Fighting the War on Error

"You measure a democracy by the freedom it gives its dissidents, not the freedom it gives its assimilated conformists."
- Political & Social Activist Abbie Hoffman (1936-1989)

Friday, July 13, 2007

Crazy NHL offseason continues

It's been one of the nuttiest NHL offseasons in recent memory, and it hasn't been all roses for my Edmonton Oilers. Their biggest move this summer was snagging blueliner Joni Pitkänen, but it cost them dearly - their captain Jason Smith (above) and promising winger Joffrey Lupul, whom the Oilers acquired in the Chris Pronger deal.

It was awfully tough seeing Smith holding up a Flyer jersey yesterday, but it will be sweet if Pitkänen turns into the blueliner some feel he'll be (including the Oilers).

Yesterday the Oilers also finally signed a free agent of note, inking Sheldon Souray to a five-year deal. That ought to shut up the Edmonton haters for about 15 minutes.

Too bad Oiler GM Kevin Lowe couldn't hold on to Buffalo Sabre forward Thomas Vanek, whom he signed to a seven-year, $50 million contract. The Sabres immediately cried foul and matched the offer. Lowe was right about the Sabres' response, though - "rather juvenile." Sabres big wigs were quoted as saying that they would target as many Edmonton Oiler restricted free agents as possible in the coming months, but no other teams' RFAs. That's idiotic, but quite frankly, considering the price of signing away another team's RFA is four first round draft picks, I'd gladly see the Oilers refuse to match, thereby stockpiling first rounders.

Anyway, I think the whole "gentleman's agreement" that supposedly exists in the NHL among league GMs to not sign other team's RFAs is total b.s. Why have restricted free agency, then? Lowe was operating within the rules, and he was trying to better his team. He's been left at the altar too many times during this summer's free agency, and he wanted to make a big splash. Something tells me he's not done yet.

Things here in Philly have been hot and heavy, too. The Flyers have added Martin Biron, Scott Hartnell, Kimmo Timonen and Scottie Upshall, in addition to resigning goalie Antero Niittymaki. With Niiittymaki and Biron, the Flyers have a very good tandem in goal. Philly GM Paul Holmgren has got to be an early favorite for NHL Exec of the Year if Philly makes the playoffs and goes deep, but I know it's very early to be writing that. The Flyers should make the playoffs, but I don't think they are serious Cup contenders yet, though. The biggest reason? They play in the same division as the mighty New York Rangers.

And those Rangers have made some pretty big noise in free agency, signing Scott Gomez away from the Devils and Chris Drury from Buffalo. Barring injury or disaster, the Rangers have got to be the odds-on favorite to win the division and advance deep in the playoffs.

Out west, things haven't gotten any easier for the Oilers' competition. The rich have gotten richer, mostly. The Avalanche signed Ryan Smyth, the former Oiler who should still be an Oiler, and Anaheim, the defending Cup Champs, snagged dirtbag Todd Bertuzzi.

I just hope the Oilers make the playoffs and do some damage this year, but the odds of that happening with the current crop of forwards isn't that great. Kevin Lowe needs to do more deals. But, I'm still optimistic for the future, even if this season doesn't pan out - the potential 2008 free agent crop is rich with stars, and the '08 draft is projected to be the best in years, too.

Baseball, shmaseball. I can't wait for the puck to drop.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Friday, June 01, 2007

Finally, something to cheer about in hockey

I'll admit it - I've gone from Cup Crazy to Cup Lazy in less than 12 months. When you're looking forward to the draft more than the playoffs, that's when you know your team is bottom feeding.

I guess that's what happens when your favorite hockey team goes from the penthouse, the Stanley Cup Finals, to the outhouse, missing the playoffs, in nine short months. I haven't had much to cheer about this hockey season. My Edmonton Oilers did not make the playoffs, and I'm still in mourning. I haven't watched this few playoff games since I've been an NHL fan. I love hockey, and it will always be my favorite sport, but this season was such a letdown, I just haven't been able to shake the disappointment.

But, I'm wakin' up - it's Stanley Cup Finals time. Even though two teams are in the finals that I don't have any rooting interest in, I have to confess that I'm rooting for the Ottawa Senators. I will go to my grave believing that just about any Canadian city would appreciate a Stanley Cup more than an American city. There are plenty of fantastic hockey cities in America - I live in one, Philadelphia. In addition to Philly, Boston, Chicago, Detroit and New York (especially New York) have all gone nuts in the past and will go nuts again when their teams win the Stanley Cup. But, in America, it's a city rooting for a team to win. In Canada, a nation roots for a team when a Canadian team makes it to the finals, as Edmonton did last season and Ottawa has this season.

Anyway, I was rooting for the Anaheim Ducks to get to the finals. Just to get there - not to win it, because of the departed, despised defenseman Chris Pronger. Because the Ducks have made it to the finals, Edmonton gets Anaheim's first-round draft pick next season to complete the Pronger trade. That's huge. How huge?

The Oilers now have five first-round draft picks over the next two seasons. The next two drafts will make or break Edmonton for the next decade. If Oilers GM Kevin Lowe and his staff snag 2-3 blue chippers and a few great role players, they will be in the finals again sooner rather than later.

Edmonton needs lots of rebuilding after last season's disaster, so hopefully Lowe makes the most of what's coming to the Oilers.

As for the finals, Anaheim is firmly in control. After a 1-0 victory the other night, they Ducks are up 2-0 in the best-of-seven series. (At left, Sens goalie Ray Emery spits in disgust after giving up the winning goal in game 2.) Tomorrow night's game is hyper-crucial to Ottawa's chances. It's stating the obvious by saying that if the Sens lose tomorrow night, it's all over but the cryin'.

Even though I'm rooting for the Sens, it will be cool to see the Ducks win the Stanley Cup, too. Since the Ducks were founded in 1993, the team has never hoisted the Cup, and it's always good for hockey when a team wins its first Cup. Plus, our friend Eel and his daughters are big Ducks fans out in Southern California, and I'm quite certain they would be more than overjoyed.

As for me, well, I'm watching the finals, but I'm waiting for free agency and the draft. That's pretty pathetic as an Oilers fan.

Sigh. Well, there's always next year.

Labels: , , , , , , ,

Sunday, April 08, 2007

Thank GOD it's over

My Edmonton Oilers' season came to a merciful end last night on a positive note - a 3-2 win over their arch-rival Calgary Flames. (Above, Oilers defenseman Brad Winchester decks the Flames' Mark Giordano last night.)

But, even a victory this season seems to always get the stuffing knocked out of it. The Oilers had a chance to deal the Flames' playoff chances a big blow with a loss. They accomplished that, but since Colorado lost last night, the Flames clinched anyway. Calgary knew before the third period, and I think that is why there was a bit of a letdown on the part of the Flames in the final 20 minutes.

This has been the worst hockey season for me in at least 15 years, and arguably ever, after the most awesome sports feeling in the world last season - seeing my team play in the Stanley Cup Finals.

Oh well, I welcome the offseason with open arms, especially considering the team went an appalling 2-17-1 in its final 20 games. During that stretch, Edmonton was 4-for-67 on the power play.

It's time for some changes in Edmonton, and by that I DON'T mean GM Kevin Lowe or Head Coach Craig MacTavish, but some of these assistant coaches might have to go. These guys know the team and hockey infinitely better than I do, but from my chair, when you score four goals in your final 67 power plays, something is wrong.

To be fair, the team lost its spiritual leader at the trade deadline, Ryan Smyth, and that had a big blow on the club. And the injuries this year were the worst I can ever remember for the Oilers, and I've been following this team for a quarter century.

Oh well, a fresh start is on the way, and I hope some help in free agency. Naturally, the team damaged its chances of getting into the draft lottery with the win last night. I have to root for Chicago to win today; the lowest five teams all have a shot at the number one pick in the draft. If Chicago loses, Edmonton will have the sixth worst record. C'mon, Dallas Stars - kick the stuffing out of the Blackhawks.

Things weren't much better here in Philadelphia - the Flyers finished with their worst record in their 40-year history. So, I'm not the only one in the land of pretzels and cheese steaks who is glad this season is over.

What a bizarre season: The two Stanley Cup Finalists from last season missed the postseason (Carolina, the defending Cup champs, also didn't make it); the Oilers swan dive; the disaster in Philly; and Devils goalie Martin Brodeur breaking the record for wins in a season, getting his 48th against the Flyers last week, which broke the 33-year-old record ironically held by Bernie Parent of Flyers fame. Vancouver's Roberto Luongo can get a share of the record today if he can lead the Canucks past the Coyotes. (Luongo - the goalie the Oilers declined to pursue via free agency or trade. Great.)

Phew! I'm glad it's over.

Now, bring on football - my Dallas Cowboys have some disappointing to do.

Photo from AP

Labels: , , , , , , , ,

Monday, March 05, 2007

Oilers: slackers not allowed; Really?!?

I just read a piece tonight on The Sporting News' Canadian site about the state of the Oilers. I didn't need to read the piece to get that answer; all I needed to do was take a quick glance at the NHL standings to get a quick assessment of how big of a failure this campaign has been. The worst one in years.

Disaster.

I'm really trying not to dwell on it, though; I don't intend to write much about the Oilers until training camp, but it's hard this time of the year to not have your hockey team to root for. They lost to Calgary, their arch-rivals, on Saturday, and I never even turned on the game. Those of you who know me or who have read CMB know that's a pretty big deal.

But, this season's train wreck has had a pretty dramatic, disheartening effect on me sports-wise. I can't help but repeat it for the millionth time - they were 60 minutes away from the Cup.

Anyway, the bottom line and tone of the story was that Edmonton Head Coach Craig MacTavish (above) won't put up with any slacking from players during the team's final 16 meaningless games.

Wow - great news! The Oilers aren't going to put up with any players taking shifts/nights off on the nice!

No better time than the present, fellas.

This is a dangerous time for the Oilers. A few bad seasons, and the franchise is in jeopardy again and could move to a hockey hotbed like Las Vegas or Portland, Oregon.

I do support MacTavish and GM Kevin Lowe - these guys, both former Oiler greats as players, have both done a reasonably good job the last four years. But, it's going to be a critical offseason for them. They need to restore confidence in the city, the players, and maybe themselves, too.

I just want to be excited about my hockey team again. Sixteen years and counting since the last Oiler Stanley Cup. I sit, brood and wait, but it could be worse - I could be a Philly fan - 24 years and counting since the city has seen a championship in any of its four major professional sports teams, and 32 since the Flyers last hoisted the silver mug.

It's just one season, but I sure can't take another one like this one.

Labels: , , , ,

Thursday, March 01, 2007

It can be painful to be a hockey fan

I've been trying to limit my number of hockey posts this season because this isn't a hockey blog, but also because I do realize that it interests probably very few people, and the fact that I follow the Edmonton Oilers probably interests even fewer people. It hasn't been hard to not write much about hockey this season though, because it's been a lousy season for my favorite hockey team. What a letdown after going all the way to the Stanley Cup Finals last season.

Sorry for the extensive hockey posts, but a few big events happened the day before yesterday that pretty much rocked my "hockey world." I would have blogged about it sooner had I not been so angry about it. Sometimes, when I'm angry, my writing is profane, mean-spirited and short-sighted, so I thought it best to let it cool down first.

Anyway, what should have been one amazing day for the Edmonton Oilers and their fans, the retirement of Mark Messier's number, turned out to be, as the Edmonton Sun called it yesterday morning, a sidebar story.

On Tuesday, 20 minutes before the trade deadline at 3 p.m. EST, the Oilers traded away their best player and leading scorer this season, Ryan Smyth, to the New York Islanders for a first-round draft pick, Ryan O'Marra and Robert Nilsson, both also first round picks. (Above, Smyth speaks with reporters at Edmonton International Airport yesterday before flying to meet his new team, the New York Islanders. It's a dramatic reversal of fortunes for the Oilers, who at the trading deadline last year brought in players that ultimately made all the difference in the world. Edmonton went all the way to the Stanley Cup Finals, and came within one win of capturing the team's sixth Stanley Cup.

Fast forward to one year later - no deals to bolster the team at all, and now Oil fans have to bid adieu to the longest-tenured Oiler on the roster. Most damning of all, I read in the Edmonton Sun this morning that the difference between the two sides was $100,000! That seems like a lot of money, but not when you're talking about $5.4 million per year. It's absurd that the two sides couldn't figure out a way to get the deal done.

The only positive I can think of is that Smyth is an unrestricted free agent at the end of this season, and there's always a chance he could end up back in Edmonton, but I doubt it. When there are 30 teams bidding for your services, the price is going to go up, not remain static.

I have no doubt that the trade was tough on Oiler GM Kevin Lowe (above), who appeared very emotional at the press conference announcing the deal. But, guess what? We're all emotional as fans in bidding goodbye to a cornerstone of the team.

Without question, the team is going to miss Smyth's grit, leadership and tough goals in front of the net. No one in the entire NHL drives the net like Smyth does. How do you replace 31 goals per year on an offensively starved team? It won't be easy.

This is a picture from the end of last season, when Smyth was leaving Rexall Place for the summer with his daughter. But, it certainly is apropos now, too.

So long, warrior. I sure hope to see you in Oiler silks again some day.

Last year's Stanley Cup Finals seem like a million miles away now. Maybe if I live to be 80, I'll live to see the Oilers win another Stanley Cup. They aren't too close this morning.

Labels: , , ,

Tuesday, February 27, 2007

A big NHL day, but Messier is my highlight

What a difference a year makes. Last year, on the day of the NHL trading deadline, I was excited beyond words, because I just knew my Edmonton Oilers were going to do something. This year, the team is much worse, and it's not at all a foregone conclusion that the Oilers will do anything to make this team better in the short term, and more importantly, to make the playoffs.

Right now, Edmonton has to be as much of a long shot to make the postseason as Al Gore is to enter the presidential race. It's huge letdown for me. I'm hoping against hope that Oiler GM Kevin Lowe does something to shoot this team in the butt, but this team has the look and feel of next year's team.

More importantly today, the Oilers might move #94, Left Winger Ryan Smyth. He's been an Oiler for over a decade, and if they don't get the feeling they can resign him, they will trade him today, since he becomes an unrestricted free agent at the end of the season. It will be a sad day indeed if that happens.

Tonight might be one of the few bright spots this season for any long-time Oiler fan. Tonight, the Oilers honor one of the greatest players in NHL history, their former captain, #11, Mark Messier.

Yesterday, it was the City of Edmonton's turn...

Messier, an Edmonton native, had a street named in his honor, Mark Messier Trail. Cool.

Many former Oiler greats are in the city this week to honor Mess, including Paul Coffey (above). I have a special place in my heart for all of those Oilers from the 80s, but for my money, with a tip of the cap to Ray Bourque, Coffey was the best defenseman I've ever seen play the game.

I'll feel the same way tonight, Mess. Watching his #11 being raised to the rafters will be truly emotional for me. I always feel a little bit older seeing these. I don't get moved to tears very often when watching sports - championships (or lost ones) and number retirements are a few of those times. I wept when I watched Wayne Gretzky's last game in 1999. Tonight, I will undoubtedly weep again.

Lots more on the NHL trading deadline and Messier later tonight and tomorrow.

Labels: , , , , , , ,

Thursday, July 06, 2006

A big trade, & other NHL thoughts


I've given up on promising not to talk hockey for any length of time - it's just not possible, but summer will be the lean months. However, the league has seen a flurry of activity this week, and I had to discuss a few notable happenings.

Well, the Oilers finally were forced to do the inevitable on Monday, trading Chris Pronger to the Anaheim Ducks for Joffrey Lupul, Ladislav Smid, a first round pick in '07, a second rounder in '08, and a conditional first rounder. More on that in a minute.

First, I'd like to pay tribute to one of the greatest team captains in sporting history, the Detroit Red Wings' Steve Yzerman. (Pictured above walking off the ice for the last time following the Wings elimination in this year's playoffs at the hands of my Edmonton Oilers on May 1, 2006.)

Stevie Y announced his retirement this week, and it's certainly the end of an era in Hockeytown and for all of hockey. What a class act, what a warrior. After 22 seasons as a Red Wing, Yzerman has decided to hang up his skates, no doubt tired of all of the recent rehabbing he's had to endure on his balky knees. He will be a first-ballot hall of famer, taking his place along side other legendary hockey captains such as Messier, Gretzky, Howe, Bourque, Clarke, Esposito and Orr. He ends his career a one-team man; the Wings jersey is the only one he will ever wear - a rare feat in today's sporting world. Even rarer still - he holds the record as the longest-tenured captain in North American sports history - over two decades with the "C" on the front of his sweater. I'm just glad he didn't end up as one of the greats without a championship ring on his finger - he's got a couple well-deserved rocks from some great Wings teams. Bravo, Stevie Y, bravo. You will be missed.

On to the trade I've been dreading for weeks. What a tremendous disappointment. I was just coming down off of the high of having seen in person two of the Oilers Stanley Cup Finals games in Carolina. It was a disappointment that they didn't get it done, but it was a remarkable and unexpected run. Immediately after the series was over, I rushed to the Poconos to be with my dying grandmother. I'm gone for about five days, I come home, and the first thing I read when I boot up my computer is that one of the league's top three defensemen, Chris Pronger, wants out of Edmonton. Ouch.

Anyway, Pronger (above) is gone, and I'm not quite as disturbed about his departure as I thought I would be. It's heartbreaking and a huge hole to fill, but the Oilers didn't do all that badly in this trade. First, a congrats to my friend Eel and his daughters, avid Anaheim fans who no doubt are salivating at the prospect of having the top defensive duo in the league in Pronger and Scott Niedermayer. They should be excited - next year could be Anaheim's turn to parade Stanley around the ice. Later, Pronger. I'm over you. This was a tough trade to swallow, but the Gretzky trade it ain't.

Anyway, a few words on the new Oilers. Give it a year or two, and both could be studs, and could potentially be parading Stanley around the ice in June.

Here's TSN's take on Joffrey Lupul: First line winger. Has a goal-scorer's mentality, creative instincts and unlimited offensive potential. He can line up either on the wing or at center.

Oh yea, baby, I like the sound of that. If healthy and surrounded with talent (and right now both are a big yes), he has 40-to-50-goal scorer written all over him. And at 22, he's a baby in the sporting world. Bonus - he's Edmonton born, so he won't be whining and complaining about the city like Pronger and his wife did.

I'm even more excited about Ladislav Smid, pictured above as a member of Portland in the AHL this season. Here's his Scouting Report: The son of famous Czech Extraleague and international defender, Ladislav Sr., has been widely regarded as the top 1986-born defenseman prospect in his country. Smid is a rare combination of size, skill, and smarts found in so few defensemen. Was impressive at the recent 2004 IIHF World U-18 Championships while helping to lead the Czechs to a solid third-place finish while earning a spot on the tournament's All-Star team. Talent-wise, Smid instantly catches your attention with his tall frame, smooth powerful skating, crisp accurate passing, and excellent puck control. Defensively, Smid is more of a finesse defenseman that uses smart positioning and ability to read the play, rather than punishing physical play.

NHL Potential: Power play quarterback with plenty of offensive upside. Could pan out big time for a team with patience.

Again, me likes. And Smid's only 20. He could turn out to be every bit the defenseman Pronger is, and he's 11 years younger. Hollah!

Anyway, there are holes to fill on the blueline now, but today the Oilers started addressing their most glaring problem by signing Daniel Tjarnqvist to a one-year deal. It's a start, but Kevin Lowe has plenty of work to do. But, he's got my confidence after the just completed cup run. I know he's got a plan.

Locally, the Flyers seem to be in disarray and haven't done much, save signing R.J. Umberger, and goalie Antero Niittymaki. I hear Peter Forsberg may not even play next season, and that will just be brutal to Flyers fans if that doesn't happen. The best case scenario I heard a few weeks ago was January, and now that's even in doubt. The Flies are my second favorite hockey team (hockey is the only sport where I follow two teams - that's how much I love hockey. But, Philly will always be a distant second to Edmonton), and I hope to see Philly do well, but they look to have many problems. At least with Forsberg out, I won't have to listen to the three-headed jackass that is the Flyers broadcasting trio of Jim Jackson, Steve Coates and Gary Dornhoffer blabber on and on about Forsberg being "the best player in the world." Not if he can't put skates on, boys.

One of the biggest priorities in town is signing left wing Simon Gagne, who didn't file for arbitration. "We want a long-term contract and the Flyers want a long-term contract," Gagne told the Philly Inquirer. "We started talking last week, and hopefully we will find a solution."

Bob Sauve, Gagne's agent, rejected the Flyers' initial four-year proposal last week and countered with his own. Gagne is asking for about $5 mil per. He'll get it, unless Bob Clarke and Ed Snider have lots their minds. But, with Forsberg out, Gagne is a must-sign.

I miss hockey already, but football is right around the corner, and the Red Sox are doing well.

Labels: , , , , , , , , ,