Fighting the War on Error

"You measure a democracy by the freedom it gives its dissidents, not the freedom it gives its assimilated conformists."
- Political & Social Activist Abbie Hoffman (1936-1989)

Thursday, January 27, 2011

I'm BACK!

I know, I know, it has taken awhile. But, an outright drubbing of progressives in the '10 election (if one more person in the media says "shellacking," I'm going to spontaneously combust), along with some fresh new outrages, have spurred me back to action. I can assure you, I won't be going away this time. (That reminds me - one of my New Year's Resolutions - Manage my time wisely! If I manage to do that, I'll have even more time to blog than planned. Well, that's the plan, anyway.)

So, I will definitely be back later tonight (probably MUCH later) to unleash a slew of stuff on you, including some announcements, which I'm pretty excited about. For those of you new to the blog, I'm a 30-something progressive, living in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. (Sorry about Pat Toomey, everybody!)

In the meantime, take a look at what President Obama is doing - it's starting about an hour from now, at 2:30 EST - he's answering people's questions on YouTube. Below is a preview video, and if you click Here you can watch it live. Should be pretty interesting.

Labels: ,

Monday, July 23, 2007

Live Blog: The Democratic Debate

Photo from AP

The Democratic Debate is about to begin. This should be a very interesting format - it's certainly one that reflects technology's growing impact on our political process. I'm glad the debate is being hosted by CNN's Anderson Cooper (above, rehearsing for tonight).

It's about to begin, so here we go...

7:09: The first weighty question of the night is about the war, and Kucinich, Obama and Clinton all take their turns. If you are a "peace-at-all-costs" voter, Kucinich is your candidate. However, I'm not a one-issue voter, even though there will be a great many of them in the '08 election, and that one issue will be Iraq.

7:11: Uh oh - a "liberal" question! How would Hillary define liberal? "In the last 30-40 years, it's been turned on its head, and twisted to mean 'big government,'" says Hillary. Not a bad answer. She goes on to describe herself as "Progressive."

7:11: Gravel and Obama get in a little testy exchange, but, to me, it falls flat. Gravel has about as much name recognition as a presidential candidate as I do. Although, I'm in favor of having all of these candidates here. The more candidates we have, and the more voices we have to choose from, the better.

7:12: Joe Biden sounds a bipartisan note by saying he would pick Chuck Hagel as a running mate. Hmmm. An interesting choice, and remarks like that aren't going to court any more Democratic voters, I suspect.

7:14: A Chris Dodd white hair video is sort of funny, and I'm not against humor, but c'mon - there isn't enough time for all of the serious issues that need to be covered.

7:15: I cannot believe that CNN chose to air a question about reparations for slavery. I'm a true, dyed-in-the-wool liberal, but this is the most ridiculous question I've seen yet during any debate this year. I'm not saying this because I'm white - I'm saying it because I'm an American who wants issues that are relevant to Americans who are living today. Is there one survivor of slavery today? A son or daughter of someone who survived slavery? No. The only candidate who is for reparations is Kucinich - what a surprise - a desperate candidate who will pander to anyone who could vote for him. A truly pathetic answer to a patently absurd question.

7:19: Good - a Hurricane Katrina question. Richardson is kicking butt and taking names answering this question. He slams President Bush for "posing for photo ops," that more should have been done, even before the storm.

7:20: A question to Clinton and Obama about gender and race. It's a fair question, but really, Cooper phrases the question to Obama by asking him, "What about the charge that you are not black enough?" which is outrageous. Honestly, I didn't hear how the questioner phrased the question, so maybe Anderson was just repeating it, but that's despicable. Just because someone asked something stupid doesn't obligate CNN to repeat such a question.

7:21: Hillary responds to a similar question about her gender by saying, "I can't run for anything other than as a woman." Slam dunk - that's right, and I'm really getting tired of her gender and Obama's race being an issue. I realize these questions aren't going away, however, so I'm just going to have to deal with it.

7:23: Edwards and Hillary and having a virtual love fest when Edwards is asked a question about what his wife Elizabeth said last week, that John Edwards would be a better advocate for women's issues than Hillary would.

7:27: Kucinich just crashed the boards and came up with a nice rebound about gay marriage. Well said, Dennis - he believes gay marriage should be legal. Good for him.

7:29: "I would advocate full civil unions with full marriage rights," says Bill Richardson in response to the same question. It sounds like Richardson is for gay marriage, just not for calling it gay marriage. From my point of view, that's acceptable - he's just differs with language use. It sounds to me that in the Democratic Primary in 2008, gays have another candidate they can look to who are for their getting full rights, benefits and civil unions, and that man is Governor Richardson.

7:31: John Edwards is answering a question about using religion to justify his opposition to gay marriage. He seems to be answering it, but they go to the questioner, a Southern Baptist minister seating in the audience, who feels Edwards "didn't really answer the question." Interesting - it's the first time I can remember someone getting a chance to come back at a politician for not answering a question.

**
A commercial break. I'd love to see a question about Bush's new Executive Order giving him virtually unlimited powers in the event of another terrorist attack or national emergency. I'm completely outraged by this action, and I'll be blogging about it later tonight. I'd also really like to hear a question about media conglomeration, especially with the likely sale of The Wall St. Journal from the controlling Bankroft Family to Rupert Murdoch. I seriously doubt I'll hear either question, but it never hurts to hope.

Okay, back to the debate...

7:39: A Darfur question, and it goes first to Bill Richardson. "It's called leadership," is how he begins. I also like how he mentions that it shouldn't be just about our interests. Yes. (Read: Is there any oil there? If there were no oil in Iraq, we wouldn't be there, and if you don't believe that, you know nothing about American foreign policy during the last 30 years.)

7:42: "We haven't owned up to our responsibilities to a sense of global governance," says Gravel in response to the Darfur crisis. He tries to keep talking, presumably about another topic, and Cooper cuts him off. Some of the lesser candidates have complained about not getting as much time as the leading candidates. No debate format is perfect, but I don't believe they deserve as much time. Anyone want to hear Gravel talk for as much time as Clinton or Obama? I dunno, but I don't think I would want to.

7:45: Anderson Cooper acknowledges all of the people who have served from The Citadel in Iraq and Afghanistan, which is over 1,100 troops. That's a nice touch.

7:46: A question from Barry Mitchell right here in Philadelphia - "How do we pull out now?" he repeats over and over. First to Obama, and Cooper gets a little testy with him when he sense that he's not answering the question. Obama gets his footing when he cites White House Press Secretary Tony Snow excusing the Iraqi Legislature for taking off the entire month of August because "it's hot." Nice job, Obama.

7:48: Biden says it will take "one year" to withdraw all American troops from Iraq if we started right now. I'm not a member of the military and I'm anything but an expert on military strategy, but this seems patently absurd. A year to remove 165,000 troops? Maybe if they are walking to Paris. That just seems stupid to me.

7:50: Hillary is talking about a timeline for bringing the troops home, in response to a question from a mother of a son who's about to go back to Iraq for the second time.

7:50: Kucinich rightfully says that Congress does have the power to stop the war - "tell the president no more funds." Absolutely, but the Democratic Congressional leaders do not have the courage to "cut off funds" because of the GOP PR machine, period.

7:52: Hot diggity - a question to Mike Gravel from someone who was offended at his saying that our troops in Vietnam "died in vain." To Gravel's credit, he stands his ground and defends his comments. I think there's a pretty big difference between a candidate with zero hope of winning the White House, and the front runners, including John Edwards and Barack Obama, who won't risk offending a significant number of voters by saying any of our troops die in vain.

7:56: Should women register for the draft? I say yes, and just about all of the candidates agree. Women have proven that they can be every bit as effective in military combat as men, and that includes driving tanks or flying jets. Just as there are some men who aren't fit for combat, there are some women who are not, either, and the opposite also holds true for both genders; many men and women are more than fit and capable of doing extraordinary things in combat. One gender should not be included.

8:00: A question from California that mentions that Egyptian President Anwar Sadat travelled to Israel "in 1982." He was assassinated in 1981. Oops. Someone needs to fact check these questions, but it's a fair question. Clinton courageously states that she "will not pledge to meet with these leaders in the first year of my presidency" and "I will not be used for propaganda purposes," in response to a question about meeting with enemies of the U.S. such as Hugo Chavez, Fidel Castro, etc. A good question.

8:04: A powerful question by Gary Berry, who has three flags over his shoulders that covered the coffins of his grandfather, father and oldest son, and he wants to know when the troops will be home.

8:05: An irrelevant grammar observation - Chris Dodd doesn't know the "that/who" rule when referring to a person. (It's who, Senator.)

8:07: Biden is very strong on foreign policy - probably the strongest of all the candidates on the stage tonight. This guy should be secretary of state if a Democrat wins the White House. If I were president, that would be the first call I'd make, because Biden knows foreign policy, and he knows the value of diplomacy. Will he be president? Fat chance. But, I love how he highlighted the fact that funds to send IED-proof Hummers to Iraq were not approved, which I find just incredulous.

8:10: Thus far, Kucinich gets the zinger of the night (and the most powerful, accurate one) when he says, "It's not right to say that you were against the war from the beginning when you've voted to fund the war," and he's absolutely right.

**
Another commercial break - thank God. I don't like it when these networks go for two straight hours of debating with just one short break. If I remember right, CNN had one break in the middle of a two-hour talkfest last time. Okay, they're back...

8:16: "Who is your favorite teacher today, and why," is the next question. Really? This is lame - just a chance for the candidates to give a shout out to people from their past. I'm all for education (I'm a professor, so I'd better be), but a better education question should have been selected. Okay, looks like I'm getting one - a No Child Left Behind question.

8:18: Richardson wants to scrap NCLB, and I agree. It's a half-baked attempt by the Bush administration to address education, with a title that sounds like it was selected by a PR Agency. Let's put it this way - the best thing about NCLB is the name, but plenty are being left behind.

8:20: Public or private school? A good question. Edwards has sent all four of his children to public school, and Chelsea Clinton went to public school from grades K-8. Obama gave the best answer about this question - that "any U.S. Senator can get his or her child into a good public school, but I want to fight for people who can't game the system." Score a direct hit for Obama.

8:25: A sex education question, and I think it's an important one. It's very illustrative about the sexual repression in our country - Mitt Romney accused Barack Obama of "wanting sex education for five-year olds." I guess Romney has a lot of time on his hands. I loved Obama's response - that "Romney supported the same program while he was running for governor of Massachusetts."

8:27: Some global warming questions - excellent. "How do you get Americans to conserve energy?" Gravel mentions reversing the tax structure - snore. The government must do more than changing the way it taxes people by how much energy they consume - it has to entice alternative energy source development.

8:29: I like Dodd's answer about global warming until he mentions a carbon tax. I don't support the idea of "tradeable carbon credits" - I think it's a total crock. But, more on what I think about global warming at another time.

8:32: I'm delighted to hear Edwards slam the idea of liquefying coal - another horrible idea that the energy companies have come up with to use the internal combustion engine. It's time to come up with something completely different.

8:34: I'm very, very happy to hear a question about elections, and why there isn't a standardized way for people to vote. Richardson is calling for universal paper trails, same-day registration, and de-politicizing the justice department that has been used under this administration to suppress voters. A great answer, but the topic gets short shrift, because after Richardson answers the question, CNN cuts to commercial. That sucks, because it's an issue that has gotten shockingly little attention by the mainstream media. In fact, it's a miracle the question was aired at all tonight.

**
Another commercial - back in a minute. Waiting for CNN to come out of commercial. Again, it's too bad that election reform didn't get more coverage, because I will go to my grave believing that the 2000 and 2004 elections were hijacked by the Republican Party. And there's a very good chance that 2008 could be, too - Bush, Rove and Co. have had eight years to put the machinery in place to insure that a Republican wins the White House in 2008. Okay, the debate is back.

8:41: Would the candidates work for minimum wage if elected president? Most said they would. Hmm, store that footage away.

8:43: I'm delighted that a question has been asked about Social Security - why are earnings not taxed above $97k? Obama dodges the question - raising the limit is "an important issue on the table." It should be done, immediately. It's a burning question - why in the world do the rich get off without paying FICA taxes, other than their first $97K earned? The limit should be $5 million or maybe even $10 million. Or, how about no limit? It's outrageous that there's a cap.

8:45: Biden wants to eliminate the tax cuts to the top one percent. Good - and that's a matter of semantics (take that, Howdy Doody Frank Luntz) - it's not a tax increase, it's ending unnecessary tax breaks for the rich. A very good answer.

Now we are getting a buffet of health care questions. Let's see how the candidates handle these...

8:48: Obama states his plan does provide universal coverage. Anything has to be better than what we have now - 45 million people are without coverage. Obama rightly criticizes the lobbying effort on the part of the health care industry.

8:50: Edwards says that Obama's plan "is a very serious proposal," and that he's "not casting dispersions on his plan." It's a love fest tonight - the candidates are not attacking each other. I guess that's a good thing - I don't want to hear fights; I want to hear ideas, and we are hearing some of that tonight. Edwards, voice rising, nearly shouts that "it's about time we stand up to these insurance companies." That sounds good during a debate, but there's nothing to stop the insurance and medical industries from the same misinformation campaign that they did in 1993-1994. The way to stop that? Real, meaningful election finance reform - public financing of elections is the answer. If I live to 100, I doubt we'll see it, but we need to fight for it.

8:54: Another great answer from a candidate - Dodd mentions stem cell research, a topic that is firmly in the corner of the Democratic Party.

8:56: Gravel has a good point - that the Democratic Party has sold out and is not really about the working man (and woman) any longer. He's right - the Democratic Party doesn't take marching orders nearly as much as the GOP does, but that's because the GOP takes much more money from big business than the Democratic Party does.

8:57: A great question about a potential Democratic president "paying lip service" to the religious faction of the American public. I love Edwards' answer, that he will not let his religious views influence what he does as president. (I'm paraphrasing here.) In other words, I took that to mean that he won't try imposing his religious views on America, something that has become so commonplace under Bush that it barely even registers with anyone any longer.

9:00: Biden's got balls - a question from some loon who boasts that his gun is his "baby." Biden slams him and brags that he helped author the assault weapons ban that President Clinton signed into law. Well said, Senator Biden.

The debate is ending on a light note - what do the candidates like about the person to their left? Again, I like the light-heartedness, but why not one more issue question? I liked the exchange between Kucinich and Cooper - Kucinich joked that CNN didn't put anyone to the left of him, and Cooper gibes that "we couldn't find anyone to the left of you." Witty, Anderson, witty. I liked it.

Anyway, that's it - I'll have a little bit more in a minute. I'm going to be watching the "Wrap-Up Show" with Wolf Blitzer, but not for the analysis, but for the usual interviews of candidates, which I always enjoy - it's a chance to hear more from the candidates, and that's what this is all about and that's why we watch, right?

I forgot to mention this, but the ad of the night was, without a doubt, from Edwards, who poked fun at himself about the hair issue, but poked even more fun at the media coverage of this idiotic, moronic story. I've written it before, and it bears repeating - I'm already tired of the mainstream media's coverage of these non-story stories, and that's been on both sides - from the Edwards haircut to how much Mitt Romney spends on pre-debate cosmetics. Enough of this crap.

I did like the format though. However, this still has the stench of the mainstream media; after all, CNN still gets to pick which questions make it on the air. I realize that some moderation is necessary, or you would have ridiculous questions and even some pranks would get asked. In the end, though, I think the format is much better than a moderator picking and asking questions.

Anderson Cooper did a pretty good job keeping the candidates on topic, too; on more than a few occasions, he chided candidates to stay on message. I'm off to watch the post-debate interviews - hopefully there will be plenty of candidate interviews, and not just talking heads.

A little more quick analysis - the questions, for the most part, were pretty well-versed and appropriate, but again, the light-hearted stuff could have been 86'd. After all, we got nothing specific about stem cell research, immigration, impeachment or election reform (other than the one question election reform answered by Richardson right before a commercial).

Labels: , , ,

Thursday, June 07, 2007

Cats gone wild


I routinely play cat videos on YouTube with the volume up to see how our cat, Butter (Jaws), reacts to them. Unfortunately, he's used to it now, so I don't usually get much reaction from him. But, today, he came into the room and was sniffing around for other cats when I played this montage of crazy cats. Thank God our little buddy isn't quite this crazy.

Labels: ,

Monday, April 30, 2007

Lewis Black on those #@!$%#$@!! queers


WARNING: This one is not for work, or for playing around the kids.

This clip is raw, but it makes such a good point that I had to share it.

Lewis Black is one of my favorite political comedians going. He's at the top of his game right now. I found a whole bunch of his clips on YouTube tonight, and they're great, but a friend of mine posted this on MySpace today, and I wanted to share it, because it's right on about gay marriage.

I too find it offensive that Republicans think that gay marriage is some sort of threat. It's a complete joke - the "sanctity of marriage." How about "the sanctimoniousness of the marriage issue."

This clip is just a bit older, because he mentions Rick Santorum, who I'm still elated no longer is in the Senate because of his Bush-rubber-stamp, insensitive, intolerant policies and political views.

Looking back now, it's patently absurd how the press, the electorate, and yes, Democrats let Repubes frame the debate and what issues were important in '04 and '06. I hope it never happens again.

I've said it before and I'll say it again - if gay marriage were on a ballot today, I wouldn't hesitate for a nanosecond to cast a "Yes" vote.

I read somewhere once that "there's nothing more powerful than an idea whose time has come."

If that doesn't describe the gay rights movement, I don't know what does.

Labels: , , , ,

Sunday, March 18, 2007

NHL monster hits



This is a montage of the best hits in the NHL during the month of February, and there are some monster hits on here. Of course, my two favorites are Zack Stortini of the Oilers (of course!) and the Atlanta Thrashers' Garnet Exelby - he took down three players in a row! I love a player like that.

Stortini is one of the few bright spots for the Oilers this year - he's not afraid to mix it up, and Edmonton needs his grit in the lineup right now, and definitely next year. He's the heir apparent to former Oilers tough guy Georges Laraque. He'll make the team full time next year.

I've completely not taken advantage of the fact that YouTube reached an agreement with the NHL to post highlights this season. Next season (which will hopefully be a better one for my Edmonton Oilers), I'm going to post a bunch more hockey clips. But, the playoffs are coming up, so this season ain't over yet. I'm now just a hockey fan in general with no rooting interest in who wins the Stanley Cup, since my team's out of it. But, it is always my favorite sports event of the year, Super Bowl be damned (as much as I love that).

Labels: , , , , , ,

Tuesday, March 13, 2007

YouBoobs: Viacom & Google head to court

The first major YouTube lawsuit has been filed, and this one could get ugly. Viacom has filed a copyright infringement lawsuit against Google, the parent company of YouTube, for what it calls "massive intentional copyright infringement," citing 160,000 unauthorized clips of its programming on the site that have been viewed more than 1.5 billion times, according to an Associated Press story I read earlier today.

It's going to be real interesting to see how this one plays out. The lawsuit certainly will determine the fate of YouTube, but not Google, the world's most popular search engine. However, it could make Google's $1.65 billion price tag for YouTube one of the worst acquisitions in recent corporate American history (with a well-deserved nod to CNN Time-Warner's acquisition of AOL).

As usual, one of the cooler things online isn't going to last. Technology giveth, and corporate attorneys taketh away.

If Google loses the YouTube case, you can probably say goodbye to a cool Website. If it wins, it's only a matter of time before another company sues over YouTube copyright infringement. So, Google is in a no-win situation. Say hello to the 21st century's Napster.

I have to be honest, I'd consider paying a small fee per year to have access to a YouTube with extensive content. If Google doesn't prevail in the case, it will be pay to play, of YouTube calls it a day.

In the end, the inventors of YouTube are probably the two smartest guys regarding YouTube - invent something great, and get out before the bottom falls out. Above, YouTube co-founders Chad Hurley, 29, left, and Steven Chen, 27, pose with their laptops at their office loft in SanMateo, Calif., early last year, before becoming very rich before Google purchased their Website.

I'm pulling for YouTube, but I'm not thinking they'll come out of this intact, but I don't think it will happen.

Corporate America wins again.

Photo from AP

Labels: , ,

Saturday, March 03, 2007

YouTube launches '08 campaign site

YouTube has launched a Website dedicated to the 2008 Presidential Campaign, dubbed YouChoose '08. The site will only contain official campaign videos from Democratic and Republican candidates. (No word on whether any videos will appear from the likes of Ralph Nader if he decides to run, or the other minor party candidates.)

The million dollar question is whether this site will take off in popularity or not. I suspect not, because if I want to watch official campaign videos, I can go to a candidate's Website for that. Not only that, but starting this summer (or maybe earlier), we'll be seeing all of the campaign videos we want to see on television.

I'll keep tabs on this site to see where it goes, if anywhere. If it's anything like YouTube's regular site, it's not going too far. At the rate that content providers are demanding that Google, YouTube's parent company, remove their clips from the site, YouTube's coolness had declined by another percentage point in the time it took you to read this.

Labels: , ,

Sunday, February 18, 2007

A buffet of YouTube hilarity

I wanted to take a bit of a timeout today from all of the serious posts, and, of course, YouTube, the site I sometimes love to hate, but that in the end I ultimately love, provides the entertainment. I know it's a shotgun blast of vids, but trust me, if you have a few minutes, check these out - it's worth the time investment. I know some of them are kind of random, but they'll give you a good laugh. Best of all, if you're reading this on Monday morning and you're at work, it stinks to be you, because you didn't get President's Day off. I did, so I'll provide this service to you, because right now, you need the laugh. Enjoy!



This one is kids with too much time on their hands. The worst part about this is that I can totally see my brothers and I doing this when we were younger. The end of the video is hilarious, but don't spoil it - hang in for the whole thing.



One of the dumbest criminals ever. And don't we all love dumb criminals. The payoff is the end - "Hey, screw it, I'm caught. Guess I'll have a smoke."



This was voted collegehumor.com's funniest video of 2006. I'm not too familiar with the site, but who could disagree? Only an out-of-touch, out-of-shape dad would try for a slam dunk with beer pong. I have a special affinity for anything beer pong - hey, I graduated from Kutztown University, where beer pong is a major, I think.



This one is for all the rap fans out there - this guy is dead on accurate - Snoop, Jay-Z and DMX. He flat out nails 'em all. Straight up dope, yo!



Lastly, I found this video, and I was a bit awe-struck. It's called MS Paint God. I can't imagine being that artistically adept at, well, anything, besides photography. It is pretty cool, though. Someday I hope to be that good at Photoshop.

Labels: ,

Saturday, February 10, 2007

A little YouTube experiment

I probably won't shut up about this for quite a while, but my latest searching on YouTube produced very little Daily Show clips. Apparently Google, the parent company of YouTube (and Blogger, by the way), is abiding by Viacom's demand to take down clips of content it owns, including The Daily Show and The Colbert Report.

For the umpteenth time, it sure is great how corporate America can wreck a very cool Website. I still say that the two sides will eventually reach an agreement, though. There is probably no better way to promote your show today than to allow clips of it to air on YouTube. And again, Google didn't drop a cool bill for YouTube to simply watch its viewership decline to zero because of copyright concerns.

Some will call me crazy, but I'd be willing to pay a small fee to be able to access clips on the site, to avoid worrying that they'll be pulled down after you embed your favorite clips on your Website or blog. Whatever - we'll see how this plays out.

In the meantime, I thought I'd do a little experiment - today I did find a pretty funny Daily Show clip on YouTube - one of the few that were up. It's on the I. Lewis "Scooter" Libby trial (I never tire of complaining how the media continues to always use his ridiculously long name - from now on, I'm referring to him as "ILSL.")

Anyway, here's a Daily Show clip on the trial - it's pretty funny, and not too long. I'm going to post it here, and see how long it stays up. It's 5:15 p.m. on February 10, 2007. The clock is ticking - let's see how long it takes the YouTube police to remove it. Enjoy the clip, while it lasts.

Labels: , ,

Saturday, February 03, 2007

YouTube & Viacom are at it again

Just when I think it's over, it's not over. YouTube and Viacom are at it again. The two sides were unable to come to an agreement that would allow Viacom's content to legally remain on YouTube's Website, so on Friday Viacom requested that over 100,000 clips of its programming, including my beloved Daily Show, be removed from the site.

Sigh.

This is getting frustrating, annoying, and frankly, I'm beyond caring about it now. I'll simply check back every once in a while on YouTube to see if the stuff's back up. Or, I may simply find another Website that does the same thing.

I've said it before and I'll say it again - Google's purchase of YouTube effectively ended its coolness, because Google has one thing, money, that content providers covet. Funny how Viacom wasn't too concerned about Daily Show clips on YouTube when it was owned by its creators, who didn't have enough money to bother with a court case.

I still have faith that Google and Viacom will somehow come up with an agreement, though. Google has to act, or the $1 billion+ it paid for YouTube will be the biggest waste of money since... since... Time Warner bought AOL.

Stay tuned.

In the meantime, I have a bunch of Daily Show clips stored, and when they are allowed, I will upload them again so they can be found in my blog's archives and so I can bring you some yet to be posted cool clips on here.

Labels: , , ,

Saturday, January 20, 2007

Even karayoke haters will love this one



Save this one for a rainy day, or at least a Monday morning, because I can guarantee that you'll be laughing after you watch this, no matter how bad of a mood you are in.

It starts out slow, but stick with it - it's worth it at the end - the girl on the right is hilarious.

Watch it, laugh hysterically, repeat.

Labels: ,

Friday, January 05, 2007

One more Carvey clip, & a great Howard Stern



Everyone who reads this blog knows I'm a fan of Howard Stern. When I came across some Dana Carvey clips on YouTube, I found this one. It's a not-so-great impression of Carvey doing President Clinton, but the impression of Howard Stern is dead on, right down to his laugh, giggle, and mannerisms.

It's worth a look, and it's pretty funny. And I have no doubt that he would ask those questions to Hillary Clinton and Madeline Albright if ever given the chance.

Although he can be crude, obnoxious and at times disgusting, he's riding along with me on my way to work , giving me laughs, for the last 16 years. And how many of us get to laugh when we are on our way to work? Who's happy about driving in to work, fighting the traffic, and thinking about the long work day ahead? Now that's the best testament I can think of to the man's talent - making people laugh on the way to work, consistently and without fail, for as long as he has.

I'll have more on Howard in a piece later today or tomorrow.

Anyway, the impression of him is pretty good in the clip.

Labels: , , , ,

All-time best hockey blooper... EVER!



Even if you are not a hockey fan, you MUST appreciate this.

Allow me to use blatant hyperbole for a moment - put simply, last night's game between the Edmonton Oilers and the Dallas Stars was the most entertaining point I've ever seen the Oilers earn, EVER, and that's saying something. To put that in perspective, I've been a fan of the team since they came into the NHL in 1979, and I've watched hundreds of their games.

Let me set it up for you before you watch the video clip. The Oilers were up 4-1 in the second period, and, put simply, gassed what should have been an easy two points with the win. But, they didn't skate in the third, and Dallas took it to them, scoring five unanswered goals to take a 5-4 lead. Late in the third, Oilers head coach Craig MacTavish pulls Edmonton goalie Dwayne Roloson for the extra attacker.

With about 15 seconds left, Stars Center Patrik Stefan gained possession of the puck, skated to within 2 FEET OF THE OILERS EMPTY NET, and, with no Oiler in sight, slipped, fell, and turned the puck over to the Oilers.

Three passes later, Oiler Ales Hemsky scores with two seconds left to send the game to OT. The Oilers eventually lost in the shootout, but wow, what an entertaining game last night.

However, I dunno what was better, the last bizarre 30 seconds of the game, or the announcers' reaction to one of the craziest plays in NHL history. Here's a sampling of their reaction...

"He scores!!! Can...you...BELIEVE...what...we just SAW?!?!?"

"No adjective can properly describe..."

"How long will this be replayed?"

The best came from Oilers color commentator Ray Ferraro, who played for about two decades in the National Hockey League:

"That's the most ridiculous thing I've ever seen. Patrik Stefan, you should be embarrassed for what you just did. That does not belong in the National Hockey League. That's the most embarrassing thing I've seen on National Hockey League ice. I've been around the pro game, I dunno, 25 years, and that's unbelievable."

##

Oh, and how frickin' cool is it that the NHL struck a deal with YouTube, and now every morning you can go to YouTube and see highlights of your favorite NHL team. Now that's cutting edge, and I don't believe any other major sports league has done it. Bravo, NHL.

Anyway, this one's gonna be replayed for years, if not decades to come.

What a night of hockey!

More on the NHL in a bit.

Labels: , , , ,

Wednesday, January 03, 2007

YouTube's coolness reborn?

About a month ago, I bemoaned Comedy Central's removal of all its video clips from YouTube. This came as no surprise, following Google's purchase of the very popular Website. After all, deep pockets = big lawsuits.

However, today I was doing some general browsing on YouTube and I found page after page of Comedy Central clips, specifically TDS, my favorite political show ever.

So, perhaps reports of YouTube's demise were greatly exaggerated? I'm not convinced yet, but I'm cautiously optimistic. I'll resume bringing you some of my favorite clips from TDS shortly, and we'll see how long they stay up.

After thinking about it for a while, it makes sense that Google will strike deals with companies to allow video clips to be displayed on YouTube. After all, it didn't spend $1.5 billion on the Website, only to have its hits evaporate as a result of pulling so much content, illegal or otherwise. So, some deal making was/is inevitable. I haven't heard or read anything about a deal with Comedy Central, but there was a handshake somewhere, or I wouldn't be finding all of this content.

Stay tuned.

Labels: , , ,

Thursday, December 07, 2006

Death of a fun site

Well, It didn't take YouTube long to start sucking. Thanks Google (the search engine giant recently purchased YouTube) - first you gave us a great search engine. Cool. Next came another noun-to-verb migration in the English language. Irritating, but I can live with it because of your search engine's coolness. But finally, you sucked the life out of formerly one of the coolest Websites on the planet.

Now YouTube (predictably) is running scared because it's owned by rich parents, a.k.a. Google. It's as if a poor African baby, living in malnourished poverty, was suddenly plucked out of the dessert and was handed hundreds of millions of dollars. Sorry, Madonna's baby.

You get the idea, though. Now that YouTube can be sued, stuffed suits (Read: dickhead lawyers) are no doubt running the "program," turning YouTube into BoobTube as it becomes increasingly hyper-sensitive about what content gets uploaded onto its site. That's YT's right, but it's destroying what made the site cool in the first place. Oh well, your 15 minutes are just about up anyway, YouBoobs.

Why all the bitterness? Because today, YouTube cancelled my account. No worries - I started up another one in about 10 minutes, but it was just a PITA. I knew it would happen before long though - considering all of the political stuff I like to upload - it was bound to get someone's attention.

You're going to laugh, but it was probably Fox (Really!), because the network has been anal about its content being uploaded, and the gravy on the whole meal is that I think I called Bill O'Lielly a dumb MFer or something in the comments section about one of the videos I uploaded. *Laughing* Imagine someone from Fox running across that! I relish the thought.

To be honest, I dunno why networks are so touchy about clips being uploaded. Whole programs and movies and such, I can understand, but a few minutes from a news program? (Okay, I'm being generous, calling Fox News "news" - what can I say, I'm in a charitable mood.) I'd think that networks would be happy that their shows are getting the attention. But, they don't see it that way.

Perhaps the San Francisco Chronicle put it best when YouTube pulled all Comedy Central Clips at the network's request:

"...there goes another huge chunk of YouTube, another one of the main reasons millions used the site, another vital organ of a once-brilliant idea now under the dumb hammer of corporate ad-revenue rule."

Yep, that about sums it up.

However, the up-and-coming networks or the flagging ones don't seem to mind their content being uploaded - MSNBC rating as the former and CNN the latter - funny how I never have trouble when I upload those. But, really popular content (Daily Show) and the really sensitive (Fox) are the ones that cry foul. You be the judge.

Really, this can all be summed up in two words: "lawyers" and "advertisers"; the two biggest reasons this is happening. I hope Google enjoys its purchase while the Website is worth anything, because in a few years (and I'm betting probably much sooner), the site will be yesterday's newspaper. Google may very well have had more fun burning all of those dollar bills it paid for YT, because before long, its investment will be merely ashes.

If YouTube kicks me off again, I'll simply start up my own blog on my own Website, hosting and all.

Labels:

Monday, October 30, 2006

Let the YouTube lawsuits begin

I'm disappointed, but not surprised.

Today, Viacom, the distributors of Comedy Central, ordered YouTube to take down all clips of Comedy Central and The Colbert Report.

Funny how this announcement happens a mere weeks after YouTube sells out (pun intended) to Google. Now that the source of so many TV clips has deep pockets, you just knew that these clips would suddenly become a copyright concern. Duh.

It won't be long before I'm over YouTube, honestly. Or, I'll be moving on to the new YouTube. There will always be one out there.

As of a few minutes ago, there were a few clips still up in my archives, but a quick check revealed more Comedy Central clips removed than remaining.

That sucks, but that's media conglomerates for you.

Labels: , ,

Monday, October 09, 2006

YouTube, sold!


YouTube has been bought by Google for $1.65 billion. Wow - the three employees who originally founded the company must be a few dollars richer today. Lucky them. Hey, it's reward for a job well done - as anyone who has dropped by my blog before knows, I love the site.
Goggle had better not change a thing about one of the coolest, hippest Websites going.

Labels: