Fighting the War on Error

"You measure a democracy by the freedom it gives its dissidents, not the freedom it gives its assimilated conformists."
- Political & Social Activist Abbie Hoffman (1936-1989)

Sunday, April 08, 2007

Thank GOD it's over

My Edmonton Oilers' season came to a merciful end last night on a positive note - a 3-2 win over their arch-rival Calgary Flames. (Above, Oilers defenseman Brad Winchester decks the Flames' Mark Giordano last night.)

But, even a victory this season seems to always get the stuffing knocked out of it. The Oilers had a chance to deal the Flames' playoff chances a big blow with a loss. They accomplished that, but since Colorado lost last night, the Flames clinched anyway. Calgary knew before the third period, and I think that is why there was a bit of a letdown on the part of the Flames in the final 20 minutes.

This has been the worst hockey season for me in at least 15 years, and arguably ever, after the most awesome sports feeling in the world last season - seeing my team play in the Stanley Cup Finals.

Oh well, I welcome the offseason with open arms, especially considering the team went an appalling 2-17-1 in its final 20 games. During that stretch, Edmonton was 4-for-67 on the power play.

It's time for some changes in Edmonton, and by that I DON'T mean GM Kevin Lowe or Head Coach Craig MacTavish, but some of these assistant coaches might have to go. These guys know the team and hockey infinitely better than I do, but from my chair, when you score four goals in your final 67 power plays, something is wrong.

To be fair, the team lost its spiritual leader at the trade deadline, Ryan Smyth, and that had a big blow on the club. And the injuries this year were the worst I can ever remember for the Oilers, and I've been following this team for a quarter century.

Oh well, a fresh start is on the way, and I hope some help in free agency. Naturally, the team damaged its chances of getting into the draft lottery with the win last night. I have to root for Chicago to win today; the lowest five teams all have a shot at the number one pick in the draft. If Chicago loses, Edmonton will have the sixth worst record. C'mon, Dallas Stars - kick the stuffing out of the Blackhawks.

Things weren't much better here in Philadelphia - the Flyers finished with their worst record in their 40-year history. So, I'm not the only one in the land of pretzels and cheese steaks who is glad this season is over.

What a bizarre season: The two Stanley Cup Finalists from last season missed the postseason (Carolina, the defending Cup champs, also didn't make it); the Oilers swan dive; the disaster in Philly; and Devils goalie Martin Brodeur breaking the record for wins in a season, getting his 48th against the Flyers last week, which broke the 33-year-old record ironically held by Bernie Parent of Flyers fame. Vancouver's Roberto Luongo can get a share of the record today if he can lead the Canucks past the Coyotes. (Luongo - the goalie the Oilers declined to pursue via free agency or trade. Great.)

Phew! I'm glad it's over.

Now, bring on football - my Dallas Cowboys have some disappointing to do.

Photo from AP

Labels: , , , , , , , ,

Monday, March 05, 2007

Oilers: slackers not allowed; Really?!?

I just read a piece tonight on The Sporting News' Canadian site about the state of the Oilers. I didn't need to read the piece to get that answer; all I needed to do was take a quick glance at the NHL standings to get a quick assessment of how big of a failure this campaign has been. The worst one in years.

Disaster.

I'm really trying not to dwell on it, though; I don't intend to write much about the Oilers until training camp, but it's hard this time of the year to not have your hockey team to root for. They lost to Calgary, their arch-rivals, on Saturday, and I never even turned on the game. Those of you who know me or who have read CMB know that's a pretty big deal.

But, this season's train wreck has had a pretty dramatic, disheartening effect on me sports-wise. I can't help but repeat it for the millionth time - they were 60 minutes away from the Cup.

Anyway, the bottom line and tone of the story was that Edmonton Head Coach Craig MacTavish (above) won't put up with any slacking from players during the team's final 16 meaningless games.

Wow - great news! The Oilers aren't going to put up with any players taking shifts/nights off on the nice!

No better time than the present, fellas.

This is a dangerous time for the Oilers. A few bad seasons, and the franchise is in jeopardy again and could move to a hockey hotbed like Las Vegas or Portland, Oregon.

I do support MacTavish and GM Kevin Lowe - these guys, both former Oiler greats as players, have both done a reasonably good job the last four years. But, it's going to be a critical offseason for them. They need to restore confidence in the city, the players, and maybe themselves, too.

I just want to be excited about my hockey team again. Sixteen years and counting since the last Oiler Stanley Cup. I sit, brood and wait, but it could be worse - I could be a Philly fan - 24 years and counting since the city has seen a championship in any of its four major professional sports teams, and 32 since the Flyers last hoisted the silver mug.

It's just one season, but I sure can't take another one like this one.

Labels: , , , ,

Thursday, October 12, 2006

Oil boils for 6!

What a night for my hockey team. Edmonton may very well start a new TV series this season - The NHL's I Love the 80's, because the Oilers certainly looked like the 80's version of the franchise, when they would just try to outscore opponents with lots of offense.

What a stunner this game was.

Edmonton goes up 1-0. Okay, cool, I thought. It's always good to get the first goal in your own barn - it gets the crowd excited and revs up the players.

About 25 minutes of hockey time later, the Oilers were down 4-1 on the heels of Jonathan Cheecho's natural hat trick and four unanswered goals by the Sharks. Oh Christ, I thought- not a good week; first the Cowboys, now the Oilers.

But, I'm glad I stuck with the game while I did my work. Five Edmonton unanswered goals later, the Oilers Ryan Smyth (above, scoring his first of the night) snagged a natural hat trick of his own, scoring three in a span of 2:01, breaking Wayne Gretzky's previous team record by 17 seconds. Now that's a good night.

Of particular note is goal number six tonight by the Oilers. The New NHL made it possible - under the old rules, the play would have been a two-line pass, but that rule was eliminated before last season. Ya gotta just love Ales Hemsky comin' out of the box, homerun pass on his tape... SCORE!

I think tonight's game will be a reflection of this year's Oilers, but I hope not all season. The young defense will suffer lapses, but with an obscenely deep group of forwards, this team can flash hot, in a hurry. But, I'm sure Head Coach Craig MacTavish would rather have the team play a little more defense. It didn't help either team that the refs were panting from blowing their whistles tonight from calling a very tight game for a total of 15 penalties.

There's 79 more games to go, but I don't know if my heart can take it.

Pronger who? Joffrey Lupul, who came to Edmonton in the Pronger deal, got his second of the season tonight. So far, so good.

Go Oilers!

Labels: , , , , , , , ,

Friday, July 21, 2006

MacT is back. Phew!

Yesterday, my Edmonton Oilers announced the most important signing of their offseason - that of Head Coach Craig MacTavish, to a four-year contract extension. He absolutely deserves it. Yes, I cursed him a bit last season, but what passionate fan doesn't do that at certain times during an 82-game season? Bottom line is that MacT is one of the great young coaching minds in the league, and he deserves every dime the Oilers are paying him. Stability is a critical key to success in today's NHL, and I'm delighted the Oil will be guided by a steady hand for the next four years.

Labels: ,

Wednesday, June 14, 2006

Crossing my fingers

Well, tonight's the night - game 5 of the Stanley Cup Finals. The Oilers clearly are a team that's reeling. Take a look at the "smile" of Edmonton Head Coach Craig MacTavish, and that tells you all you need to know.

I was just telling Vandra today - these playoffs have been so much fun, I just hope the Oilers can extend it for at least one more game, because I don't want it to end. If the Oilers can win this one and kick it back to Edmonton, anything can happen in this series. One thing's for sure - if the Oilers don't get their offense going, it's over tonight. I hope MacT makes some lineup changes - Georges Laraque needs to sit - get a fireplug out there on the 4th line. Considering all of the postgame press conferences that I watched, I think the team is loose and taking it one game at a time.

The Oilers have played pressure hockey for the better part of the last three months, and they were one of the best road teams in the NHL during the regular season. They've been counted out more times than a Hulk Hogan opponent, so I think they have a shot.

The man below will make a big difference in the series tonight. It's all up to you, big Chris!

Go Oilers! I still believe, but I'm a nervous wreck!

Labels: , , ,