Fighting the War on Error

"You measure a democracy by the freedom it gives its dissidents, not the freedom it gives its assimilated conformists."
- Political & Social Activist Abbie Hoffman (1936-1989)

Wednesday, October 04, 2006

My Stanley Cup Pick


Yes!

Last night was opening night in the NHL. It's the season I wait all summer for, and it's finally here. This summer was a particularly painful wait, after the Oilers came oh-so-close to sweet victory and the Stanley Cup. It's a Game 7 I will never forget, and I'll always be thankful I got to go.

This was a particularly painful picture I had to see last night, and I could have done without it...


Sigh. Oh well. At least I get to watch the Oilers raise a banner tonight that says this:

Kind of takes the sting out a little bit.

The Oilers open up tonight against their much hated Albertian rival, the Calgary Flames. THAT should be a barn burner. The Flames look to be improved, but in my mind, so do the Oilers.

Of course, the Oilers received a great deal of negative press over the summer following the Stanley Cup Finals when stud blueliner Chris Pronger wanted out of Edmonton. He was subsequently traded to the Anaheim Mighty Ducks for Joffrey Lupul, Ladislav Smid and some draft picks. The team also added Petr Sykora this summer and made some key signings, most notably extending Ales Hemsky's contract by a whopping six years. Snagging Sykora on a one-year deal may be the under-the-radar signing of the summer. He could really help the younger guys shine. We'll see.

Ideally, the Oilers would be opening the regular season deeper on defense, but it's a work in progress. It's not like they have nothing on the back end, just a lot of inexperience. I think GM Kevin Lowe and Head Coach MacT want to see how things pan out and how the youngsters are coming along. The great part about this team is that if some deals need to be made for veteran defenseman, the Oilers are extremely deep up front and they've got plenty of cap space. In fact, spread across four lines and in the minors, the Oilers are the deepest team in the NHL at forward, and that's not just my opinion.

Anyway, on to the predictions, but a few long-term ones first. Years from now, I invite anyone to check back to see how right or wrong I was.

- Ladislav Smid is going to be a franchise defenseman in this league.

- Ales Hemsky is the best player in the NHL that you've never heard of, and the question isn't will he lead the Oilers to the Stanley Cup, it's when. This kid is only 23 years old, and he just signed on for six more years and wants to stay and play in Edmonton, unlike bitch boy Pronger.

- Joffrey Lupul is in for a breakout season and a great career with the Oilers, and he just signed a three-year contract with Edmonton. Yes!

As for this season...

In the east, it could be any one of six teams (just like the west), but I like Buffalo - they're hungry and deep, and they've got talent in goal. The Rangers are a few years away; the Flyers merely tinkered with the team instead of making needed wholesale changes (Injuries to goalie Antero Niittymaki and the uncertainty of Peter Forsberg don't help); the Devils still have arguably the best goaltender in the world (or at least the NHL) in Brodeur, but the team is wilting around him; and I believe defending champion Carolina will take a bit of a fall this year, but still be extremely competitive. My darkhorse candidate for the east: Tampa Bay.

In the west, my heart says my Oilers, but my head says Anaheim, if the Ducks can stay healthy, so I'll go with Edmonton. A few caveats, though. The Oilers will have to make a significant deal by January or February to get some help on the blueline - I love the youth on defense, but it's not ready to carry this team all the way to glory yet.

As for the Ducks, I think they will probably be the team to beat if they stay healthy, and if they settle on one goaltender. Neither Jean-Sebastien Giguere nor Ilya Bryzgalov will be happy playing second fiddle to the other. What's more, in a goalie hungry league, the Ducks could reap a bounty from a team desperate for help between the pipes if they move one of these guys. Barring injury to one of their goalies, if one emerges as clearly better than the other, the Ducks will make a deal before the deadline.

My darkhorse candidate out west: Vancouver. The team made lots of important changes in the offseason, most notably getting rid of cancer (and I don't mean his horoscope) Todd Bertuzzi, acquiring goalie Roberto Luongo in return. If they stay hungry, healthy and focused, watch out.

So, there you have it - my Stanley Cup pick:

Vs

Buffalo against the Oilers for the Stanley Cup. Edmonton will get it right this time and win it. Besides, the Sabres sport new uniforms this season, and the fans really hate them. I happen to like the new look, but teams wearing new uniforms never win championships. I don't have facts to back that up, but it's just a feeling. I'll have to look it up.

So, I have to pick the Sabres out of the east. I'd love for it to be Philly, because 1. it would be cool to see the local team do well, 2. I could ride the subway to the Stanley Cup Finals, and 3. It would be a trifecta of finals between the Oilers/Flyers ('85 and '87 were the other years, Edmonton taking both).

Hey, at least Buffalo's within driving distance. I smell another road trip and an Oilers championship season. Stranger things have happened - they were picked to not make the playoffs last year, they made it as the 8th seed after their 81st game, and they knocked off three teams on the road to make it to the finals. Talk about a long road.

Says here that The Oilers will build on last year's experience and learn how to win. After all, they did the same thing in '84 after losing the Cup Finals in '83, but to be fair, this team ain't the 80s Oilers, either. However, I think (hope!) Edmonton builds on what it did last year.

Go Oil!

Labels: , , , , , ,

Thursday, July 06, 2006

A big trade, & other NHL thoughts


I've given up on promising not to talk hockey for any length of time - it's just not possible, but summer will be the lean months. However, the league has seen a flurry of activity this week, and I had to discuss a few notable happenings.

Well, the Oilers finally were forced to do the inevitable on Monday, trading Chris Pronger to the Anaheim Ducks for Joffrey Lupul, Ladislav Smid, a first round pick in '07, a second rounder in '08, and a conditional first rounder. More on that in a minute.

First, I'd like to pay tribute to one of the greatest team captains in sporting history, the Detroit Red Wings' Steve Yzerman. (Pictured above walking off the ice for the last time following the Wings elimination in this year's playoffs at the hands of my Edmonton Oilers on May 1, 2006.)

Stevie Y announced his retirement this week, and it's certainly the end of an era in Hockeytown and for all of hockey. What a class act, what a warrior. After 22 seasons as a Red Wing, Yzerman has decided to hang up his skates, no doubt tired of all of the recent rehabbing he's had to endure on his balky knees. He will be a first-ballot hall of famer, taking his place along side other legendary hockey captains such as Messier, Gretzky, Howe, Bourque, Clarke, Esposito and Orr. He ends his career a one-team man; the Wings jersey is the only one he will ever wear - a rare feat in today's sporting world. Even rarer still - he holds the record as the longest-tenured captain in North American sports history - over two decades with the "C" on the front of his sweater. I'm just glad he didn't end up as one of the greats without a championship ring on his finger - he's got a couple well-deserved rocks from some great Wings teams. Bravo, Stevie Y, bravo. You will be missed.

On to the trade I've been dreading for weeks. What a tremendous disappointment. I was just coming down off of the high of having seen in person two of the Oilers Stanley Cup Finals games in Carolina. It was a disappointment that they didn't get it done, but it was a remarkable and unexpected run. Immediately after the series was over, I rushed to the Poconos to be with my dying grandmother. I'm gone for about five days, I come home, and the first thing I read when I boot up my computer is that one of the league's top three defensemen, Chris Pronger, wants out of Edmonton. Ouch.

Anyway, Pronger (above) is gone, and I'm not quite as disturbed about his departure as I thought I would be. It's heartbreaking and a huge hole to fill, but the Oilers didn't do all that badly in this trade. First, a congrats to my friend Eel and his daughters, avid Anaheim fans who no doubt are salivating at the prospect of having the top defensive duo in the league in Pronger and Scott Niedermayer. They should be excited - next year could be Anaheim's turn to parade Stanley around the ice. Later, Pronger. I'm over you. This was a tough trade to swallow, but the Gretzky trade it ain't.

Anyway, a few words on the new Oilers. Give it a year or two, and both could be studs, and could potentially be parading Stanley around the ice in June.

Here's TSN's take on Joffrey Lupul: First line winger. Has a goal-scorer's mentality, creative instincts and unlimited offensive potential. He can line up either on the wing or at center.

Oh yea, baby, I like the sound of that. If healthy and surrounded with talent (and right now both are a big yes), he has 40-to-50-goal scorer written all over him. And at 22, he's a baby in the sporting world. Bonus - he's Edmonton born, so he won't be whining and complaining about the city like Pronger and his wife did.

I'm even more excited about Ladislav Smid, pictured above as a member of Portland in the AHL this season. Here's his Scouting Report: The son of famous Czech Extraleague and international defender, Ladislav Sr., has been widely regarded as the top 1986-born defenseman prospect in his country. Smid is a rare combination of size, skill, and smarts found in so few defensemen. Was impressive at the recent 2004 IIHF World U-18 Championships while helping to lead the Czechs to a solid third-place finish while earning a spot on the tournament's All-Star team. Talent-wise, Smid instantly catches your attention with his tall frame, smooth powerful skating, crisp accurate passing, and excellent puck control. Defensively, Smid is more of a finesse defenseman that uses smart positioning and ability to read the play, rather than punishing physical play.

NHL Potential: Power play quarterback with plenty of offensive upside. Could pan out big time for a team with patience.

Again, me likes. And Smid's only 20. He could turn out to be every bit the defenseman Pronger is, and he's 11 years younger. Hollah!

Anyway, there are holes to fill on the blueline now, but today the Oilers started addressing their most glaring problem by signing Daniel Tjarnqvist to a one-year deal. It's a start, but Kevin Lowe has plenty of work to do. But, he's got my confidence after the just completed cup run. I know he's got a plan.

Locally, the Flyers seem to be in disarray and haven't done much, save signing R.J. Umberger, and goalie Antero Niittymaki. I hear Peter Forsberg may not even play next season, and that will just be brutal to Flyers fans if that doesn't happen. The best case scenario I heard a few weeks ago was January, and now that's even in doubt. The Flies are my second favorite hockey team (hockey is the only sport where I follow two teams - that's how much I love hockey. But, Philly will always be a distant second to Edmonton), and I hope to see Philly do well, but they look to have many problems. At least with Forsberg out, I won't have to listen to the three-headed jackass that is the Flyers broadcasting trio of Jim Jackson, Steve Coates and Gary Dornhoffer blabber on and on about Forsberg being "the best player in the world." Not if he can't put skates on, boys.

One of the biggest priorities in town is signing left wing Simon Gagne, who didn't file for arbitration. "We want a long-term contract and the Flyers want a long-term contract," Gagne told the Philly Inquirer. "We started talking last week, and hopefully we will find a solution."

Bob Sauve, Gagne's agent, rejected the Flyers' initial four-year proposal last week and countered with his own. Gagne is asking for about $5 mil per. He'll get it, unless Bob Clarke and Ed Snider have lots their minds. But, with Forsberg out, Gagne is a must-sign.

I miss hockey already, but football is right around the corner, and the Red Sox are doing well.

Labels: , , , , , , , , ,

Friday, May 26, 2006

One ugly loss!

This photo pretty much sums up the night for the Oilers - goalie Dwayne Roloson had to weather an ice and rubber storm all night.

Wow - that was an unwatchable disaster. The worst post-season effort I've seen by the Oilers in a long, long time. In fact, I can't even remember the last time I saw an Oiler playoff loss that ugly. They allowed 25 shots in the first period alone. 25! A franchise record. Some good defensive teams don't allow 25 in a whole game. If it weren't for Roloson, they would have been down 5- or 6-0 at the end of the first period.

They allowed the Ducks to have a 5-on-3 powerplay on three different ocassions. I could rattle off the horrific stats all morning, but I'm too depressed to keep going.

Bottom line - the Oilers must play their best game of the playoffs this Saturday night to end this series and get some rest for the Finals. I'm not panicked, but certainly concerned. The onslaught began during the third period of game 3 and continued last night. Heck, I just want to see a good first period on Saturday night.

It's time to tighten up and end this series. The last thing the Oilers want to do is give the Ducks even more momentum by handing them another victory on Saturday night. Shift this series back to Edmonton on Monday night, and the Ducks will start believing they have a chance to be only the third team in NHL history to come back from a 3-0 series deficit. Now is when Head Coach Craig MacTavish will earn his pay. (Actually, he already has - see the Detroit series.) But, he will distinguish himself if he makes all of the right adjustments in this series, thrusting himself into the upper echelon of NHL coaches. He's already on his way, but this series could really mark new territory for MacT.

I'm worried, but I still believe.

Labels: , , ,

Wednesday, May 24, 2006

One win away...

Just one more! One more victory and the Oilers are in the Stanley Cup Finals for the first time since 1990. Last night's contest was the craziest ride-of-a-hockey game that I've been on since, well, maybe ever. Hey, I love roller coasters, but who puked on my boots?

xx
O

Well, the Oilers pulled it off last night. About halfway through the third, they were up 4-0, and I was ready to book their tickets to the Finals, but then the Ducks proved they have a little bit of fight left. Before I knew what happened, it was 4-3. Fernando Pisani potted a marker to give the Oilers a 5-3 lead (see pictures below), and I was breathing easier, but the Ducks provided some drama with about a minute left by making it 5-4. But, the Oilers held on.

I hope Edmonton can close out this series tomorrow night; obviously, so they make the Stanley Cup Finals; but also so this team can get some rest. Some of you may not know that the flu is running through this team like shit through a goose, and a week off (if the Eastern Finals is a long series, which it looks to be) would do this team a world of good.

The Oilers certainly have a destiny feel to them. I'm cautiously optimistic about their chances. But, I look at it this way - they knocked off Detroit, the best team in the NHL during the regular season, so they can knock off anybody if they play their best game/series.

I had goosebumps during the third period, but I had even bigger goosebumps during the singing of O Canada, when the crowd quite literally took over. Unreal - I've never seen or heard anything like it. I would give my leg (okay, not really, but you get the metaphor) to be there for game 4. Anyway, see a video of the crowd singing along to the anthem Here. You don't need to be a hockey fan to appreciate that. Oh, and Edmonton fans are showing even more class in the face of San Jose fans booing O Canada during the last series. I know I'm biased, but I truly believe that Oilers fans are the best in all of sports.

Well, one more day to wait, and one more game to go. I'll be glued to the set tomorrow. In the meantime, a few more pictures. ...



I can't get enough of these fisheye goalcam pictures. This is Fernando Pisani's game winner. Sweet.



Elation! bedlam! (In Edmonton and in our office, where I was trying to not wake Vandra at about midnight.)



You try to fight Laraque, twice in one night, and you're going to take your lumps. Hey, if you keep screwing with the bull, you're going to get the horns. Hey Fedoruk, keep your gloves on and try to score a goal. Wait, you can't score. But, your team needs it. Perhaps you should be a healthy scratch in game 4. But, it's probably too little, too late, anyway. Better luck next year, Ducks.



Anyone remember Duck Hunt? A great video game - I used to love shooting the dog so he would come out on crutches. Anyway, I found this on an Edmonton fan site I always visit and post to. That's Chris Pronger, a Conn Smythe trophy candidate, with a few dead ducks. Art can imitate life.

I've got a fix for 6!*

*Um, that's 6 Stanley Cups - the Oilers have won 5 in their history. Figured I'd point it out - I know most of you aren't hockey fans. :o)

Labels: , , ,

Monday, May 22, 2006

Am I dreaming?

Before I get started, I again must apologize that I've been bloggin' so much lately about the Oilers and hockey in general. I will be writing about a buffet of different issues this week, but I'm just so damn excited about Edmonton going this far in the playoffs and having this much success. Actually, it's impossible to overstate how happy and juiced I am about this team. I can't believe how the years pass - the older I get, the more I realize that time flies by and is precious - it has been 16 years since Edmonton last won the Stanley Cup. Seems like yesterday - but I was 18 years old. So, it's been a while.

Anyway, I just couldn't resist posting this picture. Because the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim truly are covered in Oil. After last night's game, the Ducks are on the ropes now; they truly are flying straight into a Category 5 Hurricane (Sorry, Carolina Hurricanes, a team we might face if we make it to the Finals). Rexall Place in Edmonton is going to be deafening tomorrow night - Oiler fans know the game and are smart, and they know what's at stake here - the Oilers could wrap up this series in Edmonton with two victories on Tuesday and Thursday.

I have to confess that I suspect this could still be a long series, though. San Jose was up 2-0 in the last series vs. Edmonton, and they are still trying to figure out how it all came apart. This is a very talented Anahiem team and they aren't just going to roll over. I fully expect a long, tough fight, but I don't see Edmonton losing two games in their barn; it will be a split at worst.

The realization is finally hitting me - the Oilers really could make it to the Stanley Cup Finals. Unreal.

Here's a photo from last night's game - kind of a cool one.

Labels: , ,