seconds. Absolutely thrilling~!


Detroit goalie Chris Osgood must be given a great deal of credit for his performance during these playoffs; he endured a goalie controversy of sorts while turning in a Conn Smythe-worthy performance. The Conn Smythe Trophy (playoff MVP) went to Henrik Zetterberg, who scored the game-winning goal last night (also in the video above).


Of course, you can never have a league championship without a blooper - above is a member of the Red Wings swearing on live TV. At least we can be confident that it won't turn into a Janet Jackson-like scandal (which was absurd in the first place), because, according to Tiger Woods yesterday, no one watches hockey anymore. During a teleconference to promote August's PGA Championship, Woods was asked if he was pulling for Detroit or Pittsburgh in the Stanley Cup Finals.

"I don't really care. Let's talk about the Dodgers," said Woods. "I don't think anybody really watches hockey anymore." What an imbecile.

Two things - 1. The last time I checked, golf doesn't get Super Bowl-like ratings, either. I can count on one hand the number of people I know who will be glued to their sets to watch said PGA Championship this August. 2. He wants to talk baseball? It's worth asking which sport, hockey or baseball, is more respectable these days? I'll let that point stand on its own - what is understood, needn't be discussed.

To its credit, the NHL took the high road in light of Woods' comments - "The National Hockey League has enormous respect for Tiger Woods, for all his accomplishments and for his work with the community," NHL spokesman Frank Brown said. "We think he's a great golfer." Hey may be a great golfer, but sometimes he's a braying jackass.


It's amazing to me how quickly some people get up tribute pieces to the teams they love. I found this one on YouTube this morning, and I just shook my head in amazement. Someone must have stayed up half the night making this one, and it's pretty well done, too.


CBC's playoff hockey montage was pretty good this year, but it's been better in past years. The song isn't a great choice, but the pictures and video were spot on, as usual.

Anyway, this blog is politics first and foremost, but I occasionally comment on sports, specifically hockey and football, the two best spectator sports on the planet, respectively.

One other hat tip to the NHL - notice all of the NHL footage you can find you YouTube? It's because the league struck a deal with the company that owns YouTube (Google) to allow posting of videos, highlights, etc. To my knowledge, none of the other three major sports leagues have done that. I love hockey because it's different in so many ways, and the reason above is simply another one, and a great, fan-friendly one at that.

Congrats, Wings! Just four more months until training camp begins... next year is my beloved Edmonton Oilers' year, I can feel it.

Top picture via espn.com

Labels: , , , , , , , ,

Sunday, May 18, 2008

Flyers out, but future looks bright

This t-shirt about sums it up - the Flyers got scorched today, 6-0, by the Pittsburgh Penguins, ending their magical playoff run. However, this team has absolutely nothing to be ashamed of; there are probably very few Flyers fans who could honestly say they expected the team to go all the way to the Eastern Conference Finals after the abysmal season they had last year. This team has come very far, very fast, and next year, they could be serious contenders to sip from the cup. Cool.

I have to admit, the Flyers aren't the team I'm loyal to - that's the Edmonton Oilers (and no, I don't feel like explaining it just now), but I always root for the Flyers to do well, especially since I'm so fond of the team's captain - Jason Smith, a truly classy hockey player, and a good captain (and a former Oilers captain to boot - the longest serving in team history). Since the Oilers made such strides this year, too, I'm seriously rooting for a Philadelphia / Edmonton Stanley Cup Final, which would be the third between the two teams, and the first since 1987. Now THAT would be something to see.

Five more months until hockey season begins again, but who's counting?

On to the Stanley Cup Finals - I like the Pens, no matter who they face. I think this team can beat either the Stars or the Red Wings. We'll find out soon enough. Hey, at least the despised Anaheim Ducks didn't make it. From champs to chumps in one year. Boo Hoo.

Labels: , , ,

Tuesday, March 25, 2008

Oilers knocking on the door


I have to get in a quick word about my Edmonton Oilers - this bunch of guys are truly the cardiac kids of the NHL. It really is great fun to watch such a young team come to life and mature before my eyes.

Last night's second goal by Andrew Cogliano was a nice one, and it was set up from a nifty pass by Sam Gagner. Get used to hearing the name Gagner, who right now if the youngest player in the NHL at a spry 18 years old. For those of you who don't follow the NHL, calling Gagner the Kobe Bryant or the LeBron James of the NHL is really not a stretch; he doesn't even turn 19 until after the season in August.

With the likes of Cogliano, Gagner, the über-talented Aleš Hemský and lots of great talent on defense, this team is loaded for bear. What I'm really happy about is that the Oilers are finally owned by someone with deep pockets, so the team will be able to keep a player of Gagner's talent without losing him to spend-happy teams like the Rangers and Flyers.

Right now, the Oilers are three points out of a playoff spot, so I'm not holding my breath, but they do have a real shot to make the postseason with games coming up against Minnesota tomorrow, Calgary and Colorado. By this time next week, their fate should be determined. I'll never forget seeing them in the Cup Finals in '06 - what a wild ride it was - I can't wait for it to happen again. With all of the young stars wearing Oiler silks, it's gonna happen sooner rather than later.

Go Oilers!

Labels: , , , , , ,

Wednesday, March 12, 2008

Oil Gusher: Cogliano hits rare air

Just a few sports notes, and then I'll get back to politics. I haven't had much reason to write about my Edmonton Oilers too much this season, but recent developments have certainly motivated me, that's for sure. The playoffs are a pipe dream for the Oilers this year, but next year, things are bound to be different.

The team is now owned by billionaire Daryl Katz, who has promised not only a new arena, but aggressive spending to get free agents.

But, best of all, there is plenty of young talent, led by #13, Andrew Cogliano (above left). Last night, the 20-year old center scored his third consecutive OT game winner, an NHL record. So much for the number 13 being unlucky. I still find it hard to believe - three games in a row, three overtime winners, all by Cogliano, a rookie sensation who will look good in Oiler silks for many years to come.

Here are the three winners, beginning with the first one vs. the Blue Jackets...


OT game winner #2 vs. the Blackhawks. This goal tied Cogliano with some pretty heady company with one of my favorite winners ever, #17, Jari Kurri, who scored two consecutive OT winners, but eight games apart in the 1980s.


And last night vs. the Blues, with just a few ticks left in OT...


Together with Sam Gagner, Robert Nilsson and Dustin Penner, along with a slew of talented, young defensemen and a surprise goalie in Mathieu Garon, Edmonton should compete for a playoff spot next season, and it can't get here soon enough.

As much as I love hockey, it really blows when the playoffs come and your team isn't in it.

Labels: , , , , ,

Tuesday, October 02, 2007

The NHL Season: fearless predictions

The Edmonton Oilers have a new captain, and I couldn't be happier. The choice was obvious - Ethan Moreau (above left, shaking hands with Oilers head coach and former captain Craig MacTavish). The Oil is in good hands with this guy - he's tough as nails, and he missed 78 games last season, when he was sorely missed on the penalty kill.

Personally, I'm getting a pretty big kick out of the preseason predictions about my Oilers. Here's a quick sample...

From Kevin Allen of USA Today...
Teams that could slip in the standings: 1. Edmonton Oilers. 2. New Jersey Devils. 3. New York Islanders.

[Snip]

Teams that could be in the hunt for the No. 1 pick: 1. Coyotes. 2. Oilers. 3. Boston Bruins.
And here's ESPN.com's John Buccigross, who I normally respect and often agree with. However, this is an excerpt from Bucci's thoughts on how the Oilers will do this season...
The Oilers have 16 centers in camp, no bona fide No. 1 guy and a hodgepodge of parts from a scrambling summer. It's like a post-1970s Manilow album. There are no hits on this CD. They do have players with something to prove and a nice crop of young players with talent who they can choose to go with; but, boy, if they keep playing that same old Edmonton style with young players, they will get run out of the building on most nights. They still have good character guys and a decent amount of leadership. Unexpected blooming from Hemsky and others could move them up a notch in the expectation department.

But it appears they just can't score enough. Souray can fire a slap shot across Alberta and he will stand up for his teammates, but he's not exactly Nicklas Lidstrom in his own end. It will take 40-45 wins to make the playoffs in the West. That seems like a bit much for the Oilers, who appear destined to be a lottery team without a lottery pick. Ouch, babe.
In ESPN's preseason power rankings...
GM Kevin Lowe sent us a $180 million offer sheet to get us to put his Oilers in the top 20 of the rankings, but we didn't bite. Dustin Penner and Sheldon Souray are not Ryan Smyth and Jason Smith. The only thing that could cure Oil Nation's pain is beer, fried dill pickles and more beer.
I love it - underestimating the Oil again. I'm not under the assumption that they'll win the Stanley Cup, but I've read predictions that the Oilers will finish anywhere from 12th in the west to being in the running for the lottery pick.

In a word: Bullshit.

I fondly remember the 2005-2006 season, when everyone predicted that the Oilers would miss the playoffs, and that was with the players that everyone is writing Edmonton misses so much - Ryan Smyth, Jason Smith and Chris Pronger. The Oilers do miss those players, but it's not the death of the franchise that they aren't on the roster. It amazes me that sports writers never seem to be wrong. Well, clip and save the comments above about the Oilers, and we'll see who's right. Oh, and clip and save the ones below, too, because here are my fearless predictions about the coming season...

Division Winners
Eastern Conference
Northeast: Ottawa
Atlantic: NY Rangers
Southeast: Atlanta

Western Conference
Central: Detroit
Northwest: Edmonton
Pacific: San Jose Sharks

Conference Finalists
East: NY Rangers over Pittsburgh
West: Detroit over San Jose

Stanley Cup Winner: Detroit Red Wings

Award Winners
Jack Adams Winner (Coach of the Year): Ron Wilson, Sharks
Art Ross Trophy (Scoring Champion): Sidney Crosby, Penguins
Hart Trophy (NHL MVP): Sidney Crosby, Penguins
Vezina Trophy (Best Goaltender): Henrik Lundqvist, Rangers
Conn Smyth Trophy (Playoff MVP): Nicklas Lidstrom, Red Wings
Norris Trophy (Best Defenseman): Joni Pitkannen, Oilers

Oh, and those Oilers? They will make the playoffs in the west, and may even get into the second round.

I'm confident of this because of Oilers GM Kevin Lowe, who won't hesitate to make a deal to improve the team if it stumbles early, including a stable of defensemen to peddle as trade bait that he didn't have last year.

Locally, the Flyers will be in good hands; the team yesterday named former Oiler captain Jason Smith as their captain. The Flyers will be much improved and will almost certainly make the playoffs, but the bad news is that the Flyers play in the Atlantic, where the Rangers and Pens play.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to the puck dropping - it's been a long wait, especially after Edmonton's disastrous 2006-2007 season.

Go Oilers!

Labels: , , , ,

Saturday, September 29, 2007

Are Mexicans invading Canada & the NHL?


Quite naturally, I'm all stoked for hockey season, and this feature on The Daily Show had me rolling the other night. It's a feature about how Mexicans are overrunning Canada, and it features Edmonton Oiler forward Raffi Torres. It's pretty funny, as almost all features on TDS are.

I'll type more about hockey later in the week. Some of the writing on hockey in this country is laugh-out-loud funny; I read a columnist yesterday in USA Today who predicted that my Oilers could be in the hunt for the number one pick. I guess he simply missed the offseason and all of the moves Edmonton did. I usually ignore such predictions an I don't get too emotional about them - in '06, when Edmonton went all the way to Game 7 of the Stanley Cup Finals, many had picked them to finish 10th in the conference. Oops.

Labels: , , , ,

Thursday, August 09, 2007

Aug. 9 - another bad day

Sorry for all of the inactivity - we just returned from Seattle the day before yesterday, and yesterday I want to a Dave Matthews Band concert, so I'm getting back on track. I just finished two books, and the political world never sleeps, so I've got plenty on the way, believe me.

In the meantime, I wanted to take a minute to reflect on another crazy day in history. Since I read a lot about history, two pretty big things happened on this date that I was not around to witness, and one from the world of sports that I do remember, and I'll never forget.

I suppose I'll go in chronological order, since it's tough to pick between the first two:

Sixty-two years ago today, the U.S. dropped the second atomic bomb on Nagasaki, Japan. It barely gets a mention in the U.S. media, but in Japan, it's observed each and every year. Since the number of survivors from both atomic bombings are shrinking by the year, observing the anniversaries of the atomic bombings takes on added importance in Japan (and it should in the U.S.). The photo above is often misidentified as being the Hiroshima bomb cloud, but it is in fact from the Nagasaki blast.

Above, people carry the head part of Virgin Mary image on Papal See in Nagasaki earlier today. The head part of the image was found amid debris of Urakami Cathedral in the suburbs of Nagasaki about two months after the bombing.

Above, people attend a ceremony held in front of the Statue of Peace at Nagasaki Peace Park earlier today. Nagasaki marked the 62nd anniversary of the world's second, and so far the last, atomic bomb attack with a somber ceremony and calls for the elimination of nuclear weapons worldwide. If I live another 50 years, I pray that I never live to see the horror of another nuclear weapon detonation on people. It's a realistic fear that we may indeed see one though, and in America.

Above, this photo from video, from HBO, shows atomic bomb survivor Etsuko Nagano holding a picture of herself as a child in Nagasaki, Japan, during the making in 2005 of the HBO documentary film White Light/Black Rain: The Destruction of Hiroshima and Nagasaki. Filmmaker Steven Okazaki interviewed 14 survivors for the film, which premiered on HBO on Monday, Aug. 6, 62 years after the U.S. detonated the atomic bomb on Hiroshima.

This weekend I'm going to watch the HBO film, and I'll bring you my thoughts on it. Here's a short clip from the film...


Today's probably the single biggest day in history that gave us the media coverage and political system we have today. (And, an annoyance - the reason we have "-gate" as a suffix to any political scandal of note.)

Thirty-three years ago today, President Nixon resigned in disgrace for abusing his power, attempting to subvert the Constitution, and thinking he was above the law. Sound familiar? It should.

Anyone who lived through Watergate can never forget Nixon's hubris to the very end of his presidency and beyond. I was three years old on August 9, 1974, so I don't remember, but the subject has always been one of fascination with me, and probably always will be, as long as good books continue to be churned out about he Nixon presidency. (And that's showing no signs of slowing down.) Above, Nixon does his ridiculous victory wave before he boards Marine One for his trip into exile in San Clemente, California.

Tell me if you notice the difference...

Between this...

...and this.

Nixon's resignation didn't hurt the country then, and Bush's impeachment wouldn't hurt the country now. Nixon more than deserved his fate, and the Bush presidency deserves a similar ending - impeachment. He'd never resign, and it looks like the Democrats are allowing Bush to get away with the many, many subversions of the law over the last nearly seven years.

Compared to the other two, the Wayne Gretzky trade pales in comparison, but it was my worst day ever as a sports fan - when the defending Stanley Cup Champion Edmonton Oilers traded Wayne Gretzky to the Los Angeles Kings on this day 19 years ago in 1988. I would argue that it is right up there with the trade that brought Babe Ruth to the New York Yankees as one of the worst sports trades in the history of professional sports. This trade was that huge.

The entire nation of Canada, where hockey is the first, second and third biggest sport, was outraged. I still remember where I was and who told me - my friend Brian called me up and said, "Hey man, Gretzky just got traded." I didn't even believe him - I thought he was kidding. I turned on the TV, and for one of the few times since I was a little kid, I sat down and cried over sports. (I also did when Gretz played his last game as a Ranger in 1999 when he retired.)

The Oilers' Cup victory in 1990 eased the pain a little, but it's difficult not to wonder how many Cups the Oilers could have won had #99 not been traded. It's almost too painful to contemplate. I'm guessing the team could have won at least 2-3 more championships above the five it won from 1984-1990, but we'll never know.

August 9 - not a fun date when I think about it.

Top photo AP file photo
Second & third photos AP/Kyodo News
Fourth photo AP/HBO

Labels: , , , ,

Friday, July 13, 2007

Crazy NHL offseason continues

It's been one of the nuttiest NHL offseasons in recent memory, and it hasn't been all roses for my Edmonton Oilers. Their biggest move this summer was snagging blueliner Joni Pitkänen, but it cost them dearly - their captain Jason Smith (above) and promising winger Joffrey Lupul, whom the Oilers acquired in the Chris Pronger deal.

It was awfully tough seeing Smith holding up a Flyer jersey yesterday, but it will be sweet if Pitkänen turns into the blueliner some feel he'll be (including the Oilers).

Yesterday the Oilers also finally signed a free agent of note, inking Sheldon Souray to a five-year deal. That ought to shut up the Edmonton haters for about 15 minutes.

Too bad Oiler GM Kevin Lowe couldn't hold on to Buffalo Sabre forward Thomas Vanek, whom he signed to a seven-year, $50 million contract. The Sabres immediately cried foul and matched the offer. Lowe was right about the Sabres' response, though - "rather juvenile." Sabres big wigs were quoted as saying that they would target as many Edmonton Oiler restricted free agents as possible in the coming months, but no other teams' RFAs. That's idiotic, but quite frankly, considering the price of signing away another team's RFA is four first round draft picks, I'd gladly see the Oilers refuse to match, thereby stockpiling first rounders.

Anyway, I think the whole "gentleman's agreement" that supposedly exists in the NHL among league GMs to not sign other team's RFAs is total b.s. Why have restricted free agency, then? Lowe was operating within the rules, and he was trying to better his team. He's been left at the altar too many times during this summer's free agency, and he wanted to make a big splash. Something tells me he's not done yet.

Things here in Philly have been hot and heavy, too. The Flyers have added Martin Biron, Scott Hartnell, Kimmo Timonen and Scottie Upshall, in addition to resigning goalie Antero Niittymaki. With Niiittymaki and Biron, the Flyers have a very good tandem in goal. Philly GM Paul Holmgren has got to be an early favorite for NHL Exec of the Year if Philly makes the playoffs and goes deep, but I know it's very early to be writing that. The Flyers should make the playoffs, but I don't think they are serious Cup contenders yet, though. The biggest reason? They play in the same division as the mighty New York Rangers.

And those Rangers have made some pretty big noise in free agency, signing Scott Gomez away from the Devils and Chris Drury from Buffalo. Barring injury or disaster, the Rangers have got to be the odds-on favorite to win the division and advance deep in the playoffs.

Out west, things haven't gotten any easier for the Oilers' competition. The rich have gotten richer, mostly. The Avalanche signed Ryan Smyth, the former Oiler who should still be an Oiler, and Anaheim, the defending Cup Champs, snagged dirtbag Todd Bertuzzi.

I just hope the Oilers make the playoffs and do some damage this year, but the odds of that happening with the current crop of forwards isn't that great. Kevin Lowe needs to do more deals. But, I'm still optimistic for the future, even if this season doesn't pan out - the potential 2008 free agent crop is rich with stars, and the '08 draft is projected to be the best in years, too.

Baseball, shmaseball. I can't wait for the puck to drop.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Friday, June 29, 2007

'07 NHL Hall of Fame Class is truly special

Aside from Mario Lemieux in 1997 and Wayne Gretzky in 1999, I cannot remember a more incredible class of players being inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame. This year's class is truly something special. From left, Ron Francis, Al MacInnis, Mark Messier and Scott Stevens.

Each of these guys won at least one Stanley Cup: Francis won two, MacInnis one, Messier six and Stevens three. Four players, 12 Stanley Cups. But, each player brought a whole lot more to the table than that, too. Each man also brought exceptional leadership to their teams.

Ron Francis, originally drafted by the Hartford Whalers, was an exceptionally talented center who played in the NHL a mind-numbing 23 seasons. He was never a super sniper; the most goals he ever scored in a season was 32, but he accumulated points in bunches, leading the league in assists on two occasions. Francis was a player who made the guys he played with exceptionally better, on and off the ice.

Without a doubt, he made Mario Lemieux's Penguins better in the early 1990s, too. Many call Francis the final "missing link" that put the Pens over the top, winning two Stanley Cups in a row in '91 and '92. He also led the Carolina Hurricanes to the Stanley Cup Finals in 2002, where they fell short against the Detroit Red Wings.

I remember Al MacInnis for two things: playing for the hated Calgary Flames (I'm an Oilers fan), and the most wicked slap shot in the league that intelligent players learned to have a healthy respect for, or they would become unhealthy, quick. Just how quick? At the 2003 NHL All-Star Game, Al took a wooden stick (which is mostly becoming a relic of the ancient NHL past) and ripped off a 98.9 MPH shot. In typical Canadian fashion, he said "So much for technology, eh?"

Scott Stevens was proficient at two things - winning Stanley Cups and laying people out. A three-time Stanley Cup Champ and one-time Conn Smythe Trophy (Playoff MVP), Stevens was the heart and soul of a Devils team that seriously competed for or won the Stanley Cup for nearly a decade.

What I remember most about Stevens, though, were the hits. And there were many, most of them clean. My favorite hit of all was when he laid out Eric Lindros, then with the Philadelphia Flyers. Lindros has to be one of the biggest crybabies in NHL history - a tremendous waste of talent. Yes, he's had a productive career, but it could have been so much more. To me, it's all karma. He should never have landed in Philly in the first place, but he refused to report to the Quebec Nordiques and told them so. They drafted him anyway, and eventually traded him to the Philadelphia Flyers. Ironically, who the Flyers sent to Quebec (the team moved to Colorado to become the Avalanche in the mid 1990s) helped the team win the Stanley Cup. Lindros? Still no Cup. Boo Hoo. But, I digress.

Anyway, in lieu of my trying to describe the hit on Lindros, just take a look at it.


BLAM. That one put #88 out of commission for a little while (and the rest of the playoffs that year, if I remember correctly). I'm always cracking up over clueless Flyers fans who jeer Stevens. Meanwhile, this is a city that can't seem to let go of The Broadstreet Bullies era, when the Flyers were just as comfortable fighting and using their sticks as they were playing the game.

Lindros put his head down, and Stevens made him pay. That's hockey. If you want to watch a no contact, boring game, go watch baseball.

Of course, I saved the best for last - Mark Messier, the greatest leader, in my opinion, in the history of team sports.

A quick but by no means exhaustive list of his achievements reads like a script from Hollywood, not a career of an NHL center:

• Six-time Stanley Cup Champ
• Ending the 54-year "curse" for the Rangers in 1994
• The only player to captain two Cup-winning teams
• Second all-time in career points
• Winning the Conn Smythe Trophy in 1984 (right)
• Played in 15 All-Star games
• Played an astounding 25 seasons in the NHL, and he could have played at least a few more, if he had wanted to. He was the last player in the NHL to retire from the 1970s (as well as the last WHA player)

It's very tough (tougher than Mess himself) to pick favorite moments of his career, but after giving it some thought, here's three (and if I think about it longer, I'll change my answers):

3. Winning the Stanley Cup for the sixth time in 1994, ending hockey's greatest curse for the New York Rangers. This was bittersweet for me - it was very tough to see Mess leave the Oilers, but I understood why he didn't want to stay. He needed a bigger and better challenge. He was so huge that playoff year. Unless you were a fan of a Rangers foe in those playoffs, it was pretty tough to not root for him.

To any other hockey fan, and probably even to Mess himself, this might be his crowning achievement. But, imagine being an Oilers fan and seeing both of your captains who have won Stanley Cups for your team both being traded away within four years. Yea, you'd be bitter, too, and you wouldn't be thrilled seeing Mess lift the Cup for the Rangers. Having said that, I was very happy for him being able to do it for the Rangers. It's not a stretch to say "No Messier, no Stanley Cup on Broadway."

2. His first game against Wayne Gretzky after The Great One was traded from the Oilers to the LA Kings. Many people, myself included, were eager to see just how the two best friends would compete against each other. Virtually no one thought he'd go easy on #99, but many were curious to see the former teammates oppose one another. That first shift, Messier drilled him, then backed up and drilled him again. Messier certainly didn't like it, but business was business.

1. Winning the Stanley Cup in 1990 (above), after the Gretzky trade. In many ways, this was the sweetest of all the Cup wins I can remember as a long-time Oilers fan. Everyone said they were finished. EVERYONE. They certainly took the league by surprise during those playoffs. They faced elimination against the Winnipeg Jets, at one point, they were down 3-1 in the series. But, Moose brought them charging back, and they dispatched the Bruins in five games in the Finals. I'll never forget Mess saying into the cameras, "This one's for you, Gretz."

If Wayne Gretzky, my favorite hockey player of all time, is the caliber player that comes around only once in a lifetime, then Messier is the type of player who only comes around once every three or four decades.

The further away the 1980s becomes, the more I appreciate those Edmonton teams. Think about it - the top two scorers in NHL history played on the same team, for eight seasons. The Oilers stupidly traded away Gretzky, and they still managed one more Cup. The greatest hockey team every assembled? In terms of Cup wins in a row, no. But, statistically speaking in just about every offensive category? You bet.

And Mess was the heart and soul of that team, without a shadow of a doubt.

In my humble opinion, Messier is the greatest team leader in the history of professional sports in North America. You give me names, I can knock 'em down.

Anyone in Major League Baseball? Okay, let's get serious.

The NBA? Michael Jordan, Larry Bird and Magic Johnson all deserve mention here, but all of them didn't win as many titles, and they all only did it with one team. Of course, Jordan tops that list, with six titles, but again, one team. I put Messier ahead of him for two reasons: 1. Longevity. Messier played a quarter century in a sport that is about a million times harder and more physically demanding than basketball, and 2. (I'm repeating myself here, I know) Doing it with two teams.

It's pretty tough to recreate or describe the losing atmosphere that was had infested the Ranger locker room before Messier's arrival. My favorite little anecdote about it was told by Messier himself. When he first arrived, no one would discuss the Stanley Cup. "That would be bad luck," they all said. Messier simply said, "Talk about it? I want it! Let's win it!" And he had five rings at that time, which game him just a little cred in the locker room.

The NFL? Forget it. The only players that I'd even consider in this discussion would be Joe Montana and Terry Bradshaw; each won four Super Bowl rings. But, neither had even close to the longevity as Messier, and again, one team. Elway made it to give Super Bowls, but only won twice.

To me, Messier's closest competition of greatest leader: Jordan, Montana, Gretzky, in that order.

We'll probably never again see a leader of Messier's ability win six Stanley Cups (and with two different teams) ever again, especially in the age of free agency.

One other thing about Messier's induction to the Hall of Fame gets me jacked - I have to get back to the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto now. I haven't been there since 1996 (left), and when I was there, if I recall correctly, there were no Oilers in the hall. Now, there will be plenty to see - Grant Fuhr, Jari Kurri, Paul Coffey, Gretzky and Messier. I may just spend two whole days there. Before we move west, I have to get back.

What a Hall of Fame class. We may never see another one like it.

Labels: , , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, June 09, 2007

One year ago today...

I'll be offline for a little while, probably until late on Sunday or possibly Monday morning. We are headed to a wedding in Conshohocken in a bit (just outside of Philly - "Conshie" to locals), we have friends coming in tonight, and tomorrow we are headed to the Philadelphia bike race (we call it the Manayunk bike race). We will be headed to The Wall in Manayunk, one tough hill for bikers to climb. Many quit before they reach the top. We reward them with beer if they do, to wild cheers from the crowd. A few pics from last year's race...

I offered a Red Bull to anyone needing a boost to get up the hill. There were no takers, so I happily drank the Bull myself.

A little bit more Stanley Cup melancholy - last year at this time, the Oilers were in the Stanley Cup Finals against the Carolina Hurricanes. I had just gotten back from Game 2 (hence, the T-Shirt), and I was stoked for the game later that night (which the Oilers won, by the way). I proceeded to carry an inflatable Stanley Cup with me wherever I went, to the puzzlement of many. I loved it that most in Philly didn't even know who the Oilers were. (I guess most along the bike route didn't recall or didn't care [probably both] that the Oilers battled the Flyers to seven games in 1987 before Edmonton won the Cup.)

Anyway, one of my defining moments as a Philadelphian was getting about 30 of my friends to chat "Here we go Oilers, here we go!" for about 2 minutes straight, right in the middle of Flyer country. Sweet. Nothing like being Cup Crazy in Philly when the Flyers aren't in it. (Insert snarky, sarcastic laugh here.)

Even the cops got in on the act, sort of. Anyway, I'm sure I'll have some great pictures to share from this year's bike race early next week.

And go Oilers. Next year. :*(

Labels: , , ,

Friday, June 08, 2007

A few more Stanley Cup pictures...

Yea, I can't quite let go of the end of hockey season. This is the slow time of the sports year for me - hockey's over and football training camps are the better part of two months away. I'm a Red Sox fan, but not a huge, die-hard fan like I am of the Oilers and Cowboys. So, I'm holding onto hockey for just a bit longer, even if my team was a pretty miserable failure this past season.

Last night, a few Ducks took Stanley to The Tonight Show to pay Jay Leno a visit...

From left, Jay says hello to the best trophy in sports along with Jiggy, Chris Pronger and Brad May. I love stuff like this - I know I've been typing it a great deal in the last week, but it's good for the game - it exposes the game and the fun surrounding it to potentially a great many people who may not know what the NHL is all about.

When is the last time the Lombardi Trophy, or those stupid looking trophies from MLB or the NBA went for a trip to any late-night talk show? No time in recent memory that I can think of.

This is a picture of the Ducks' dry erase board in their locker room on Wednesday before the Cup-clinching game. I love little insider tidbits like this. True fans love to hear about insider stuff like this. I don't see an NHL Network in the near future, but I sure wish the networks that broadcast NHL games would give us more stuff like this. In fairness, the league seems to be getting it - Pierre McGuire was interviewing coaches when games were coming out of commercial breaks on the bench - something that would never have happened 10-15 years ago.

I've been a gleeful, frequent critic of NHL Commish Gary Bettman over the years, but he's done a lot of things right. His greatest legacy, whenever he steps away from the league, is getting the owners and players to agree on a level financial playing field for the league's 30 teams. For that, he deserves credit.

The celebration is tomorrow at the Honda Center in Anaheim - I'll bring you more pictures on Monday. (Sunday is the bike race in Philadelphia - we'll be out and about for most of the day, and into the night.)

Let the record reflect that I'm being a true hockey fan here. It hurts to be talking about the Anaheim Ducks as Stanley Cup Champions, but that's the way the game goes sometimes. I just hope that next year or the following year I can be posting many great pictures of Oiler players parading the Cup around the ice and celebrating with all of the team's great fans.

More than that, I'd like to give a hat tip to my friends up north. A Canadian team has not won the Stanley Cup since the 1992-1993 season, when the Montreal Canadians won it. This is becoming an epidemic in the country where hockey is king. I hope it happens for any Canadian team soon, except Calgary.

Canada became spoiled with the many dynasties in NHL history that it was a given that a Canadian NHL team would seriously compete for it every year - Montreal, Toronto and (later) Edmonton all had long stretches where those teams were favored to win it or seriously threaten to, year in and year out. I can't say that's no longer the case, because the last three Stanley Cup Finals have all featured Canadian teams, before which there was a nine-year drought where no Canadian team made it. So, maybe the tide is turning.

There's even talk of the NHL some day returning to Winnipeg. I think it would be a very good thing - it's never a bad thing to have more Canadians involved in the league. Only time will tell.

Labels: , , , , , , , ,

Sunday, June 03, 2007

NHL right in suspending Pronger

Maybe it really IS the New NHL.

In light of Ducks D Chris Pronger's cheap shot elbow to Senators LW Dean McAmmond (below, knocked silly on the ice) on Saturday night, Colin Campbell, the NHL's Senior Vice President and Director of Hockey Operations, sat Chris Pronger (above) for Monday's game four of the Stanley Cup Finals.

This never would have happened 10 years ago, and definitely not in the 1980s. I can still remember Philadelphia Flyer G Ron Hextall taking a baseball-bat swing at Oiler C Kent Nilsson in the 1987 finals; he was subsequently suspended for multiple games to start the next season. Anyway, I digress - there are numerous examples throughout the 1980s and even the early-to-mid 1990s where players would commit blatant penalties with intent to injure, knowing that they wouldn't get suspended for playoff games by a spineless league.

So, arguably the best blue liner in the game, and definitely in this series, will have to sit down tomorrow night. That's a big minus for the Ducks. Even if McAmmond can't go for the Sens, and it's looking like he won't with a nasty concussion, Ottawa still wins this trade-off. I'm sure McAmmond would have rather weakened the Ducks another way, but Ottawa has got to be favored tomorrow night.

Not only was Pronger's hit a cheap one, but his explanation was equally as cheap, when asked if he could change the way he plays the game:
"I don't think I can, for me to be the type of player I can be," Pronger said. "Obviously, it's a fine line and getting finer every year, and we have to make subtle adjustments. But I don't think I can make wholesale changes and still be the type of player I can be."
What a load. There are plenty of players his size in the game who don't have to play with their elbows and sticks.

As ESPN's Scott Burnside so succinctly points out in a column early today, there are a number of players Pronger's size or larger who don't have to resort to the on-ice tactics Pronger is becoming known for:
Look around the league. Zdeno Chara, all 6-foot-9 of him, was a recent Norris Trophy nominee, but he doesn't resort to the kinds of behavior that has marked Pronger's play. Neither did Larry Robinson, perhaps the greatest big-man defensemen of all time.
Stick that, Pronger.

What's worse about his behavior was his noted lack of remorse, at least publicly:
"I don't think there's any apologies that need to be made. I think they understand how I feel and the situation we're in. I don't think that's going to do anybody any good in our locker room. We need to look forward and look toward building toward Game 4 and getting better."
McAmmond, for his part, feels the hit was less than legit:
"I think it should have been a suspension because it was a blow to the head," McAmmond said in a statement. "It wasn't incidental. It's not like that couldn't have been avoided."
Monday's game should be a good one.

Go Sens.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Friday, June 01, 2007

Finally, something to cheer about in hockey

I'll admit it - I've gone from Cup Crazy to Cup Lazy in less than 12 months. When you're looking forward to the draft more than the playoffs, that's when you know your team is bottom feeding.

I guess that's what happens when your favorite hockey team goes from the penthouse, the Stanley Cup Finals, to the outhouse, missing the playoffs, in nine short months. I haven't had much to cheer about this hockey season. My Edmonton Oilers did not make the playoffs, and I'm still in mourning. I haven't watched this few playoff games since I've been an NHL fan. I love hockey, and it will always be my favorite sport, but this season was such a letdown, I just haven't been able to shake the disappointment.

But, I'm wakin' up - it's Stanley Cup Finals time. Even though two teams are in the finals that I don't have any rooting interest in, I have to confess that I'm rooting for the Ottawa Senators. I will go to my grave believing that just about any Canadian city would appreciate a Stanley Cup more than an American city. There are plenty of fantastic hockey cities in America - I live in one, Philadelphia. In addition to Philly, Boston, Chicago, Detroit and New York (especially New York) have all gone nuts in the past and will go nuts again when their teams win the Stanley Cup. But, in America, it's a city rooting for a team to win. In Canada, a nation roots for a team when a Canadian team makes it to the finals, as Edmonton did last season and Ottawa has this season.

Anyway, I was rooting for the Anaheim Ducks to get to the finals. Just to get there - not to win it, because of the departed, despised defenseman Chris Pronger. Because the Ducks have made it to the finals, Edmonton gets Anaheim's first-round draft pick next season to complete the Pronger trade. That's huge. How huge?

The Oilers now have five first-round draft picks over the next two seasons. The next two drafts will make or break Edmonton for the next decade. If Oilers GM Kevin Lowe and his staff snag 2-3 blue chippers and a few great role players, they will be in the finals again sooner rather than later.

Edmonton needs lots of rebuilding after last season's disaster, so hopefully Lowe makes the most of what's coming to the Oilers.

As for the finals, Anaheim is firmly in control. After a 1-0 victory the other night, they Ducks are up 2-0 in the best-of-seven series. (At left, Sens goalie Ray Emery spits in disgust after giving up the winning goal in game 2.) Tomorrow night's game is hyper-crucial to Ottawa's chances. It's stating the obvious by saying that if the Sens lose tomorrow night, it's all over but the cryin'.

Even though I'm rooting for the Sens, it will be cool to see the Ducks win the Stanley Cup, too. Since the Ducks were founded in 1993, the team has never hoisted the Cup, and it's always good for hockey when a team wins its first Cup. Plus, our friend Eel and his daughters are big Ducks fans out in Southern California, and I'm quite certain they would be more than overjoyed.

As for me, well, I'm watching the finals, but I'm waiting for free agency and the draft. That's pretty pathetic as an Oilers fan.

Sigh. Well, there's always next year.

Labels: , , , , , , ,

Sunday, April 08, 2007

Thank GOD it's over

My Edmonton Oilers' season came to a merciful end last night on a positive note - a 3-2 win over their arch-rival Calgary Flames. (Above, Oilers defenseman Brad Winchester decks the Flames' Mark Giordano last night.)

But, even a victory this season seems to always get the stuffing knocked out of it. The Oilers had a chance to deal the Flames' playoff chances a big blow with a loss. They accomplished that, but since Colorado lost last night, the Flames clinched anyway. Calgary knew before the third period, and I think that is why there was a bit of a letdown on the part of the Flames in the final 20 minutes.

This has been the worst hockey season for me in at least 15 years, and arguably ever, after the most awesome sports feeling in the world last season - seeing my team play in the Stanley Cup Finals.

Oh well, I welcome the offseason with open arms, especially considering the team went an appalling 2-17-1 in its final 20 games. During that stretch, Edmonton was 4-for-67 on the power play.

It's time for some changes in Edmonton, and by that I DON'T mean GM Kevin Lowe or Head Coach Craig MacTavish, but some of these assistant coaches might have to go. These guys know the team and hockey infinitely better than I do, but from my chair, when you score four goals in your final 67 power plays, something is wrong.

To be fair, the team lost its spiritual leader at the trade deadline, Ryan Smyth, and that had a big blow on the club. And the injuries this year were the worst I can ever remember for the Oilers, and I've been following this team for a quarter century.

Oh well, a fresh start is on the way, and I hope some help in free agency. Naturally, the team damaged its chances of getting into the draft lottery with the win last night. I have to root for Chicago to win today; the lowest five teams all have a shot at the number one pick in the draft. If Chicago loses, Edmonton will have the sixth worst record. C'mon, Dallas Stars - kick the stuffing out of the Blackhawks.

Things weren't much better here in Philadelphia - the Flyers finished with their worst record in their 40-year history. So, I'm not the only one in the land of pretzels and cheese steaks who is glad this season is over.

What a bizarre season: The two Stanley Cup Finalists from last season missed the postseason (Carolina, the defending Cup champs, also didn't make it); the Oilers swan dive; the disaster in Philly; and Devils goalie Martin Brodeur breaking the record for wins in a season, getting his 48th against the Flyers last week, which broke the 33-year-old record ironically held by Bernie Parent of Flyers fame. Vancouver's Roberto Luongo can get a share of the record today if he can lead the Canucks past the Coyotes. (Luongo - the goalie the Oilers declined to pursue via free agency or trade. Great.)

Phew! I'm glad it's over.

Now, bring on football - my Dallas Cowboys have some disappointing to do.

Photo from AP

Labels: , , , , , , , ,

Sunday, April 01, 2007

A funny Canadian commercial



Check out this funny Canadian commercial, which I've read has been banned. I laughed at it - I guess you could say the commercials are the only reason to still watch Edmonton Oiler games, they are so bad.

Four games to go, and this nightmare NHL season is over, and I can get on with looking forward to next season, and enjoying the playoffs.

Labels: , ,

Sunday, March 18, 2007

NHL monster hits



This is a montage of the best hits in the NHL during the month of February, and there are some monster hits on here. Of course, my two favorites are Zack Stortini of the Oilers (of course!) and the Atlanta Thrashers' Garnet Exelby - he took down three players in a row! I love a player like that.

Stortini is one of the few bright spots for the Oilers this year - he's not afraid to mix it up, and Edmonton needs his grit in the lineup right now, and definitely next year. He's the heir apparent to former Oilers tough guy Georges Laraque. He'll make the team full time next year.

I've completely not taken advantage of the fact that YouTube reached an agreement with the NHL to post highlights this season. Next season (which will hopefully be a better one for my Edmonton Oilers), I'm going to post a bunch more hockey clips. But, the playoffs are coming up, so this season ain't over yet. I'm now just a hockey fan in general with no rooting interest in who wins the Stanley Cup, since my team's out of it. But, it is always my favorite sports event of the year, Super Bowl be damned (as much as I love that).

Labels: , , , , , ,

Oil drops 10th straight; higher pick ahead

The Streak in Edmonton has hit double digits, now at 10, and it's one short of the club record. Sometimes, being an NHL fan is a painful thing. As an Edmonton Oiler fan, I've experienced the highest of highs, and the lowest of lows, and this season ranks right down there among the worst of them.

Things aren't looking any better for the Oilers, who are woefully short on defense, and they lost Ladislav Smid last night. The team finished the game with four defensemen. Unreal.

Well, last night the Oilers took the Blues to overtime, but still managed to lose at the hands of another ex-Oiler. This time, it was the Brew Screw, as Eric Brewer beat Edmonton a few minutes into OT. During this streak, Edmonton has been beaten in OT by Mike Comrie and Eric Brewer, two huge disappointments while wearing Oiler silks. What's next? Is Esa Tikkanen going to come out of retirement to score a hat trick vs. his former team? Miss ya, Tik.

If the Oilers lose Monday night, they will equal the club record set nearly 15 years ago.

More importantly, they might come close to inching closer to a higher draft pick. Right now, the Oilers will pick 7th, but the way things are going and the way injuries are beginning to mount, that's bound to change, for the better.

One other fun note - since GM Kevin Lowe traded fan favorite (and RJ favorite) Ryan Smyth to the New York Islanders, Edmonton hasn't won a single game. Smyth must privately be laughing his passes off. In the end, I know Lowe made the right move, but it was devestating to the chemistry of this hockey team. Lowe is going to have a monumental task ahead of him this offseason to get this fixed.

At this point, I have absolutely nothing to root for, so all I can do is hope the team keeps on losing so a better player can be had in the draft. Edmonton won't catch Philly for the worst record, barring a miracle, but they could make it as high as the second or third pick. Screw it - I gotta have something to look forward to after this horrific hockey season.

Is it football season yet? The Dallas Cowboys haven't disappointed me in months, so I have that to look forward to this fall. Yay. I am one bitter sport fan right now.

Labels: ,

Friday, March 16, 2007

How low can they go?

No, I'm not talking about the Bush Administration, but I might as well be, right? I'll get to that.

I'm talking about my Edmonton Oilers. After last night's 2-1 loss to the Minnesota Wild, the Oilers have lost nine in a row. It's tough to get too angry though - the team is missing 11 players, not counting two key players who were traded.

Anyway, I'm wondering just how low this team can go. I'm hoping all the way to the bottom - the better the draft picks the better. The depressing thing about it all is that 1. This isn't a great draft coming up, and 2. The Oilers are too far ahead to get the #1 pick, which will probably go to Philadelphia.

I've never rooted so hard for the Flyers to win in my life.

Graphic from Covered in Oil

Labels: ,

Thursday, March 15, 2007

This about sums it up

Yep, I'm getting that mid-1990s feeling all over again, when the Oilers held a fire sale to get rid of all of that talent from their dynasty years, when they won five Stanley Cups in seven years.

Tonight, the Oilers face the Minnesota Wild. I'll have the game on, but will probably only look up when the Oilers score or there's a big play. It's not that I'm a fair weather fan - those of you who know me well know I can never be accused of that - but it's just too damn depressing to watch and think about. I can't believe only nine months ago I was so excited, driving to Carolina to watch my favorite professional team play for the Stanley Cup in Game 7 of the Stanley Cup Finals.

Edmonton, the defending Western Conference champs, are now completely out of the playoff race. The team is now on a morale crushing eight-game losing streak, their longest in nearly 12 years. The last time the Oil lost this many games was between March 23 and April 9, 1995 - a nine-game skid. Tonight that skid will get equaled. Hey, it's a better draft position for this summer, and right now, that's all I have to look forward to.

During the current losing streak, the Oilers have been outscored by a whopping 32-6 margin and are coming off Monday's 5-1 shellacking at the hands of the LA Kings, another horrific team that was in a five-game losing streak of its own until the town-skank easy Oilers came calling.

That's how far the Oilers have fallen in less than a year - from Western Conference Champs to NHL tramps...

It's tough to admit, but Edmonton is now the league's booty call.

Photo from Covered in Oil

Labels: , ,