Fighting the War on Error

"You measure a democracy by the freedom it gives its dissidents, not the freedom it gives its assimilated conformists."
- Political & Social Activist Abbie Hoffman (1936-1989)

Monday, October 13, 2008

You just have to love Philly fans...


I referred to this prior to the weekend, and now there's video. Ed Snider, the right-wing owner of the Philadelphia Flyers, thought it would be a good idea to have Sarah Palin drop the puck for his team's home opener. Let's just say that it didn't exactly go as planned. I hear quite a few boos in this video, and numerous reports from the game, including one by the NY Times, described the boos as "almost deafening" and "resounding."

What's worse, her strategy of bringing her daughter as a human shield to insulate against booing backfired, too:
A carpet was laid down and Palin, dressed in a beige trench, walked on to the ice joined by her daughters Willow and Piper. The GOP Vice-Presidential nominee said at an earlier fundraiser that she would stop some of the booing from the rowdy Philadelphia fans by putting her seven year old daughter, Piper, in a Flyers jersey. She said, "How dare they boo Piper!"
I think the proper observation would be, "How dare a parent put her daughter in that position?" I'm not a parent, and I'm normally loathe to criticize a parent for decisions they make, but it's a safe bet to say that this was a bad parenting decision, to say the least.


The best part was yet to come, though - our official State TV, Faux News, offered up its predictable spin...


Of course, Faux News was virtually obligated to try and spin Palin's bomb on the ice, so edit the tape they did. Draw your own conclusions. But, Fox is getting so bad, I'm really beginning to think that people who actually have the temerity to think the "network" is Fair and Balanced seriously have something wrong with them. For that matter, people who take at face value anything they hear on any of the corporate news channels in America are doing themselves an incredible disservice, at best.

Ed Snider more than deserves scorn for introducing politics into a sporting event. (By the way, drop Snider a line Here with your comment about his decision to inject his politics into hockey.) I've said it before, and I'll say it again - when I watch sports, I want to forget about politics and enjoy myself. NBC's decision to have Keith Olbermann on its Football Night in America, as well as ESPN's decision to hire Rush Limbaugh, were both mistakes. I write this even though I agree in most instances with Olbermann's political opinions, I don't think it's appropriate to put him on a football show.

I also found it funny that Snider would have the stupidity to feature Palin for a pregame show in a heavily Democratic city in a building named after a bank in the middle of a financial crisis precipitated in a number of ways by irresponsible banking.

Well played, Snider.

And bad parenting choice, Hockey Mom.

(By the way, pretty funny that the Flyers introduced her as a "hockey mom" and not the GOP vice presidential nominee.)

Labels: , ,

Sunday, May 18, 2008

Flyers out, but future looks bright

This t-shirt about sums it up - the Flyers got scorched today, 6-0, by the Pittsburgh Penguins, ending their magical playoff run. However, this team has absolutely nothing to be ashamed of; there are probably very few Flyers fans who could honestly say they expected the team to go all the way to the Eastern Conference Finals after the abysmal season they had last year. This team has come very far, very fast, and next year, they could be serious contenders to sip from the cup. Cool.

I have to admit, the Flyers aren't the team I'm loyal to - that's the Edmonton Oilers (and no, I don't feel like explaining it just now), but I always root for the Flyers to do well, especially since I'm so fond of the team's captain - Jason Smith, a truly classy hockey player, and a good captain (and a former Oilers captain to boot - the longest serving in team history). Since the Oilers made such strides this year, too, I'm seriously rooting for a Philadelphia / Edmonton Stanley Cup Final, which would be the third between the two teams, and the first since 1987. Now THAT would be something to see.

Five more months until hockey season begins again, but who's counting?

On to the Stanley Cup Finals - I like the Pens, no matter who they face. I think this team can beat either the Stars or the Red Wings. We'll find out soon enough. Hey, at least the despised Anaheim Ducks didn't make it. From champs to chumps in one year. Boo Hoo.

Labels: , , ,

Tuesday, October 02, 2007

The NHL Season: fearless predictions

The Edmonton Oilers have a new captain, and I couldn't be happier. The choice was obvious - Ethan Moreau (above left, shaking hands with Oilers head coach and former captain Craig MacTavish). The Oil is in good hands with this guy - he's tough as nails, and he missed 78 games last season, when he was sorely missed on the penalty kill.

Personally, I'm getting a pretty big kick out of the preseason predictions about my Oilers. Here's a quick sample...

From Kevin Allen of USA Today...
Teams that could slip in the standings: 1. Edmonton Oilers. 2. New Jersey Devils. 3. New York Islanders.

[Snip]

Teams that could be in the hunt for the No. 1 pick: 1. Coyotes. 2. Oilers. 3. Boston Bruins.
And here's ESPN.com's John Buccigross, who I normally respect and often agree with. However, this is an excerpt from Bucci's thoughts on how the Oilers will do this season...
The Oilers have 16 centers in camp, no bona fide No. 1 guy and a hodgepodge of parts from a scrambling summer. It's like a post-1970s Manilow album. There are no hits on this CD. They do have players with something to prove and a nice crop of young players with talent who they can choose to go with; but, boy, if they keep playing that same old Edmonton style with young players, they will get run out of the building on most nights. They still have good character guys and a decent amount of leadership. Unexpected blooming from Hemsky and others could move them up a notch in the expectation department.

But it appears they just can't score enough. Souray can fire a slap shot across Alberta and he will stand up for his teammates, but he's not exactly Nicklas Lidstrom in his own end. It will take 40-45 wins to make the playoffs in the West. That seems like a bit much for the Oilers, who appear destined to be a lottery team without a lottery pick. Ouch, babe.
In ESPN's preseason power rankings...
GM Kevin Lowe sent us a $180 million offer sheet to get us to put his Oilers in the top 20 of the rankings, but we didn't bite. Dustin Penner and Sheldon Souray are not Ryan Smyth and Jason Smith. The only thing that could cure Oil Nation's pain is beer, fried dill pickles and more beer.
I love it - underestimating the Oil again. I'm not under the assumption that they'll win the Stanley Cup, but I've read predictions that the Oilers will finish anywhere from 12th in the west to being in the running for the lottery pick.

In a word: Bullshit.

I fondly remember the 2005-2006 season, when everyone predicted that the Oilers would miss the playoffs, and that was with the players that everyone is writing Edmonton misses so much - Ryan Smyth, Jason Smith and Chris Pronger. The Oilers do miss those players, but it's not the death of the franchise that they aren't on the roster. It amazes me that sports writers never seem to be wrong. Well, clip and save the comments above about the Oilers, and we'll see who's right. Oh, and clip and save the ones below, too, because here are my fearless predictions about the coming season...

Division Winners
Eastern Conference
Northeast: Ottawa
Atlantic: NY Rangers
Southeast: Atlanta

Western Conference
Central: Detroit
Northwest: Edmonton
Pacific: San Jose Sharks

Conference Finalists
East: NY Rangers over Pittsburgh
West: Detroit over San Jose

Stanley Cup Winner: Detroit Red Wings

Award Winners
Jack Adams Winner (Coach of the Year): Ron Wilson, Sharks
Art Ross Trophy (Scoring Champion): Sidney Crosby, Penguins
Hart Trophy (NHL MVP): Sidney Crosby, Penguins
Vezina Trophy (Best Goaltender): Henrik Lundqvist, Rangers
Conn Smyth Trophy (Playoff MVP): Nicklas Lidstrom, Red Wings
Norris Trophy (Best Defenseman): Joni Pitkannen, Oilers

Oh, and those Oilers? They will make the playoffs in the west, and may even get into the second round.

I'm confident of this because of Oilers GM Kevin Lowe, who won't hesitate to make a deal to improve the team if it stumbles early, including a stable of defensemen to peddle as trade bait that he didn't have last year.

Locally, the Flyers will be in good hands; the team yesterday named former Oiler captain Jason Smith as their captain. The Flyers will be much improved and will almost certainly make the playoffs, but the bad news is that the Flyers play in the Atlantic, where the Rangers and Pens play.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to the puck dropping - it's been a long wait, especially after Edmonton's disastrous 2006-2007 season.

Go Oilers!

Labels: , , , ,

Friday, July 13, 2007

Crazy NHL offseason continues

It's been one of the nuttiest NHL offseasons in recent memory, and it hasn't been all roses for my Edmonton Oilers. Their biggest move this summer was snagging blueliner Joni Pitkänen, but it cost them dearly - their captain Jason Smith (above) and promising winger Joffrey Lupul, whom the Oilers acquired in the Chris Pronger deal.

It was awfully tough seeing Smith holding up a Flyer jersey yesterday, but it will be sweet if Pitkänen turns into the blueliner some feel he'll be (including the Oilers).

Yesterday the Oilers also finally signed a free agent of note, inking Sheldon Souray to a five-year deal. That ought to shut up the Edmonton haters for about 15 minutes.

Too bad Oiler GM Kevin Lowe couldn't hold on to Buffalo Sabre forward Thomas Vanek, whom he signed to a seven-year, $50 million contract. The Sabres immediately cried foul and matched the offer. Lowe was right about the Sabres' response, though - "rather juvenile." Sabres big wigs were quoted as saying that they would target as many Edmonton Oiler restricted free agents as possible in the coming months, but no other teams' RFAs. That's idiotic, but quite frankly, considering the price of signing away another team's RFA is four first round draft picks, I'd gladly see the Oilers refuse to match, thereby stockpiling first rounders.

Anyway, I think the whole "gentleman's agreement" that supposedly exists in the NHL among league GMs to not sign other team's RFAs is total b.s. Why have restricted free agency, then? Lowe was operating within the rules, and he was trying to better his team. He's been left at the altar too many times during this summer's free agency, and he wanted to make a big splash. Something tells me he's not done yet.

Things here in Philly have been hot and heavy, too. The Flyers have added Martin Biron, Scott Hartnell, Kimmo Timonen and Scottie Upshall, in addition to resigning goalie Antero Niittymaki. With Niiittymaki and Biron, the Flyers have a very good tandem in goal. Philly GM Paul Holmgren has got to be an early favorite for NHL Exec of the Year if Philly makes the playoffs and goes deep, but I know it's very early to be writing that. The Flyers should make the playoffs, but I don't think they are serious Cup contenders yet, though. The biggest reason? They play in the same division as the mighty New York Rangers.

And those Rangers have made some pretty big noise in free agency, signing Scott Gomez away from the Devils and Chris Drury from Buffalo. Barring injury or disaster, the Rangers have got to be the odds-on favorite to win the division and advance deep in the playoffs.

Out west, things haven't gotten any easier for the Oilers' competition. The rich have gotten richer, mostly. The Avalanche signed Ryan Smyth, the former Oiler who should still be an Oiler, and Anaheim, the defending Cup Champs, snagged dirtbag Todd Bertuzzi.

I just hope the Oilers make the playoffs and do some damage this year, but the odds of that happening with the current crop of forwards isn't that great. Kevin Lowe needs to do more deals. But, I'm still optimistic for the future, even if this season doesn't pan out - the potential 2008 free agent crop is rich with stars, and the '08 draft is projected to be the best in years, too.

Baseball, shmaseball. I can't wait for the puck to drop.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sunday, June 03, 2007

NHL right in suspending Pronger

Maybe it really IS the New NHL.

In light of Ducks D Chris Pronger's cheap shot elbow to Senators LW Dean McAmmond (below, knocked silly on the ice) on Saturday night, Colin Campbell, the NHL's Senior Vice President and Director of Hockey Operations, sat Chris Pronger (above) for Monday's game four of the Stanley Cup Finals.

This never would have happened 10 years ago, and definitely not in the 1980s. I can still remember Philadelphia Flyer G Ron Hextall taking a baseball-bat swing at Oiler C Kent Nilsson in the 1987 finals; he was subsequently suspended for multiple games to start the next season. Anyway, I digress - there are numerous examples throughout the 1980s and even the early-to-mid 1990s where players would commit blatant penalties with intent to injure, knowing that they wouldn't get suspended for playoff games by a spineless league.

So, arguably the best blue liner in the game, and definitely in this series, will have to sit down tomorrow night. That's a big minus for the Ducks. Even if McAmmond can't go for the Sens, and it's looking like he won't with a nasty concussion, Ottawa still wins this trade-off. I'm sure McAmmond would have rather weakened the Ducks another way, but Ottawa has got to be favored tomorrow night.

Not only was Pronger's hit a cheap one, but his explanation was equally as cheap, when asked if he could change the way he plays the game:
"I don't think I can, for me to be the type of player I can be," Pronger said. "Obviously, it's a fine line and getting finer every year, and we have to make subtle adjustments. But I don't think I can make wholesale changes and still be the type of player I can be."
What a load. There are plenty of players his size in the game who don't have to play with their elbows and sticks.

As ESPN's Scott Burnside so succinctly points out in a column early today, there are a number of players Pronger's size or larger who don't have to resort to the on-ice tactics Pronger is becoming known for:
Look around the league. Zdeno Chara, all 6-foot-9 of him, was a recent Norris Trophy nominee, but he doesn't resort to the kinds of behavior that has marked Pronger's play. Neither did Larry Robinson, perhaps the greatest big-man defensemen of all time.
Stick that, Pronger.

What's worse about his behavior was his noted lack of remorse, at least publicly:
"I don't think there's any apologies that need to be made. I think they understand how I feel and the situation we're in. I don't think that's going to do anybody any good in our locker room. We need to look forward and look toward building toward Game 4 and getting better."
McAmmond, for his part, feels the hit was less than legit:
"I think it should have been a suspension because it was a blow to the head," McAmmond said in a statement. "It wasn't incidental. It's not like that couldn't have been avoided."
Monday's game should be a good one.

Go Sens.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sunday, April 08, 2007

Thank GOD it's over

My Edmonton Oilers' season came to a merciful end last night on a positive note - a 3-2 win over their arch-rival Calgary Flames. (Above, Oilers defenseman Brad Winchester decks the Flames' Mark Giordano last night.)

But, even a victory this season seems to always get the stuffing knocked out of it. The Oilers had a chance to deal the Flames' playoff chances a big blow with a loss. They accomplished that, but since Colorado lost last night, the Flames clinched anyway. Calgary knew before the third period, and I think that is why there was a bit of a letdown on the part of the Flames in the final 20 minutes.

This has been the worst hockey season for me in at least 15 years, and arguably ever, after the most awesome sports feeling in the world last season - seeing my team play in the Stanley Cup Finals.

Oh well, I welcome the offseason with open arms, especially considering the team went an appalling 2-17-1 in its final 20 games. During that stretch, Edmonton was 4-for-67 on the power play.

It's time for some changes in Edmonton, and by that I DON'T mean GM Kevin Lowe or Head Coach Craig MacTavish, but some of these assistant coaches might have to go. These guys know the team and hockey infinitely better than I do, but from my chair, when you score four goals in your final 67 power plays, something is wrong.

To be fair, the team lost its spiritual leader at the trade deadline, Ryan Smyth, and that had a big blow on the club. And the injuries this year were the worst I can ever remember for the Oilers, and I've been following this team for a quarter century.

Oh well, a fresh start is on the way, and I hope some help in free agency. Naturally, the team damaged its chances of getting into the draft lottery with the win last night. I have to root for Chicago to win today; the lowest five teams all have a shot at the number one pick in the draft. If Chicago loses, Edmonton will have the sixth worst record. C'mon, Dallas Stars - kick the stuffing out of the Blackhawks.

Things weren't much better here in Philadelphia - the Flyers finished with their worst record in their 40-year history. So, I'm not the only one in the land of pretzels and cheese steaks who is glad this season is over.

What a bizarre season: The two Stanley Cup Finalists from last season missed the postseason (Carolina, the defending Cup champs, also didn't make it); the Oilers swan dive; the disaster in Philly; and Devils goalie Martin Brodeur breaking the record for wins in a season, getting his 48th against the Flyers last week, which broke the 33-year-old record ironically held by Bernie Parent of Flyers fame. Vancouver's Roberto Luongo can get a share of the record today if he can lead the Canucks past the Coyotes. (Luongo - the goalie the Oilers declined to pursue via free agency or trade. Great.)

Phew! I'm glad it's over.

Now, bring on football - my Dallas Cowboys have some disappointing to do.

Photo from AP

Labels: , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, July 06, 2006

A big trade, & other NHL thoughts


I've given up on promising not to talk hockey for any length of time - it's just not possible, but summer will be the lean months. However, the league has seen a flurry of activity this week, and I had to discuss a few notable happenings.

Well, the Oilers finally were forced to do the inevitable on Monday, trading Chris Pronger to the Anaheim Ducks for Joffrey Lupul, Ladislav Smid, a first round pick in '07, a second rounder in '08, and a conditional first rounder. More on that in a minute.

First, I'd like to pay tribute to one of the greatest team captains in sporting history, the Detroit Red Wings' Steve Yzerman. (Pictured above walking off the ice for the last time following the Wings elimination in this year's playoffs at the hands of my Edmonton Oilers on May 1, 2006.)

Stevie Y announced his retirement this week, and it's certainly the end of an era in Hockeytown and for all of hockey. What a class act, what a warrior. After 22 seasons as a Red Wing, Yzerman has decided to hang up his skates, no doubt tired of all of the recent rehabbing he's had to endure on his balky knees. He will be a first-ballot hall of famer, taking his place along side other legendary hockey captains such as Messier, Gretzky, Howe, Bourque, Clarke, Esposito and Orr. He ends his career a one-team man; the Wings jersey is the only one he will ever wear - a rare feat in today's sporting world. Even rarer still - he holds the record as the longest-tenured captain in North American sports history - over two decades with the "C" on the front of his sweater. I'm just glad he didn't end up as one of the greats without a championship ring on his finger - he's got a couple well-deserved rocks from some great Wings teams. Bravo, Stevie Y, bravo. You will be missed.

On to the trade I've been dreading for weeks. What a tremendous disappointment. I was just coming down off of the high of having seen in person two of the Oilers Stanley Cup Finals games in Carolina. It was a disappointment that they didn't get it done, but it was a remarkable and unexpected run. Immediately after the series was over, I rushed to the Poconos to be with my dying grandmother. I'm gone for about five days, I come home, and the first thing I read when I boot up my computer is that one of the league's top three defensemen, Chris Pronger, wants out of Edmonton. Ouch.

Anyway, Pronger (above) is gone, and I'm not quite as disturbed about his departure as I thought I would be. It's heartbreaking and a huge hole to fill, but the Oilers didn't do all that badly in this trade. First, a congrats to my friend Eel and his daughters, avid Anaheim fans who no doubt are salivating at the prospect of having the top defensive duo in the league in Pronger and Scott Niedermayer. They should be excited - next year could be Anaheim's turn to parade Stanley around the ice. Later, Pronger. I'm over you. This was a tough trade to swallow, but the Gretzky trade it ain't.

Anyway, a few words on the new Oilers. Give it a year or two, and both could be studs, and could potentially be parading Stanley around the ice in June.

Here's TSN's take on Joffrey Lupul: First line winger. Has a goal-scorer's mentality, creative instincts and unlimited offensive potential. He can line up either on the wing or at center.

Oh yea, baby, I like the sound of that. If healthy and surrounded with talent (and right now both are a big yes), he has 40-to-50-goal scorer written all over him. And at 22, he's a baby in the sporting world. Bonus - he's Edmonton born, so he won't be whining and complaining about the city like Pronger and his wife did.

I'm even more excited about Ladislav Smid, pictured above as a member of Portland in the AHL this season. Here's his Scouting Report: The son of famous Czech Extraleague and international defender, Ladislav Sr., has been widely regarded as the top 1986-born defenseman prospect in his country. Smid is a rare combination of size, skill, and smarts found in so few defensemen. Was impressive at the recent 2004 IIHF World U-18 Championships while helping to lead the Czechs to a solid third-place finish while earning a spot on the tournament's All-Star team. Talent-wise, Smid instantly catches your attention with his tall frame, smooth powerful skating, crisp accurate passing, and excellent puck control. Defensively, Smid is more of a finesse defenseman that uses smart positioning and ability to read the play, rather than punishing physical play.

NHL Potential: Power play quarterback with plenty of offensive upside. Could pan out big time for a team with patience.

Again, me likes. And Smid's only 20. He could turn out to be every bit the defenseman Pronger is, and he's 11 years younger. Hollah!

Anyway, there are holes to fill on the blueline now, but today the Oilers started addressing their most glaring problem by signing Daniel Tjarnqvist to a one-year deal. It's a start, but Kevin Lowe has plenty of work to do. But, he's got my confidence after the just completed cup run. I know he's got a plan.

Locally, the Flyers seem to be in disarray and haven't done much, save signing R.J. Umberger, and goalie Antero Niittymaki. I hear Peter Forsberg may not even play next season, and that will just be brutal to Flyers fans if that doesn't happen. The best case scenario I heard a few weeks ago was January, and now that's even in doubt. The Flies are my second favorite hockey team (hockey is the only sport where I follow two teams - that's how much I love hockey. But, Philly will always be a distant second to Edmonton), and I hope to see Philly do well, but they look to have many problems. At least with Forsberg out, I won't have to listen to the three-headed jackass that is the Flyers broadcasting trio of Jim Jackson, Steve Coates and Gary Dornhoffer blabber on and on about Forsberg being "the best player in the world." Not if he can't put skates on, boys.

One of the biggest priorities in town is signing left wing Simon Gagne, who didn't file for arbitration. "We want a long-term contract and the Flyers want a long-term contract," Gagne told the Philly Inquirer. "We started talking last week, and hopefully we will find a solution."

Bob Sauve, Gagne's agent, rejected the Flyers' initial four-year proposal last week and countered with his own. Gagne is asking for about $5 mil per. He'll get it, unless Bob Clarke and Ed Snider have lots their minds. But, with Forsberg out, Gagne is a must-sign.

I miss hockey already, but football is right around the corner, and the Red Sox are doing well.

Labels: , , , , , , , , ,

Friday, May 05, 2006

The playoffs are set, & I feel good

Wow - it certainly looks good seeing Edmonton up on the second round chart for the first time in recent memory (since 1998, to be exact). I really like Edmonton's chances in the second round vs. the Sharks; the Oilers went 3-1 vs. San Jose during the regular season. To be honest, though, I'm not taking the Sharks lightly - this will be a long series, and it could certainly go either way. There are two players on the Oilers who will determine if they reach the conference finals or not - Oilers Goalie Dwayne Roloson (below left), and Edmonton Defenseman Chris Pronger (below right).

Pronger was an absolute beast on the ice in the first round, averaging over 37 minutes per game vs. Detroit. To say that he was the best player of the series on either team would be a wild understatement. He will be the Oilers' most important skater in this series. With the likes of Joe Thorton and Jonathan Cheechoo, he will have plenty to keep him busy.

Dwayne Roloson got Edmonton to the second round, no question. His very solid .929 save percentage in round one vs. the best team in the NHL during the regular season wildly exceeded most everyone's expectations, this Oiler maniac included. It's safe to say the Oilers will go as far as Roli the goalie can carry them. What I like about him is that he's consistently gotten better since he played his very first game in Oiler silks (ironically, a 5-2 loss vs. San Jose in March). He really found his mojo during the last 5-6 games of the regular season, and he didn't have one bad game in round one. That's critical in the playoffs. Nothing can kill momentum like a soft goal that kills a team's momentum, costing a team a game and maybe even the series. Philly fans, take note here. Quick aside: I'm still puzzled by Ken Hitchcock's decision to go with Esche for the playoffs. Clearly, Antero Niittymaki is the goalie of the future in Philadelphia.

So, on to my non-shocker series prediction: The Oilers in six. Hey, at least I'm in good company - many people are picking the Oilers to win this series, including espn.com's Scott Burnside.

I have to confess to being awfully disappointed that the Battle of Alberta didn't come to fruition. It's been 15 long years since the Oilers have faced their hated rival in the playoffs. Hopefully next year. Advancing deep in the playoffs is always just a little sweeter when the Oilers stampede Calgary. The Flames were up 3-2 in the series. They lost the deciding game in the Saddledome, where they were all but invincible during the regular season. Well, at least we know what the "C" stands for on a Calgary jersey...

Labels: , , ,

Tuesday, May 02, 2006

Philly got slapped silly


That was a sad-sack effort by the Flyers last night. I was actually bored by the middle of the second period and shifted over to the Canadians game. What a letdown. I really expected the Flyers to come out swinging and to force the series back to Buffalo for a game 7. This series wasn't even as close as the results would suggest - three of Philly's losses were substantial - one shutout and two blowouts.

Probably the most frustrating thing for Flyer fans at the end of the day is that it doesn't seem too ridiculously easy to figure out what went wrong. The goaltending appeared shaky at times, but one can hardly blame Robert Esche last night on some of the goals. Nevertheless, he can't be absolved of blame, either, for a Roman Cechmanek-like meltdown last night. The team appeared slower than Buffalo and many things didn't look quite right. Maybe they just need another year.

Fortunately for Philly, the Flyers have a good number of younger players ready to carry the torch, so players like Petr Nedved can be shown the door. Questions remain in goal, too - both Antero Niittymaki and Esche have shown flashes of very good potential, but it remains to be seen if either one is Stanley Cup Finals worthy. Then again, doesn't every team want a Martin Brodeur? I'd love it if the Oilers can find a stud goalie to roam the pipes for 10+ years.

This series does suggest one important trend, though. Teams that stumble into the playoffs generally don't do well, and teams that are hot going into the playoffs probably have a better chance of success. New Jersey and Edmonton are great examples of this. The Devils won over 10 in a row before the playoffs started, and they broomed the Rangers this past weekend. Edmonton has been playing playoff-type hockey for over a month now - they were fully ready for the urgency that accompanies a playoff series. The Red Wings and Flyers were in no danger of missing the playoffs and could afford to coast the last month or so of the season.

I feel bad for my Flyer buds - they've waited too damn long for a Cup in this city. But, there are many great things that Philly fans can take away from the season - there is a lot of good talent on Philly's team that is ready to blossom. Bob Clarke always puts a very competitive team on the ice; but it doesn't seem like he can put them over the top. I guess we'll have to wait 'til next year to find out.

Labels: , ,

Wednesday, April 26, 2006

Wings clipped! An Oil gusher? And NHL playoff thoughts...



Well, my Oilers should be christened the cardiac kids. What a game last night! I was up until after 2 a.m. watching another game in this series go to a second OT. This one turned out better than game one though, as Jarret Stoll took a backhand whack at the puck that got past Manny Legace. (See top) Rexall Place went wild, and so did I. This game should have been in the bag in the third period. With nine minutes to go, Edmonton enjoyed a 3-1 lead, but the Wings wouldn't die. That comes as no surprise, though. Hey, the Wings won the President's Trophy for having the league's best record, so I knew going in this series was going to be a tough fight.

The Oilers must stay out of the penalty box if they hope to win this series. One powerplay and one lost faceoff later, and the Wings tied it with about six minutes to go in the game. That's where the Wings can kill you - on the faceoff dot and when your players are in the penalty box; Detroit had the best powerplay in the league this season. So, I'm hoping Edmonton learns the lessons of game 3 for game 4. A 3-1 series lead would be huge, but it won't be easy. I fully expect the Wings to come out fighting for their playoff lives tomorrow night. The Oilers had better be ready, because Detroit isn't just going to roll over.

One more word on my Oilers before I move on to another topic that vexes me, and that's the local team, the Flyers. I've watched a fair amount of hockey so far in the playoffs, courtesy of the best thing going, the NHL Center Ice Package. I'm yet to see an arena more jacked for the playoffs than Rexall Place in Edmonton last night. It was deafening, and that was just from watching it on TV! The crowd totally drowned out the introductions, and the last half of O Canada couldn't be heard. There are many great hometown crowds in the NHL, but Edmonton has to be in the top 3 when it comes to the playoffs. Hell, even in the regular season. All but one regular season game was sold out at Rexall this past season, and the one non-sellout was only a few hundred short. Edmonton loves its Oilers, and so do I.

These playoffs have been nothing short of remarkable. One year ago, no one would have predicted this. The NHL was on the ropes, life support, whatever metaphor you choose. It's amazing how the league has charged back and had a wonderful regular season, and the playoffs are looking to be the same. A record number of fans came to the games this year, and every playoff team is playing in front of adoring standing-room-only crowds, and it's awesome to see.

The one thing to complain about so far in these playoffs has been the officiating. It's been uneven, to say the least. There have been plenty of non-calls, and that's incredibly frustrating to watch. However, I've been watching hockey long enough to know that it's part of the game. There are imperfect players playing the game and imperfect officials making the calls. Good teams overcome the random non-call or borderline penalty. That's just the way it is. However, would someone please tell this to the three-headed jackass otherwise known as Steve Coates, Jim Jackson and Gary Dornhoffer? (Second from top, from left to right) These guys are flat out ruining Flyers games, which are bordering on unwatchable because these goddamn crybabies are criticizing every call that goes against Philadelphia. I've never heard anything like it in my life. (Hey, last night Michael Peca got clubbed in the head - no call. The Oilers OR the announcers didn't bitch about it - they kept fighting and won the game in the end.)

To wit, in game 2 of the Philly/Buffalo series, Philly's Denis Gauthier slammed Buffalo's Thomas Vanek into the boards. Boom - game misconduct and Buffalo goes on the power play. More on the hit in a minute. So, as I'm watching the game, the trio calling the Flyers game decried the penalty being called and couldn't figure out why Gauthier was given a game misconduct. Coates even said, "Does he [the ref] have a minutes quota?!?" Unbelievable. I just started laughing at that point - what little credibility these guys had in my mind was gone at that point. Hey, a garbage hit is a garbage hit, and that one was garbage. Not only did Gauthier deserve to be kicked out of the game, he should serve a multiple game suspension DURING THE PLAYOFFS for that hit. Of course, the NHL, as it's wont to do, didn't suspend him. The NHL front office has historically been wimpy when it comes to doling discipline during the postseason, and this was no exception. I don't dislike the Flyers. Quite the contrary. They are the only team in Philadelphia that I could ever root for, ever, and that's because I love hockey so much. Flyer fans deserve a winner, and so far, "Clarkie" the GM hasn't delivered. Hopefully someday he, or his replacement, will. I root for Philly when I'm not rooting for Edmonton, and when the two teams aren't playing one another.

However, what Ed Snider and Clarke are doing by having these three dickheads call Flyers games is a disservice to Flyers fans and hockey in general. And, I don't think it's a stretch to say that all of this whining and crying by the Flyers' broadcast team carries over to many (but not all, Chris) fans. What this trio says during broadcasts is generally picked up and believed by many people who watch the game. Jackson I can stomach - he's actually quite a good play-by-play man. But Coates and Dornhoffer and more annoying to listen to than a bin Laden tape. Another quick example, if I may:

In game one, R.J. Umberger took a whale of a hit by Buffalo defenseman Brian Campbell. It was a clean, bone-jarring hit. Umberger was on the ice for quite a while. I told a friend the next day I was reminded of the old Snickers commercials with the line "Not going anywhere for a while?" I love to see good hits in hockey, but I don't like to see anyone get hurt, and I hope Umberger returns to action soon (I hear maybe game 4). Anyway, Dornhoffer and the Philly announcers start whining that Buffalo was replaying the hit over and over on the scoreboard and that it "contributed to the bloodlust of Sabres fans." First off, if the hit was being replayed while Umberger was on the ice, then it's not a classy thing for the Sabres to do, case closed. You don't do that when a player is laying on the ice. But, I have several things to say about the Philly announcers and their comments. For instance, if the exact opposite where true, say, Umberger laying out Campbell at the Wachovia Center in Philadelphia, can we be certain that Philly wouldn't have been replaying the hit? Um, no. And second, would some Philly fans would have been cheering? Again, it's a hypothetical, but you can be sure that more than a few would be.

Most Philly fans conveniently forget or try to minimize how many (most) at the Vet cheered as Michael Irvin was stricken on the turf following a hit in 1999 in a Cowboys game vs. the Birds. (The clean hit, to the lower part of his neck, ended his career.) Philly fans loved it, because they hated Irvin and they hate the Cowboys. I watched the game, and I was nauseated. Hey, if Philly fans hate the player or the team enough, or if the game's important enough, they'll cheer and a few idiots will even hope for injuries to the opposition. So, I wish all Philly announcers would fucking stop it already with the "Woe is Philly" whining. Some of Philly's reputation is exaggerated and perpetuated by the media. (Enough with the booing Santa Claus references already!) But, some of it is well deserved, too - the aforementioned Irvin incident, the snowballing of Jimmy Johnson in '89, the bounty that Buddy Ryan put on the Cowboys kicker, and the fact that the Eagles and the Philadelphia Police Department had to put a municipal judge in the bowels of Veteran's Stadium to discipline lawbreakers at Eagles games. A great deal of Philly fans' bad reputation is well deserved. If Terrell Owens gets hurt this season during the grudge match at the Linc, you think Eagles fans will keep quiet as he lays on the turf?!? Riiiiiight. But, I digress.

I just found it amusing that an integral piece of the "Broad St. Bullies," (as the Flyers were known in the 1970s and early 1980s) Gary Dornhoffer, chose to decry any kind of violence in hockey like he did the other night. That's tantamount to Adolf Hitler coming back to life and criticizing Saddam Hussein for his genocide. Puleeze. Dornhoffer was at his hypocritical best following the Umberger hit. Those Flyers teams in the 70s tried to hurt people and actually took pride in it. Hey Gary, enough already.

An interesting footnote is that Comcast owns the Flyers, and the trio of Jackson, Coates and Dornhoffer are actually employees of the team. That doesn't seem right to me, and I wonder how many other teams have this sort of arrangement? For instance, the Oilers have a broadcast team that calls the games, but they work for the network that broadcasts Edmonton games, not the team. A small but important distinction. Sure, Oilers broadcasters want to see the Oilers do well, but there's at least some separation between the broadcasters and the team.

Okay, rant over about the Flyers announcers. I hope Philly bounces back tonight and I think they will. Esche is starting in net, so that's the big unknown. The question is, which Esche will show up - the game-one Esche who was virtually a sheet of plywood over the net, or the Swiss Cheese game-two Esche who had to be pulled after the first period? We'll soon see.

One thing's for certain - well actually, two things - I can't wait to watch, and I envy my best friend Chris, who will be at the game tonight. Cheer loud for me, bro!

Get Cup Crazy, ya heard?!?

Labels: , , , , , ,